Salt to the sea
(Playaway)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(13)
4 star
 
(10)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Solon, Ohio : Findaway World, LLC, [2015].
Format:
Playaway
Edition:
Unabridged.
Physical Desc:
1 audio media player (9 hr.) : digital, HD audio ; 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 4.5 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Status:
Litton Middle - Teen Audiobook
PLA F Sep
West End Middle - Teen Audiobook
PLA F SEP
Description
The author of"Between Shades of Gray"returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating yet unknown tragedies. In 1945, World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia, and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, almost all of them with something to hide.Among them areJoana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to theship that promises salvation, the "Wilhelm Gustloff." Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other testedwith each step closer toward safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Notcountry, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view, and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning "All the Light We Cannot See," Erik Larson's critically acclaimed #1 "New York Times" bestseller"Dead Wake," and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book"Code Name Verity," this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the"Wilhelm Gustloff"--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in"Between Shades of Gray," Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.Praise for"Salt to the Sea" "Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In "Salt to the Sea" the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimatestorytelling, as her warm and human charactersbreathenew life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." Elizabeth Wein, "New York Times" bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book "Code Name Verity" A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying and little-known moment in World War II history. Steve Sheinkin, author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist "Bomb" * "Sepetys excels in shining light on lost chapters of history, and this visceral novel proves a memorable testament to strength and resilience in the face of war and cruelty." "Publishers Weekly, "starred review "The inevitability of the ending (including the loss of several characters) doesn't change its poignancy, and the short chapters and slowly revealed back stories for each character guarantee the pages keep turning. Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful." "Kirkus" Praise for "Between Shades of Gray" A"New York Times"Notable Book of 2011A"Wall Street Journal"Best Children s Book of 2011A"Publishers Weekly"Best Book of 2011The iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen NovelA"School Library Journal"Best Book of 2011A"Booklist"Best Book of 2011A"Kirkus"Best Book of 20112012 Indies Choice Young Adult Book of the YearA Carnegie Medal FinalistA William C. Morris FinalistA"New York Times"BestsellerAn International Bestseller Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both. "The Washington Post" * A harrowing page-turner. "Publishers Weekly," starred review * A gripping story. "School Library Journal," starred review * Bitterly sad, fluidly written Sepetys' flowing prose gently carries readers. "Kirkus," starred review * "Beautifully written and deeply felt an important book that deserves the widest possible readership. Booklist, starred review Stalin deported and murdered millions, but he could not destroy the seeds of memory, compassion, and art that they left behind. From those seeds, Ruta Septeys has crafted a brilliant story of love and survival that will keep their memory alive for generations to come. Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of"Speak"and"Wintergirls" In terrifying detail, Ruta Sepetys re-creates World War II coming of age all too timely today. Between Shades of Gray is a document long overdue. Richard P

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Hillsboro High - Teen Audiobook
PLA/F/SEP
Checked Out
Litton Middle - Teen Audiobook
PLA F Sep
On Shelf
West End Middle - Teen Audiobook
PLA F SEP
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Bellevue - Teen Audiobook
PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
Goodlettsville - Teen Audiobook
PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys
Checked Out
Green Hills - Teen Audiobook
PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
Hermitage - Teen Audiobook
PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys
Checked Out
Inglewood - Teen Audiobook
PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys
Checked Out
Main Library - Teen Audiobook
PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
Southeast - Teen Audiobook
PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781467623575, 1467623571
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.5, 10 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
560

Notes

General Note
Tilte from Playaway label.
General Note
Originally released by Listening Library ℗2016.
General Note
Release date supplied by publisher.
General Note
Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player.
General Note
One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for listening.
Participants/Performers
Performed by Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris & Michael Crouch.
Description
"As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, R., Marie, J., Morris, C., Damron, W., & Crouch, M. (2015). Salt to the sea. Unabridged. Solon, Ohio: Findaway World, LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Ruta, Sepetys et al.. 2015. Salt to the Sea. Solon, Ohio: Findaway World, LLC.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Ruta, Sepetys et al., Salt to the Sea. Solon, Ohio: Findaway World, LLC, 2015.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta,, et al. Salt to the Sea. Unabridged. Solon, Ohio: Findaway World, LLC, 2015.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a9b99c96-b224-b291-9522-66fb9a6fee8a
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Jul 15, 2019 11:31:54 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jul 18, 2019 06:11:42 PM

MARC Record

LEADER03785cim a2200721 i 4500
001ocn930791173
003OCoLC
00520160219080634.0
006m    eq  h        
007cz nza||||||||        
007sz zunznnnzneu        
008151125s2015    ohunnnndq      f  n eng d
020 |a 9781467623575
020 |a 1467623571
02801 |a 33779
049 |a TNNA
099 |a PLAYAWAY |a YA |a Fiction |a Sepetys
1001 |a Sepetys, Ruta, |e author.
24510 |a Salt to the sea |h [sound recording] / |c Ruta Sepetys.
250 |a Unabridged.
264 1 |a Solon, Ohio : |b Findaway World, LLC, |c [2015]
264 4 |c ℗2015.
300 |a 1 audio media player (9 hr.) : |b digital, HD audio ; |c 3 3/8 x 2 1/8 in.
336 |a spoken word |b spw |2 rdacontent.
337 |a audio |b s |2 rdamedia.
337 |a unmediated |b n |2 rdamedia.
338 |a other |b sz |2 rdacarrier.
338 |a other |b nz |2 rdacarrier.
344 |a digital |b non-volatile flash memory |2 rda.
347 |a audio file |b ACLEP |2 rda.
500 |a Tilte from Playaway label.
5110 |a Performed by Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris & Michael Crouch.
500 |a Originally released by Listening Library ℗2016.
500 |a Release date supplied by publisher.
500 |a Issued on Playaway, a dedicated audio media player.
500 |a One set of earphones and one AAA battery required for listening.
520 |a "As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"-- |c Provided by publisher.
650 0 |a World War, 1939-1945 |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Refugees |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Audiobooks.
7001 |a Marie, Jorjeana, |e narrator.
7001 |a Morris, Cassandra, |d 1982- |e narrator.
7001 |a Damron, Will, |e narrator.
7001 |a Crouch, Michael |q (Michael Lockwood), |e narrator.
7102 |a Playaway Digital Audio.
7102 |a Findaway World, LLC.
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b23195137 |b 07-03-16 |c 12-09-15
908 |a MLM04041939
910 |a CARL0000478945
949 |b 35192048553915 |c PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys |h MN |j MN |l YAUBK |m PLA |s S |p 38.49 |w 17 |x 20160219 |t 20190701 |q CNV |r CNV |v 2 |y 20190529 |z 1
949 |b 35192048553840 |c PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys |h BL |j BL |l YAUBK |m PLA |s S |p 38.49 |w 23 |x 20160219 |t 20190708 |q CNV |r CNV |v 4 |y 20190524 |z 1
949 |b 35192048553873 |c PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys |h GO |j GO |l YAUBK |m PLA |s C |p 38.49 |w 22 |x 20160219 |t 20190715 |q CNV |r CNV |v 7 |y 20190522 |z 2
949 |b 35192048553865 |c PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys |h GH |j GH |l YAUBK |m PLA |s S |p 38.49 |w 30 |x 20160219 |t 20190603 |q CNV |r CNV |v 4 |y 20190315 |z 1
949 |b 35192048553881 |c PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys |h HM |j HM |l YAUBK |m PLA |s C |p 38.49 |w 18 |x 20160219 |t 20190708 |q CNV |r CNV |v 6 |y 20181004 |z 1
949 |b 35192048553899 |c PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys |h IN |j IN |l YAUBK |m PLA |s C |p 38.49 |w 15 |x 20160219 |t 20190712 |q CNV |r LEG |v 3 |y 20190531 |z 2
949 |b 35192048553923 |c PLAYAWAY YA Fiction Sepetys |h SE |j SE |l YAUBK |m PLA |s S |p 38.49 |w 19 |x 20160219 |t 20190713 |q CNV |r CNV |v 2 |y 20170630 |z 0
949 |b FW10012749 |c PLA/F/SEP |h 66435 |j 66435 |l YAUBK |m SPLA |s C |p 54.99 |w 1 |x 20170817 |t 20190520 |q JAM |r JAM |v 1 |y 20180905 |z 1
949 |b FF00166288 |c PLA F Sep |h 4I510 |j 4I510 |l YAUBK |m SPLA |s S |p 54.99 |w 1 |x 20181108 |t 20190214 |q LDR |r LDR |v 1 |y 20181108 |z 1
949 |b MK10162598 |c PLA F SEP |h 4V770 |j 4V770 |l YAUBK |m SPLA |s S |p 54.99 |w 2 |x 20161128 |t 20180924 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
991 |a bl |a bx |a go |a gh |a hm |a in |a ma |a mn |a se |b 02-19-16 |c m |d 2 |e 6 |f eng |g ohu |h 0 |i 9
988 |a .o9786818 |c 9 |l multi |f 2 |s a |x 12-09-15 |y 02-17-16 |z 02-19-16 |3 s |k bl |k bx |k gh |k go |k hm |k in |k ma |k mn |k se
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611113122 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170615074222 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170611113122 NPUB