The accidental alchemist
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Published:
Woodbury, Minnesota : Midnight Ink, [2015].
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
viii, 350 pages ; 20 cm.
Status:
Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
F PAN
Description

From USA Todaybestselling author Gigi Pandian comes a modern tale of ancient intrigue

Unpacking her belongings in her new hometown of Portland, Oregon, herbalist and reformed alchemist Zoe Faust can't help but notice she's picked up a stowaway. Dorian Robert-Houdin is a living, breathing three-and-half-foot gargoyle--not to mention a master of French cuisine--and he needs Zoe's expertise to decipher a centuries-old text. Zoe, who's trying to put her old life behind her, isn't so sure she wants to reopen her alchemical past...until the dead man on her porch leaves her no choice.

Includes recipes!

Praise:

A 2016 Lefty Award winner for Best LCC Regional Mystery

"This reviewer is eagerly anticipating more from this series, and a return of a cast more fun than an episode of Portlandia."--RT Book Reviews1/2

"Pandian...launches a supernatural cozy series that hits high marks for a modern twist on an ancient practice. Amusing supporting characters and historical details solidify this engaging mystery."--Library Journal

"[A] lighthearted supernatural mystery...Pandian sets this series apart from other fluffy paranormal mysteries with Zoe's cute nonhuman sidekick and some mouthwatering vegan recipes."--Publishers Weekly

"A whimsical and charming supernatural mystery."--Mystery Scene

"What really makes this book stand out, however, is the originality...Pandian has managed to create an eccentric and charming cast of characters readers are going to want to spend more time with."--RT Book Reviews Online

"The Accidental Alchemistis a recipe for a great read. Gigi Pandian's pen never disappoints."--Juliet Blackwell, New York Timesbestselling author of the Witchcraft Mystery Series

"Mysterious, captivating, and infused with the rich history of the Northwest...fantastic."--Portland Book Review

"A magical, whimsical cozy that will delight readers who enjoy Juliet Blackwell and Heather Weber mysteries!"--Avery Aames (aka Daryl Wood Gerber), author of the Chees Shop Mysteries

"Zoe and Dorian are my new favorite amateur-sleuth duo!" --Victoria Laurie, New York Timesbestselling author

"Readers won't want to put this book down."--Vegetarian Journal

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
F PAN
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780738741840 (pbk.), 0738741841 (pbk.)

Notes

General Note
Includes recipes (pages 345-350).
Citation/References
Publisher's Weekly,101314
Citation/References
Kirkus Review - Adult,120114
Citation/References
Library Journal,,010115, p. 75
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Pandian, G. (2015). The accidental alchemist. First edition. Woodbury, Minnesota: Midnight Ink.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Pandian, Gigi, 1975-. 2015. The Accidental Alchemist. Woodbury, Minnesota: Midnight Ink.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Pandian, Gigi, 1975-, The Accidental Alchemist. Woodbury, Minnesota: Midnight Ink, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Pandian, Gigi. The Accidental Alchemist. First edition. Woodbury, Minnesota: Midnight Ink, 2015. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
81a714c3-4ce0-6410-03aa-abda27929bf3
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeMay 14, 2019 11:43:31 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeNov 11, 2019 10:43:56 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01430pam a2200445 i 4500
003DLC
00520150720115634.0
008140929s2015    mnu           000 1 eng  
010 |a  2014037546
020 |a 9780738741840 (pbk.)
020 |a 0738741841 (pbk.)
039 |a 529737|c TLC
040 |a DLC|b eng|c DLC|e rda|d TnLvILS
042 |a pcc
05000|a PS3616.A367|b A65 2015
08200|a 813/.6|2 23
092 |a F Pan
1001 |a Pandian, Gigi,|d 1975-|e author.
24514|a The accidental alchemist /|c Gigi Pandian.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a Woodbury, Minnesota :|b Midnight Ink,|c [2015]
300 |a viii, 350 pages ;|c 20 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
4900 |a Accidental alchemist ;|v [#1]
500 |a Includes recipes (pages 345-350).
5103 |a Publisher's Weekly,101314
5103 |a Kirkus Review - Adult,120114
5104 |a Library Journal,|c 010115, p. 75
650 0|a Alchemists|v Fiction.
650 0|a Gargoyles|v Fiction.
655 0|a Fantasy fiction.
655 7|a Mystery fiction.|2 gsafd
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
908 |a  2014037546
910 |a CARL0000656069
949 |b QQ00190637|c F PAN|h 69450|j 69450|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 14.99|w 2|x 20150422|t 20190514|q CNV|r JAM|v 1|y 20180521|z 0
998 4|a LDR0905 20170614232433 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170614232433 NSCH