She's not there
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(3)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, 2016.
Format:
Large Print
Edition:
Large print edition.
Physical Desc:
551 (large print) ; 23 cm.
Status:
Description
A vanished child, a family in turmoil, and a fateful phone call that brings the torments of the past into the harrowing present . . . the "New York Times" bestselling author of "Someone Is Watching" weaves these spellbinding elements into a gripping novel of psychological suspense a must-read for fans of Laura Lippman and Mary Higgins Clark. " I think my real name is Samantha. I think I m your daughter. " Carole Shipley s heart nearly stops when she hears those words from the voice on the other end of the phone. Instantly, she s thrust fifteen years into the past, to a posh resort in Baja, Mexico and the fateful night her world collapsed. The trip is supposed to be a celebration. Carole s husband, Hunter, convinces her to leave their two young daughters, Michelle and Samantha, alone in their hotel suite while the couple enjoys an anniversary dinner in the restaurant downstairs. But returning afterward, Carole and Hunter make a horrifying discovery: Two-year-old Samantha has vanished without a trace. What follows are days, weeks, and years of anguish for Carole. She s tormented by media attention that has branded her a cold, incompetent mother, while she struggles to save her marriage. Carole also has to deal with the demands of her needy elder daughter, Michelle, who is driven to cope in dangerous ways. Through it all, Carole desperately clings to the hope that Samantha will someday be found only to be stung again and again by cruel reality. Plunged back into the still-raw heartbreak of her daughter s disappearance, and the suspicions and inconsistencies surrounding a case long gone cold, Carole doesn t know whom or what to believe. The only thing she can be sure of is that someone is fiercely determined to hide the truth of what happened to Samantha. Praise for Joy Fielding s "Someone Is Watching" "Someone Is Watching" gripped me from the first to the very last page. Bailey Carpenter is a heroine who s both victim and warrior woman, a fascinating sleuth who will linger with you long after you ve finished this thrilling read. Tess Gerritsen Fielding pens a spiraling tale of paranoia and suspense, as sultry as a Miami night. Jenny Milchman An edge-of-your-seat read . . . With Fielding s patented blend of complex characters and escalating suspense, she is in top form here. Karen Robards Engrossing . . . The characters pulsate with life. "Publishers Weekly" (starred review) A gripping, fast-paced psychological thriller . . . Fielding s story of one woman s search for justice, understanding, and internal peace is nothing short of arresting. "Booklist "(starred review)"
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Donelson - Adult Large Print
Fiction Fieldin Large Type
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
1603.
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781410486257, 1410486257

Notes

Description
"A lifetime ago, every year Carole Shipley looked forward to her wedding anniversary. But then a celebratory trip to Mexico for the occasion with her husband and friends ended in the unsolved kidnapping of her infant daughter, Samantha. Now, fifteen years after that horrific time, divorced and isolated, Carole is forced to relive the kidnapping by reporters who call every year on the anniversary of Samantha's disappearance. However, this year when the phone rings, Carole hears the sweet voice of a girl claiming to be her long-lost daughter. Plunged back into the world of heartbreak, suspicion and questions that led the case to run cold so many years ago, Carole doesn't know what or who to believe. But when she starts to figure it out, she finds the answers dangerously close to home"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Fielding, J. (2016). She's not there. Large print edition. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Fielding, Joy. 2016. She's Not There. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Fielding, Joy, She's Not There. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Fielding, Joy. She's Not There. Large print edition. Waterville, Maine: Thorndike Press, 2016. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b9a6dba2-032b-9c67-3898-50efcf57dafd
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeNov 07, 2019 04:29:28 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeDec 13, 2019 11:20:23 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02469cam a2200493 i 4500
001ocn930257414
003OCoLC
00520160315073500.0
008160109t20162016meu     d     000 1 eng  
010 |a 2016000329
020 |a 9781410486257
020 |a 1410486257
042 |a pcc
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction|a Fieldin|a Large|a Type
1001 |a Fielding, Joy,|e author.
24510|a She's not there|h [text (large print)] /|c Joy Fielding.
250 |a Large print edition.
263 |a 1603.
264 1|a Waterville, Maine :|b Thorndike Press,|c 2016.
264 4|c 2016.
300 |a 551 (large print) ;|c 23 cm.
336 |a text|b txt|2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated|b n|2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume|b nc|2 rdacarrier.
340 |n large print|2 rda.
4901 |a Thorndike Press large print core.
520 |a "A lifetime ago, every year Carole Shipley looked forward to her wedding anniversary. But then a celebratory trip to Mexico for the occasion with her husband and friends ended in the unsolved kidnapping of her infant daughter, Samantha. Now, fifteen years after that horrific time, divorced and isolated, Carole is forced to relive the kidnapping by reporters who call every year on the anniversary of Samantha's disappearance. However, this year when the phone rings, Carole hears the sweet voice of a girl claiming to be her long-lost daughter. Plunged back into the world of heartbreak, suspicion and questions that led the case to run cold so many years ago, Carole doesn't know what or who to believe. But when she starts to figure it out, she finds the answers dangerously close to home"--|c Provided by publisher.
650 0|a Mothers and daughters|v Fiction.
650 0|a African Americans|v Fiction.
650 0|a Missing children|v Fiction.
650 0|a Large type books.
650 0|a Detective and mystery stories, Canadian.
650 0|a Psychological fiction, Canadian.
650 0|a Suspense fiction, Canadian.
830 0|a Thorndike Press large print core series.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
898 |a qLargePrint
907 |a .b23257933|b 10-13-16|c 03-15-16
910 |a CARL0000484847
991 |a bx|a do|b 03-15-16|c m|d +|e 6|f eng|g meu|h 0|i 1
998 4|a LDR0905 20170611121317 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611121317 NPUB
949 |b 35192048305340|c Fiction Fieldin Large Type|h DO|j DO|l ALTP|m BKLP|s S|p 28.50|w 25|x 20160329|t 20190906|q CNV|r MXM|v 10|y 20190820|z 1