Flygirl
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Speak, 2010., , ©2008.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
278 pages ; 21 cm.
Reading Level:
IL: MG+ - BL: 4.3 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 680L
Rating:
Young Adult
Status:
Litton Middle - Teen Fiction
F Smi
Description
For fans of Unbroken and Ruta Sepetys. All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when she's in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off limits to her, until America enters World War II, and the Army forms the WASP-Women Airforce Service Pilots. Ida has a chance to fulfill her dream if she's willing to use her light skin to pass as a white girl. She wants to fly more than anything, but Ida soon learns that denying one's self and family is a heavy burden, and ultimately it's not what you do but who you are that's most important. Read Sherri L. Smith's posts on the Penguin Blog
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Litton Middle - Teen Fiction
F Smi
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780142417256 :
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 4.3, 11 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
680

Notes

Description
During World War II, a light-skinned African American girl "passes" for white in order to join the Women Airforce Service Pilots.
Target Audience
Young Adult,Follett School Solutions.
Target Audience
HL680,Lexile.
Study Program Information
Accelerated Reader AR,MG+,4.3,11.0,128024.,4I510
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Smith, S. L. (2010). Flygirl. New York: Speak.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Smith, Sherri L. 2010. Flygirl. New York: Speak.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Smith, Sherri L, Flygirl. New York: Speak, 2010.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Smith, Sherri L. Flygirl. New York: Speak, 2010. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b99016de-9a9a-47d4-d584-e89eaf9f0a14
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeDec 19, 2017 12:16:02 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 16, 2019 11:01:25 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01381pam a2200361 a 4500
001fol13128904
003ICrlF
00520100917154528.6
008100830t20102008nyu    d      000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780142417256 :|c $14.76
035 |a (ICrlF)0224UH
040 |a ICrlF|c ICrlF|d ICrlF
050 4|a PZ7.S65932|b Fl 2010
08204|a [Fic]|2 22
092 |a F Smi
1001 |a Smith, Sherri L.
24510|a Flygirl /|c Sherri L. Smith.
260 |a New York :|b Speak,|c 2010.
260 |c ©2008
300 |a 278 p. ;|c 21 cm.
520 |a During World War II, a light-skinned African American girl "passes" for white in order to join the Women Airforce Service Pilots.
5212 |a Young Adult|b Follett School Solutions.
5218 |a HL680|b Lexile.
5260 |a Accelerated Reader AR|b MG+|c 4.3|d 11.0|z 128024.|5 4I510
61020|a Women Airforce Service Pilots (U.S.)|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a World War, 1939-1945|x Participation, Female.
650 1|a Air pilots|v Fiction.
650 1|a African Americans|v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
910 |a CARL0000693325
949 |b FF00140278|c F Smi|h 4I510|j 4I510|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 14.76|w 0|x 20170928|t 20171003|q LDR|r MDB|v 0|y 20171201|z 1
998 4|a LDR0905 20170928111824 MNPS |b AUP0905 20171117123203 BXB 1700 |b AUP0905 20171117123240 BXB 1700 |b LDR0905 20170928111824 MNPS