Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.

The shadows
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Series:
Published:
New York : Puffin Books, 2011, c2010.
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
241 pages : ill. ; 20 cm.
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 7
Lexile measure:
770L
Status:
Dodson Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
Haywood Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
Lawrence Carter Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
Description
For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline , and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series. This house is keeping secrets . . . When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy--but it isn't until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there's something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house's spooky paintings to a world that's strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it's up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Dodson Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Haywood Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Lawrence Carter Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Percy Priest Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
Smith Springs Elementary - Kids Fiction
F WES
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780142418727 (pbk.)
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.1, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
770

Notes

General Note
Originally published: New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, 2010.
Description
When eleven-year-old Olive and her distracted parents move into an old Victorian mansion, Olive finds herself ensnared in a dark plan involving some mysterious paintings, a trapped and angry nine-year-old boy, and three talking cats.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

West, J., & Bernatene, P. (20112010). The shadows. New York: Puffin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

West, Jacqueline, 1979- and Poly, Bernatene. 20112010. The Shadows. New York: Puffin Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

West, Jacqueline, 1979- and Poly, Bernatene, The Shadows. New York: Puffin Books, 20112010.

MLA Citation (style guide)

West, Jacqueline, and Poly Bernatene. The Shadows. New York: Puffin Books, 20112010. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c8c0a397-a173-3bc1-417b-9786b38896ce
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeMar 10, 2020 11:41:55 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeJun 06, 2020 06:32:40 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02113nam a2200433 a 4500
00520161202081150.0
008110608r20112010nyua   j      000 1 eng d
010 |a bl2011015564
020 |a 9780142418727 (pbk.)
039 |a 499746|c TLC
040 |a NjBwBT|c NjBwBT
05014|a PZ7.W51776|b Sh 2011
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
08214|a FIC|2 14
1001 |a West, Jacqueline,|d 1979-
24514|a The shadows /|c by Jacqueline West ; illustrated by Poly Bernatene.
260 |a New York :|b Puffin Books,|c 2011, c2010.
300 |a 241 p. :|b ill. ;|c 20 cm.
4901 |a The books of Elsewhere ;|v v. 1
500 |a Originally published: New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, 2010.
520 |a When eleven-year-old Olive and her distracted parents move into an old Victorian mansion, Olive finds herself ensnared in a dark plan involving some mysterious paintings, a trapped and angry nine-year-old boy, and three talking cats.
650 1|a Space and time|v Fiction.
650 1|a Dwellings|v Fiction.
650 1|a Magic|v Fiction.
650 1|a Painting|v Fiction.
650 1|a Cats|v Fiction.
7001 |a Bernatene, Poly,|e ill.
8001 |a West, Jacqueline,|d 1979-|t Books of Elsewhere ;|v v. 1.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
908 |a bl2011015564
910 |a CARL0000643674
949 |b MK10086411|c F WES|h 17185|j 17185|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 12.79|w 0|x 20150126|t 20180514|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180510|z 0
949 |b P00301628|c F WES|h 1F252|j 1F252|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 12.31|w 5|x 20150107|t 20190517|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20180515|z 3
949 |b MK10164231|c F WES|h 1W405|j 1W405|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 12.79|w 9|x 20161202|t 20191014|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 0
949 |b MK10056171|c F WES|h 2L650|j 2L650|l JFIC|m SBK|n 002.2010|s S|p 10.00|w 7|x 20140421|t 20180413|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20170701|z 0
949 |b MK10129693|c F WES|h 2P686|j 2P686|l JFIC|m SBK|s S|p 12.79|w 3|x 20150821|t 20200108|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20200106|z 1
949 |b MK10090760|c F WES|h 4M551|j 4M551|l YFIC|m SBK|s S|p 12.79|w 15|x 20150130|t 20200310|q CNV|r JAM|v 0|y 20190520|z 1
998 4|a LDR0905 20170614180320 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170614180320 NSCH