The land of forgotten girls
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2017., , ©2016.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
313 pages ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 4.3 - AR Pts: 6
Lexile measure:
640L
Rating:
3-6
Status:
Eagle View Elementary - Kids Fiction
F Kel
Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction
F Kel
Wright Middle - Teen Fiction
F Kel
Description

In this acclaimed novel from Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living in impoverished circumstances in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better.

School Library Journal called The Land of Forgotten Girls "A charming and affecting novel about sisterhood, the magic of imagination, and perseverance." For readers of Pam Muñoz Ryan, Rita Williams-Garcia, and anyone searching for the true meaning of family. Winner of a Parents' Choice Gold Award.

Soledad has always been able to escape into the stories she creates. Just like her mother always could. And Soledad has needed that escape more than ever in the five years since her mother and sister died, and her father moved Sol and her youngest sister from the Philippines to Louisiana. After her father leaves, all Sol and Ming have is their evil stepmother, Vea. Sol has protected Ming all this time, but then Ming begins to believe that Auntie Jove--their mythical, world-traveling aunt--is really going to come rescue them. Can Sol protect Ming from this impossible hope?

Acclaimed and award-winning author Erin Entrada Kelly writes masterfully about the challenges of finding hope in impossible circumstances, in this novel that will appeal to fans of Cynthia Kadohata and Thanhha Lai.

Booklist said, "Kelly's sophomore novel is both hopeful and heartfelt, but strong emotions are only part of the successful equation here. Told in Sol's true voice, the direct dialogue brings the diverse characters to vivid life."

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Eagle View Elementary - Kids Fiction
F Kel
On Shelf
Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction
F Kel
On Shelf
Wright Middle - Teen Fiction
F Kel
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062238658 :
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.3, 6 Points
Lexile measure:
640

Notes

Description
Abandoned by their father and living in poverty with their heartless stepmother in Louisiana, two sisters from the Philippines, twelve-year-old Sol and six-year-old Ming, learn the true meaning of family.
Target Audience
3-6,Follett School Solutions.
Target Audience
640,Lexile.
Study Program Information
Accelerated Reader AR,MG,4.3,6.0,181153.,4S612
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kelly, E. E. (2017). The land of forgotten girls. New York, NY: Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Erin Entrada. 2017. The Land of Forgotten Girls. New York, NY: Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Erin Entrada, The Land of Forgotten Girls. New York, NY: Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kelly, Erin Entrada. The Land of Forgotten Girls. New York, NY: Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
5597368c-d815-436f-f159-bb5e6aef5afc
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeAug 02, 2019 11:41:02 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 10, 2019 10:43:39 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01744pam a2200433 a 4500
001fol17386612
003ICrlF
00520170208075544.0
008170207t20172016nyu    c      000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780062238658 :|c $12.26
035 |a (ICrlF)1192AF
040 |a ICrlF|b eng|c ICrlF|d ICrlF
043 |a n-us-la
050 4|a PZ7.1.K45|b Lan 2017
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
092 |a F Kel
1001 |a Kelly, Erin Entrada.
24514|a The land of forgotten girls /|c Erin Entrada Kelly.
260 |a New York, NY :|b Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|c 2017.
260 |c ©2016
300 |a 313 p. ;|c 20 cm.
520 |a Abandoned by their father and living in poverty with their heartless stepmother in Louisiana, two sisters from the Philippines, twelve-year-old Sol and six-year-old Ming, learn the true meaning of family.
5212 |a 3-6|b Follett School Solutions.
5218 |a 640|b Lexile.
5260 |a Accelerated Reader AR|b MG|c 4.3|d 6.0|z 181153.|5 4S612
650 0|a Dysfunctional families.
650 0|a Immigrants|z Louisiana.
650 0|a Sisters.
650 0|a Stepmothers.
650 0|a Filipino Americans.
650 1|a Family problems|v Fiction.
651 0|a Louisiana.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
910 |a CARL0000699757
949 |b MK10208485|c F Kel|h 31278|j 31278|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 12.79|w 0|x 20180717|t 20180717|q LDR|r JAM|v 0|y 20190531|z 0
949 |b FF00142627|c F Kel|h 4S612|j 4S612|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 12.26|w 3|x 20171117|t 20181211|q LDR|r MDB|v 0|y 20171201|z 0
949 |b FF00145292|c F Kel|h 4X805|j 4X805|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 12.26|w 2|x 20171201|t 20180413|q LDR|r LDR|v 0|y 20171201|z 1
998 4|a LDR0905 20171117080727 MNPS |b LDR0905 20171117080727 MNPS