The great treehouse war
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Published:
New York, N.Y. : Puffin Books, 2018., , ©2017.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
272 pages : ill. ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 5.4 - AR Pts: 5
Lexile measure:
890L
Rating:
5.4.
Status:
Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary - Kids Fiction
F Gra
Description
Kids vs. parents! An epic treehouse sleepover! An awesome group of friends! An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff. Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie's parents got divorced and decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly. It was the day Winnie's seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself. By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses--and her friends decide to join. It's kids vs. grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, things get pretty complicated! Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever. In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids turn the tables on their parents, and all the rules are tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy? This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and a zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos. Praise for Lisa Graff's novels: The Great Treehouse War "It's kids vs. parents in epic fashion...Graff's whimsical, original work is a breath of fresh air."-- School Library Journal "Combining over-the-top storytelling with down-home wisdom, this [is] fun."-- Booklist "[Graff creates] a vibrant patchwork of personalities that gives voice to the power of friendship."-- Publishers Weekly "A good-natured satire of helicopter parenting and a celebration of child ingenuity."-- Horn Book Lost in the Sun * "Graff writes with stunning insight...consistently demonstrat[ing] why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation."-- Kirkus Reviews , starred review * "Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace."-- School Library Journal , starred review "This [novel] speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and...redemption. This book will change you."--Gary Schmidt, The Wednesday Wars "Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy....And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning."--Richard Peck, A Year Down Yonder Absolutely Almost * "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."-- Booklist , starred review * "Achingly superb."-- Kirkus Reviews , starred review * "Graff's...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one's strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward."-- Publishers Weekly , starred review "The patrons of my school library have been asking, 'Do you have any books like Wonder by R.J. Palacio?' and now I have the perfect offering."-- BookPage A Tangle of Knots "A beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories."-- Entertainment Weekly , A- * "Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights."-- Kirkus Reviews , starred review * "Combining the literary sensibility of E. B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, [this] should satisfy readers for years to come."-- Booklist , starred review
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary - Kids Fiction
F Gra
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780147516718 :
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.4, 5 Points
Lexile measure:
890

Notes

Description
Fifth-grader Winnie, with notes from her friends, writes of turning her treehouse into an embassy after her newly-divorced parents become unreasonable, where she is joined by nine others with complaints.
Target Audience
5.4.
Target Audience
3-6,Follett School Solutions.
Target Audience
890,Lexile.
Study Program Information
Accelerated Reader AR,MG,5.4,5.0,190671.,23485
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Graff, L. 1. (2018). The great treehouse war. New York, N.Y.: Puffin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Graff, Lisa 1981-. 2018. The Great Treehouse War. New York, N.Y.: Puffin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Graff, Lisa 1981-, The Great Treehouse War. New York, N.Y.: Puffin Books, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Graff, Lisa 1981-. The Great Treehouse War. New York, N.Y.: Puffin Books, 2018. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
be76473e-e408-fcf6-c832-a7dbf78c8cbb
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Jan 28, 2019 11:37:27 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Feb 17, 2019 11:05:38 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01580cam a2200445 a 4500
001fol18347142
003ICrlF
00520180521064846.6
008180503t20182017nyua   c      000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780147516718 : |c $14.01
035 |a (ICrlF)1194MQ
040 |a ICrlF |b eng |c ICrlF |d ICrlF
08204 |a [Fic] |2 23
092 |a F Gra
1001 |a Graff, Lisa |q (Lisa Colleen), |d 1981-
24514 |a The great treehouse war / |c Lisa Graff.
260 |a New York, N.Y. : |b Puffin Books, |c 2018.
260 |c ©2017
300 |a 272 p. : |b ill. ; |c 20 cm.
520 |a Fifth-grader Winnie, with notes from her friends, writes of turning her treehouse into an embassy after her newly-divorced parents become unreasonable, where she is joined by nine others with complaints.
5210 |a 5.4.
5212 |a 3-6 |b Follett School Solutions.
5218 |a 890 |b Lexile.
5260 |a Accelerated Reader AR |b MG |c 5.4 |d 5.0 |z 190671. |5 23485
650 0 |a Interpersonal relations.
650 0 |a Parents.
650 0 |a Divorce.
650 0 |a Friendship.
650 0 |a Tree houses.
650 1 |a Interpersonal relations |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Parents |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Divorce |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Friendship |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Tree houses |v Fiction.
655 7 |a Humorous fiction. |2 lcgft
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
910 |a CARL0000750516
949 |b FF00165360 |c F Gra |h 23485 |j 23485 |l JFIC |m SBK |s S |p 14.01 |w 1 |x 20181026 |t 20190128 |q LDR |r LDR |v 1 |y 20181026 |z 1
998 4 |a LDR0905 20181026061052 MNPS |b LDR0905 20181026061052 MNPS