A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
(Book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published:
New York : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2014].
Format:
Book
Edition:
First edition.
Physical Desc:
xviii, 395 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
Status:
Overton High - Teen Non-Fiction
580 KAS
Description

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.

In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from brown thumb to green, sharing lessons she learned from building a home conservatory in the wake of a devastating personal crisis.

In A Garden of Marvels, she extends the story. Frustrated by plants that fail to thrive, she sets out to understand the basics of botany in order to become a better gardener. She retraces the progress of the first botanists who banished myths and misunderstandings and discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, roots choose their food, and hormones make morning glories climb fence posts. She also visits modern gardens, farms, and labs to discover the science behind extraordinary plants like one-ton pumpkins, a truly black petunia, a biofuel grass that grows twelve feet tall, and the world's only photosynthesizing animal. Transferring her insights to her own garden, she nurtures a "cocktail" tree that bears five kinds of fruit, cures a Buddha's Hand plant with beneficial fungi, and gets a tree to text her when it's thirsty.

Intertwining personal anecdote, accessible science, and untold history, the ever-engaging author takes us on an eye-opening journey into her garden--and yours.

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Overton High - Teen Non-Fiction
580 KAS
On Shelf
Location
Call Number
Status
Bordeaux - Adult Non-Fiction
580 K1937g
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780062048998, 0062048996, 9780062049018 (trade pbk.), 0062049011 (trade pbk.)

Notes

Bibliography
Includes bibliographical references (pages [368]-379) and index.
Description
"In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"--,Provided by publisher.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kassinger, R. (2014). A garden of marvels: how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants. First edition. New York: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kassinger, Ruth, 1954-. 2014. A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered That Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants. New York: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kassinger, Ruth, 1954-, A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered That Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants. New York: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kassinger, Ruth. A Garden of Marvels: How We Discovered That Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants. First edition. New York: William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2014. Print.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c28ad1a2-36d9-ceab-5bc5-2434497234ff
Go To Grouped Work View in Staff Client
Last File Modification Time Nov 01, 2018 11:25:31 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Apr 19, 2019 10:44:33 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02089cam a2200457 i 4500
001ocn870211334
003OCoLC
00520140306014329.0
008140206s2014    nyua     b    001 0aeng  
010 |a 2014002824
020 |a 9780062048998
020 |a 0062048996
020 |a 9780062049018 (trade pbk.)
020 |a 0062049011 (trade pbk.)
043 |a n-us---
049 |a TNNA
092 |a 580 |b K1937g
1001 |a Kassinger, Ruth, |d 1954- |e author.
24512 |a A garden of marvels : |b how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants / |c Ruth Kassinger.
250 |a First edition.
264 1 |a New York : |b William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, |c [2014]
300 |a xviii, 395 pages : |b illustrations ; |c 22 cm.
336 |a text |2 rdacontent.
337 |a unmediated |2 rdamedia.
338 |a volume |2 rdacarrier.
504 |a Includes bibliographical references (pages [368]-379) and index.
520 |a "In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"-- |c Provided by publisher.
60010 |a Kassinger, Ruth, |d 1954- |v Anecdotes.
650 0 |a Women gardeners |z United States |v Anecdotes.
650 0 |a Botanists |z United States |v Anecdotes.
650 0 |a Botany |v Humor.
898 |a qBook
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b22241875 |b 05-22-14 |c 12-09-13
908 |a  2014002824
910 |a CARL0000427319
949 |b 35192045211897 |c 580 K1937g |h BX |j BX |l ANF |m BK |s S |p 14.37 |w 13 |x 20140307 |t 20171206 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20171128 |z 0
949 |b FF00105668 |c 580 KAS |h 6F615 |j 6F615 |l YNF |m SBK |s S |p 22.14 |w 0 |x 20160201 |t 20170701 |q CNV |r CNV |v 0 |y 20170701 |z 0
991 |a bx |a ea |b 03-06-14 |c m |d a |e 6 |f eng |g nyu |h 2 |i 2
988 |a .o8804369 |c 2 |l multi |f b |s a |x 12-09-13 |y 02-28-14 |z 03-06-14 |3 s |k ep |k rp
998 4 |a LDR0905 20170611053513 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170615034701 NSCH |b LDR0905 20170611053513 NPUB