Salt to the sea
(CD audio book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(13)
4 star
 
(9)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
[New York] : Listening Library, [2016].
Format:
CD audio book
Edition:
Unabridged.
Physical Desc:
7 sound discs (8 hr., 48 min.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 4.5 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Rating:
9-12.
Status:
Description
New York Times Bestseller "Masterly crafted" -- The Wall Street Journal

For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See , bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies. World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.

Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.

Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See , Erik Larson's Dead Wake , and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity , this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff -- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray , Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for Salt to the Sea "Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris, and Michael Crouch perform mesmerizing narration worthy of Sepetys's spectacular novel. VERDICT Libraries with even the most limited audio budgets will want to invest." - School Library Journal , starred review

"The talented narrators excel in capturing the tone of their characters.... They] work together to create a vivid and well-rounded reading experience, and] bring forth the truth of the wartime experience." - Booklist , starred review

"The four narrators (Jorjeana Marie, Will Damron, Cassandra Morris and Michael Crouch) are superbly cast...The story's plot and pacing translate beautifully to the audio medium." - Publishers Weekly , starred review

Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted... a] powerful work of historical fiction."-- The Wall Street Journal ♦ " Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."-- Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."-- The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."-- New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."-- Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."-- The Globe and Mail ♦ " H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."-- Salt Lake Tribune

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Bellevue - Teen Audiobook
YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
Donelson - Teen Audiobook
YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
Green Hills - Teen Audiobook
YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
Inglewood - Teen Audiobook
YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
Richland Park - Teen Audiobook
YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
Southeast - Teen Audiobook
YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780147525451, 0147525454
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.5, 10 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-Low
Lexile measure:
560

Notes

General Note
Title from web page.
General Note
Compact discs.
Participants/Performers
Read by Jorjeana Marie, Cassandra Morris, Will Damron & Michael Crouch.
Description
"As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"--,Provided by publisher.
Target Audience
9-12.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, R., Marie, J., Morris, C., Damron, W., & Crouch, M. (2016). Salt to the sea. Unabridged. [New York]: Listening Library.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Ruta. Sepetys et al.. 2016. Salt to the Sea. [New York]: Listening Library.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Ruta. Sepetys et al., Salt to the Sea. [New York]: Listening Library, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta., et al. Salt to the Sea. Unabridged. [New York]: Listening Library, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a9b99c96-b224-b291-9522-66fb9a6fee8a
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Jun 27, 2019 11:24:05 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jul 15, 2019 04:08:38 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02614cim a2200517 a 4500
001ocn909318303
003OCoLC
00520160129015209.0
007sd fungnn|||uu        
008150513s2016    nyunnnnd       f  n eng d
020 |a 9780147525451
020 |a 0147525454
02802 |a YA 2455
049 |a TNNA
099 |a YA |a CD AUDIO |a Fiction |a Sepetys
1001 |a Sepetys, Ruta.
24510 |a Salt to the sea |h [sound recording] / |c Ruta Sepetys.
250 |a Unabridged.
260 |a [New York] : |b Listening Library, |c [2016]
300 |a 7 sound discs (8 hr., 48 min.) : |b digital ; |c 4 3/4 in.
306 |a 084800.
500 |a Title from web page.
5110 |a Read by Jorjeana Marie, Cassandra Morris, Will Damron & Michael Crouch.
500 |a Compact discs.
5212 |a 9-12.
520 |a "As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"-- |c Provided by publisher.
650 0 |a World War, 1939-1945 |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Refugees |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Audiobooks.
7001 |a Marie, Jorjeana.
7001 |a Morris, Cassandra, |d 1982-
7001 |a Damron, Will.
7001 |a Crouch, Michael |q (Michael Lockwood).
898 |a qBookOnCD
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b23173233 |b 01-30-17 |c 11-06-15
910 |a CARL0000476876
949 |b 35192048235380 |c YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys |h BL |j BL |l YAUBK |m CDA |n 001.CONTAINS 7 DISCS |s S |p 38.00 |w 27 |x 20160201 |t 20190506 |q CNV |r CNV |v 2 |y 20190403 |z 1
949 |b 35192048235398 |c YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys |h DO |j DO |l YAUBK |m CDA |n 001.CONTAINS 7 DISCS |s S |p 38.00 |w 24 |x 20160201 |t 20181226 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20180208 |z 0
949 |b 35192048235406 |c YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys |h GH |j GH |l YAUBK |m CDA |n 001.CONTAINS 7 DISCS |s S |p 38.00 |w 27 |x 20160201 |t 20190627 |q CNV |r CNV |v 4 |y 20190526 |z 3
949 |b 35192048235414 |c YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys |h IN |j IN |l YAUBK |m CDA |n 001.CONTAINS 7 DISCS |s S |p 38.00 |w 22 |x 20160201 |t 20190416 |q CNV |r ovn |v 2 |y 20190111 |z 0
949 |b 35192048235430 |c YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys |h RP |j RP |l YAUBK |m CDA |n 001.CONTAINS 7 DISCS |s S |p 38.00 |w 14 |x 20160201 |t 20190403 |q CNV |r ovn |v 2 |y 20181004 |z 0
949 |b 35192048235448 |c YA CD AUDIO Fiction Sepetys |h SE |j SE |l YAUBK |m CDA |n 001.CONTAINS 7 DISCS |s S |p 38.00 |w 13 |x 20160201 |t 20181107 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170630 |z 2
991 |a bl |a do |a gh |a in |a mn |a rp |a se |b 01-29-16 |c m |d 3 |e 8 |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 1
988 |a .o976351x |c 7 |l multi |f a |s a |x 11-06-15 |y 01-29-16 |z 01-29-16 |3 s |k bl |k do |k gh |k in |k mn |k rp |k se
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611111644 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170611111644 NPUB