Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.

The rising
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Department 19 volume 2.
Published:
New York : Razorbill, c2012.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
576 pages ; 22 m.
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 7.5 - AR Pts: 33
Lexile measure:
1010L
Rating:
7-9
Status:
Glencliff High - Teen Fiction
F HIL
Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction
Fantasy F HIL
Description
"Enthralling. . . . From UV grenades to exploding stake bombs to a giant anti-vampire superweapon, the gadgets add a neat modern twist to the traditional stakings. Fans will devour the pages and thirst for the next volume."-- Kirkus

"Will keep teens who are undaunted by its 600 pages on the edge of their seats. Interweaving the stories of Jamie, Dracula, Frankenstein, and a mysterious man wandering the American desert, this book is closer to the elaborate works of Stephen King than many vampire novels marketed to teens."-- VOYA

Sixteen-year-old Jamie Carpenter's life was violently upended when he was brought into Department 19, a classified government agency of vampire hunters that was formed to deal with a little problem . . . known as Dracula. But being the new recruit at the Department isn't all weapons training and covert missions. Jamie's own mother has been turned into a vampire--and now Jamie will stop at nothing to wreak revenge on her captors. Even if that means facing down Dracula himself. The Rising is a fast, furious, can't-turn-away thrill ride that will suck readers in just like a video game. This riveting second book in the Department 19 series is packed with cutting-edge gadgets, international locales, and daredevil action that tumbles ferociously across the page--perfect for fans of Darren Shan and Anthony Horowitz.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Glencliff High - Teen Fiction
F HIL
On Shelf
Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction
Fantasy F HIL
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781595146298 (pbk.) :, 1595146296 (pbk.) :
Reading Level:
UG
Level 7.5, 33 Points
Lexile measure:
1010

Notes

Description
When his own mother is turned into a vampire, Jamie, a new recruit to a classified government agency of vampire hunters, swears vengeance against her captors and prepares for a confrontation with Dracula himself.
Target Audience
7-9,Baker & Taylor
Target Audience
1010,Lexile.
Study Program Information
Accelerated Reader AR,UG,7.5,33,154828
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Hill, W. (2012). The rising. New York: Razorbill.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Hill, Will, 1979-. 2012. The Rising. New York: Razorbill.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Hill, Will, 1979-, The Rising. New York: Razorbill, 2012.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Hill, Will. The Rising. New York: Razorbill, 2012. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
fe6f3fc4-90a0-2a84-81db-a972e29ffe16
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeFeb 15, 2019 12:03:09 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 04, 2020 07:24:35 AM

MARC Record

LEADER01550cam a2200397 a 4500
00520170420080722.0
008120619s2012    nyu    j      000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781595146298 (pbk.) :|c $9.99
020 |a 1595146296 (pbk.) :|c $9.99
039 |a 529391|c TLC
040 |a NjBwBT|c NjBwBT|d GCmBT
05014|a PZ7.H5576|b Ri 2012
069 |a 02555737
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
092 |a F Hil
1001 |a Hill, Will,|d 1979-
24514|a The rising /|c Will Hill.
260 |a New York :|b Razorbill,|c c2012.
300 |a 576 p. ;|c 22 m.
4901 |a Department 19
520 |a When his own mother is turned into a vampire, Jamie, a new recruit to a classified government agency of vampire hunters, swears vengeance against her captors and prepares for a confrontation with Dracula himself.
5212 |a 7-9|b Baker & Taylor
5210 |a 1010|b Lexile.
5260 |a Accelerated Reader AR|b UG|c 7.5|d 33|z 154828
650 1|a Vampires|v Fiction.
650 1|a Adventure and adventurers|v Fiction.
650 1|a Supernatural|v Fiction.
650 1|a Revenge|v Fiction.
8001 |a Hill, Will,|d 1979-|t Department 19.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
908 |a ven00009415
910 |a CARL0000655966
949 |b B00744826|c F HIL|h 64325|j 64325|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 9.99|w 4|x 20150417|t 20170823|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 0
949 |b FF00120400|c Fantasy F HIL|h 6G632|j 6G632|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 8.54|w 0|x 20161122|t 20180427|q CNV|r CLC|v 0|y 20190214|z 0
998 4|a LDR0905 20170614232122 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170614232122 NSCH