Dollbaby
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(2)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(1)
Published:
New York, New York : Pamela Dorman Books/Viking, [2014].
Format:
Book
Physical Desc:
x, 337 pages : maps ; 24 cm.
Status:
Antioch High - Teen Fiction
F MCN
Description
A Top Ten Finalist for Best Historical Novel, Goodreads Choice Awards, and a LibraryReads and Okra Pick A big-hearted coming-of-age debut set in civil rights-era New Orleans--a novel of Southern eccentricity and secrets   When Ibby Bell's father dies unexpectedly in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother Fannie and throws in her father's urn for good measure. Fannie's New Orleans house is like no place Ibby has ever been--and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum--is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, Fannie's black cook, Queenie, and her smart-mouthed daughter, Dollbaby, take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets.   For Fannie's own family history is fraught with tragedy, hidden behind the closed rooms in her ornate Uptown mansion. It will take Ibby's arrival to begin to unlock the mysteries there. And it will take Queenie and Dollbaby's hard-won wisdom to show Ibby that family can sometimes be found in the least expected places.   For fans of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt and The Help , Dollbaby brings to life the charm and unrest of 1960s New Orleans through the eyes of a young girl learning to understand race for the first time.   By turns uplifting and funny, poignant and full of verve, Dollbaby is a novel readers will take to their hearts.
Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Antioch High - Teen Fiction
F MCN
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Bellevue - Adult Fiction
Fiction McNeal
On Shelf
Donelson - Adult Fiction
Fiction McNeal
On Shelf
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction McNeal
On Shelf
Green Hills - Adult Fiction
Fiction McNeal
On Shelf
Main Library - Adult Fiction
Fiction McNeal
On Shelf
Richland Park - Adult Fiction
Fiction McNeal
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780670014736, 0670014737

Notes

General Note
"A novel"--Jacket.
Description
"When Ibby Bell's father dies in a tragic accident in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother, Fannie, and throws in her father's urn for good measure. Fannie's Victorian house is like no place Ibby has ever been--and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum every once in a while--is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, her black cook, Queenie ... and Queenie's feisty daughter Dollbaby take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

McNeal, L. L. (2014). Dollbaby. New York, New York: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

McNeal, Laura Lane. 2014. Dollbaby. New York, New York: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

McNeal, Laura Lane, Dollbaby. New York, New York: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

McNeal, Laura Lane. Dollbaby. New York, New York: Pamela Dorman Books/Viking, 2014. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
3420152f-9c23-2554-2231-6bd586db303c
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Oct 21, 2018 11:29:27 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Oct 22, 2018 10:54:12 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02967cam a2200529 i 4500
001ocn861478912
003OCoLC
00520140707082618.0
008131205s2014    nyub          000 1 eng  
010 |a 2013048523
020 |a 9780670014736
020 |a 0670014737
043 |a n-us-la
049 |a TNNA
099 |a Fiction |a McNeal
1001 |a McNeal, Laura Lane.
24510 |a Dollbaby / |c Laura Lane McNeal.
24634 |a Doll-baby.
264 1 |a New York, New York : |b Pamela Dorman Books/Viking, |c [2014]
264 4 |c 2014.
300 |a x, 337 pages : |b maps ; |c 24 cm.
336 |a text |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |2 rdacarrier.
500 |a "A novel"--Jacket.
520 |a "When Ibby Bell's father dies in a tragic accident in the summer of 1964, her mother unceremoniously deposits Ibby with her eccentric grandmother, Fannie, and throws in her father's urn for good measure. Fannie's Victorian house is like no place Ibby has ever been--and Fannie, who has a tendency to end up in the local asylum every once in a while--is like no one she has ever met. Fortunately, her black cook, Queenie ... and Queenie's feisty daughter Dollbaby take it upon themselves to initiate Ibby into the ways of the South, both its grand traditions and its darkest secrets"-- |c Provided by publisher.
650 0 |a Families |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Redemption |v Fiction.
650 0 |a Bildungsromans.
650 0 |a Historical fiction, American.
651 0 |a New Orleans (La.) |x History |y 20th century |v Fiction.
651 0 |a Louisiana |x Race relations |v Fiction.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b22693610 |b 11-02-16 |c 04-10-14
908 |a  2013048523
910 |a CARL0000436305
949 |b B00740357 |c F MCN |h 60110 |j 60110 |l YFIC |m SBK |s S |p 26.95 |w 1 |x 20150115 |t 20150115 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
949 |b 35192046096057 |c Fiction McNeal |h BL |j BL |l AFIC |m BK |s S |p 14.90 |w 33 |x 20140707 |t 20180805 |q CNV |r CNV |v 5 |y 20180119 |z 0
949 |b 35192046096107 |c Fiction McNeal |h DO |j DO |l AFIC |m BK |s S |p 14.90 |w 20 |x 20140707 |t 20180303 |q CNV |r CNV |v 1 |y 20170630 |z 0
949 |b 35192046096099 |c Fiction McNeal |h GH |j GH |l AFIC |m BK |s S |p 14.90 |w 24 |x 20140707 |t 20181021 |q CNV |r CNV |v 5 |y 20180723 |z 0
949 |b 35192046096156 |c Fiction McNeal |h GH |j GH |l AFIC |m BK |s S |p 14.90 |w 23 |x 20140707 |t 20180829 |q CNV |r CNV |v 6 |y 20180820 |z 2
949 |b 35192046096131 |c Fiction McNeal |h MN |j MN |l AFIC |m BK |s S |p 14.90 |w 33 |x 20140707 |t 20180926 |q CNV |r CNV |v 5 |y 20180911 |z 0
949 |b 35192046096081 |c Fiction McNeal |h RP |j RP |l AFIC |m BK |s S |p 14.90 |w 19 |x 20140707 |t 20180809 |q CNV |r CNV |v 4 |y 20180720 |z 1
991 |a bl |a bx |a do |a ea |a eh |a go |a (3)gh |a in |a mn |a rp |a se |b 07-07-14 |c m |d a |e 6 |f eng |g nyu |h 0 |i 13
988 |a .o8969322 |c 13 |l multi |f b |s a |x 04-10-14 |y 07-03-14 |z 07-07-14 |3 s |k bl |k bx |k do |k ep |k gh |k go |k hm |k ma |k mn |k oh |k rp |k se |k tl
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611062723 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170614210441 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170611062723 NPUB