Salt to the sea : a novel
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(13)
4 star
 
(10)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Philomel Books, [2016].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
391 pages : maps ; 22 cm.
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 4.5 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Status:
Independence Academy - Teen Fiction
F SEP
Description
New York Times Bestseller!  "Masterly crafted" -- The Wall Street Journal For readers of  Between Shades of Gray  and All the Light We Cannot See , bestselling author Ruta Sepetys  returns to WWII in this epic novel that  shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies. World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning  All the Light We Cannot See , Erik Larson's  Dead Wake , and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book  Code Name Verity , this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the   Wilhelm Gustloff -- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in  Between Shades of Gray , Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for  Salt to the Sea : Featured on NPR's Morning Edition  ♦  "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."-- The Wall Street Journal  ♦   "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."-- Entertainment Weekly  ♦   "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."-- New York Times Book Review  ♦  "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."-- Shelf Awareness   ♦  "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."-- Salt Lake Tribune  ♦   * "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."-- Booklist,  starred review  ♦  * "Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."-- School Library Journal,  starred review Praise for Between Shades of Gray : New York Times  Notable Book, 2011  ♦   Wall Street Journal  Best Children's Book, 2011  ♦  A  Publishers Weekly ,  School Library Journal , Booklist , and Kirkus  Best Book of 2011  ♦  iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel  ♦  A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist  ♦  A  New York Times  and International Bestseller  ♦  "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."-- The Washington Post  ♦   * "Beautifully written and deeply felt...an important book that deserves the widest possible readership."-- Booklist
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Independence Academy - Teen Fiction
F SEP
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Special Collections - NAC
Special Coll. YA Fiction Sepetys
Library Use Only
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780399160301, 0399160302
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.5, 10 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
560

Notes

Description
"As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, R. (2016). Salt to the sea: a novel. New York: Philomel Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta. 2016. Salt to the Sea: A Novel. New York: Philomel Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta, Salt to the Sea: A Novel. New York: Philomel Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta. Salt to the Sea: A Novel. New York: Philomel Books, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a9b99c96-b224-b291-9522-66fb9a6fee8a
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Mar 26, 2019 11:55:03 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jul 17, 2019 01:06:54 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01595cam a2200397 i 4500
001ocn908250409
003OCoLC
00520160128101925.0
008150428t20162016nyub   d      000 1 eng  
010 |a 2015009057
020 |a 9780399160301
020 |a 0399160302
042 |a lcac |a pcc
049 |a TNNA
099 |a YA |a Fiction |a Sepetys
1001 |a Sepetys, Ruta, |e author.
24510 |a Salt to the sea : |b a novel / |c Ruta Sepetys.
264 1 |a New York : |b Philomel Books, |c [2016]
264 4 |c ©2016.
300 |a 391 pages : |b maps ; |c 22 cm.
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent.
336 |a cartographic image |b cri |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |b nc |2 rdacarrier.
520 |a "As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"-- |c Provided by publisher.
650 0 |a World War, 1939-1945 |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Refugees |v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b23291631 |b 05-06-16 |c 04-28-16
910 |a CARL0000488043
949 |b 35192048488781 |c Special Coll. YA Fiction Sepetys |h SC |j SC |l ANAC |m BK |s SC |p 10.44 |w 0 |x 20160505 |t 20170702 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170630 |z 2
949 |b QQ00355848 |c F SEP |h 7G457 |j 7G457 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 18.99 |w 1 |x 20190306 |t 20190326 |q LDR |r LDR |v 1 |y 20190306 |z 0
991 |a mn |a nashv |b 01-28-16 |c m |d a |e 8 |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 0
988 |a .o989293x |c 1 |l mnnas |f b |s a |x 04-18-16 |y 04-27-16 |z 04-28-16 |3 s |k mnnas
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611123715 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611123715 NPUB