Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.

Julia defiant
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, [2017].
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
445 pages : illustration ; 22 cm.
Status:
Description
Fans of The Rose Society, Graceling, and Six of Crows will thrill to the masterful world-building and fiercely flawed heroine in this heart-pounding follow-up to Julia Vanishes, book two in the Witch's Child trilogy. "Adventure, murder, romance, intrigue, and betrayal with a 16-year-old heroine that is both fierce and flawed at the same time." -Hypable.com Julia and a mismatched band of revolutionaries, scholars, and thieves have crossed the world searching for a witch. But for all the miles traveled, they are no closer to finding Ko Dan. No closer to undoing the terrible spell he cast that bound an ancient magic to the life of a small child. Casimir wants that magic-will happily kill Theo to extract it-and every moment they hunt for Ko Dan, Casimir's assassins are hunting them. Julia can deal with danger. The thing that truly scares her lies within. Her strange ability to vanish to a place just out of sight has grown- she can now disappear so completely that it's like stepping into another world. It's a fiery, hellish world, filled with creatures who seem to recognize her-and count her as one of their own. So . . . is Julia a girl with a monster lurking inside her? Or a monster wearing the disguise of a girl? If she can use her monstrous power to save Theo, does it matter? In this riveting second book in the Witch's Child trilogy, Catherine Egan goes deep within the heart of a fierce, defiant girl trying to discover not just who but what she truly is. Praise for Julia Vanishes- "Egan's debut novel sparkles. A beautifully rendered world and exquisite sense of timing ensure a page-turning experience." - Publishers Weekly, starred review "Readers will find themselves immediately immersed in the narrative and invested in the fate of Julia, who is both feisty and flawed."- Booklist, starred review "Julia's a wonderful, fully realized heroine. . . . For those readers waiting for the sequel to Marie Lu's The Rose Society, a well-realized page-turner in the same vein." - Kirkus
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Hermitage - Teen Fiction
YA Fiction Egan
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780553533354, 0553533355

Notes

General Note
Sequel to: Julia vanishes.
Description
With a band of assassins pursuing them, Julia and her companions continue their search for the witch Ko Dan while Julia struggles with her ability to vanish.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Egan, C. (2017). Julia defiant. First edition. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Egan, Catherine, 1976-. 2017. Julia Defiant. New York: Alfred A. Knopf.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Egan, Catherine, 1976-, Julia Defiant. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Egan, Catherine. Julia Defiant. First edition. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2017. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
6a58cd2d-1d3f-3ee0-d089-17971b8fee59
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeJan 01, 2020 11:40:44 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 04, 2020 11:03:03 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01717cam a2200469Ii 4500
001ocn989519742
003OCoLC
00520170620090403.0
008170608t20172017nyua   d      000 1 eng d
010 |a bl2017023581
019 |a 960494308|a 960494349
020 |a 9780553533354
020 |a 0553533355
020 |z 0553533363
020 |z 9780553533361
035 |a (OCoLC)989519742|z (OCoLC)960494308|z (OCoLC)960494349
040 |a FMG|b eng|e rda|c FMG|d FMG|d JAS|d CO2|d ILC|d OCLCO|d IGA|d YDX
099 |a YA|a Fiction|a Egan
1001 |a Egan, Catherine,|d 1976-|e author.
24510|a Julia defiant /|c Catherine Egan.
250 |a First edition.
264 1|a New York :|b Alfred A. Knopf,|c [2017]
264 4|c ©2017
300 |a 445 pages :|b illustration ;|c 22 cm.
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a unmediated|2 rdamedia
338 |a volume|2 rdacarrier
4901 |a The witch's child ;|v book 2
500 |a Sequel to: Julia vanishes.
520 |a With a band of assassins pursuing them, Julia and her companions continue their search for the witch Ko Dan while Julia struggles with her ability to vanish.
650 0|a Witches|v Fiction.
650 0|a Magic|v Fiction.
650 0|a Assassins|v Fiction.
650 0|a Young adult fiction.
655 7|a Science fiction.|2 gsafd
8001 |a Egan, Catherine,|d 1976-|t Witch's child ;|v bk. 2.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
910 |a CARL0000511736
949 |b 35192049773876|c YA Fiction Egan|h HM|j HM|l YFIC|m BK|s S|p 9.95|w 1|x 20170717|t 20191105|q LDR|r LDR|v 0|y 20170717|z 2
994 |a Z0|b TNN
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611152615 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170717164103 GAP |b LDR0905 20170611152615 NPUB