Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.

The strangers
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Bernatene, Poly, illustrator.
Series:
Published:
New York, New York : Puffin Books, 2014.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
308, 18 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 5.4 - AR Pts: 9
Lexile measure:
810L
Rating:
5.4.
Status:
Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction
F WES
Haywood Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction
F WES
Description
In the fourth volume of the New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series, Olive thought she had uncovered all the house's secrets. She was wrong. It's Halloween night when strangers come to Linden Street . . . and something absolutely vital to Olive goes missing. To what lengths will she go to get it back? Can she trust the strangers? Will she turn to a new and dangerous magic within the paintings of Elsewhere? Or will Olive put her faith in her own worst enemies to save the people and home she loves? The stakes grow higher, the secrets more dangerous, and mystery and magic abound as Olive, the boys, and the magical cats uncover the true nature of the old stone house on Linden Street. A must-read fantasy series for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline , and Septimus Heap. "This haunting fantasy thriller brings together the quirkiness of Roald Dahl and darkness of Neil Gaiman." --Austin Family "The story was well-written, clever, and completely unpredictable...a great summer read that will let your imagination run wild." --TIME for Kids
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Haywood Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Smith Springs Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Waverly-Belmont Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780142425756 (Mackin), 0142425753 (Mackin)
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.4, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
810

Notes

General Note
Includes an excerpt from: Still life.
Citation/References
Horn Book Guide,,4/2014
Description
When something crucial goes missing, eleven-year-old Olive and her friends must decide how to get it back--put their faith in a strange and dangerous magic, their odd new neighbors, or someone more uncertain and terrifying than both.
Target Audience
5.4.
Target Audience
4-6.
Target Audience
810,Lexile.
Study Program Information
Accelerated Reader AR-ATOS,MG,5.4,9.0,160155.
Study Program Information
Reading Counts RC,5.3,14.0,61340.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

West, J., & Bernatene, P. (2014). The strangers. New York, New York: Puffin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

West, Jacqueline, 1979- and Poly, Bernatene. 2014. The Strangers. New York, New York: Puffin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

West, Jacqueline, 1979- and Poly, Bernatene, The Strangers. New York, New York: Puffin Books, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

West, Jacqueline, and Poly Bernatene. The Strangers. New York, New York: Puffin Books, 2014. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
86d8130a-551e-a6b6-5e0a-716e48ffb023
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeJan 08, 2020 11:28:16 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeMay 28, 2020 10:43:22 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02573nam a2200577 i 4500
003MnBnMLM
00520161202081156.0
008140709r20142013nyua   c      000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780142425756 (Mackin)
020 |a 0142425753 (Mackin)
039 |a 521690|c TLC
040 |a MnBnMLM|b eng|c MnBnMLM|e rda|d MnBnMLM
05004|a PZ7.W51776|b Str 2014
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
092 |a F Wes
1001 |a West, Jacqueline,|d 1979-|e author.
24514|a The strangers /|c by Jacqueline West ; illustrated by Poly Bernatene.
264 1|a New York, New York :|b Puffin Books,|c 2014.
264 4|c ©2013
300 |a 308, 18 pages :|b illustrations ;|c 20 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
4901 |a The books of Elsewhere ;|v volume four
500 |a Includes an excerpt from: Still life.
5103 |a Horn Book Guide,|b 4/2014
520 |a When something crucial goes missing, eleven-year-old Olive and her friends must decide how to get it back--put their faith in a strange and dangerous magic, their odd new neighbors, or someone more uncertain and terrifying than both.
5210 |a 5.4.
5212 |a 4-6.
5218 |a 810|b Lexile.
5260 |a Accelerated Reader AR-ATOS|b MG|c 5.4|d 9.0|z 160155.
5260 |a Reading Counts RC|c 5.3|d 14.0|z 61340.
650 1|a Space and time|v Fiction.
650 1|a Dwellings|v Fiction.
650 1|a Magic|v Fiction.
650 1|a Lost and found possessions|v Fiction.
650 1|a Fantasy.
655 7|a Fantasy fiction.|2 gsafd
7001 |a Bernatene, Poly,|e illustrator.
8001 |a West, Jacqueline,|d 1979-|t Books of Elsewhere ;|v v. 4.
85642|3 View cover image provided by Mackin|u http://www.mackin.com/BookPics/Book.aspx?isbn=9780142425756
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
908 |a MLM03409031
910 |a CARL0000652841
949 |b MK10164244|c F WES|h 1W405|j 1W405|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 13.79|w 10|x 20161202|t 20190408|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 0
949 |b MK10120307|c F WES|h 2P686|j 2P686|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 13.79|w 3|x 20150821|t 20200108|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20200106|z 0
949 |b MK10120804|c F WES|h 2X765|j 2X765|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 13.79|w 3|x 20150807|t 20181023|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 0
949 |b MK10090763|c F WES|h 4M551|j 4M551|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 13.79|w 16|x 20150130|t 20190523|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 2
949 |b MK10103171|c F WES|h 4W783|j 4W783|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 15.00|w 0|x 20150409|t 20190522|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20190520|z 0
998 4|a LDR0905 20170614214352 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170614214352 NSCH