Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.

The cay
(CD audio book)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Contributors:
Published:
New York : Random House/Listening Library, p2005.
Format:
CD audio book
Physical Desc:
3 sound discs (ca. 72 min. each) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
Status:
Description
For fans of Hatchet and Island of the Blue Dolphins comes Theodore Taylor's classic bestseller and Lewis Carroll Shelf Award winner, The Cay . Phillip is excited when the Germans invade the small island of Cura ao. War has always been a game to him, and he's eager to glimpse it firsthand-until the freighter he and his mother are traveling to the United States on is torpedoed. When Phillip comes to, he is on a small raft in the middle of the sea. Besides Stew Cat, his only companion is an old West Indian, Timothy. Phillip remembers his mother's warning about black people: "They are different, and they live differently." But by the time the castaways arrive on a small island, Phillip's head injury has made him blind and dependent on Timothy.

"Mr. Taylor has provided an exciting story...The idea that all humanity would benefit from this special form of color blindness permeates the whole book...The result is a story with a high ethical purpose but no sermon."-- New York Times Book Review

"A taut tightly compressed story of endurance and revelation...At once barbed and tender, tense and fragile--as Timothy would say, 'outrageous good.'"-- Kirkus Reviews

* "Fully realized setting...artful, unobtrusive use of dialect...the representation of a hauntingly deep love, the poignancy of which is rarely achieved in children's literature."-- School Library Journal , Starred

"Starkly dramatic, believable and compelling."-- Saturday Review "A tense and moving experience in reading."-- Publishers Weekly "Eloquently underscores the intrinsic brotherhood of man."-- Booklist

"This is one of the best survival stories since Robinson Crusoe ."-- The Washington Star

- A New York Times Best Book of the Year - A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year - A Horn Book Honor Book - An American Library Association Notable Book - A Publishers Weekly Children's Book to Remember - A Child Study Association's Pick of Children's Books of the Year - Jane Addams Book Award - Lewis Carroll Shelf Award - Commonwealth Club of California: Literature Award - Southern California Council on Literature for Children and Young People Award - Woodward School Annual Book Award - Friends of the Library Award, University of California at Irvine

Also in This Series
Copies
Location
Call Number
Status
Main Library - Kids Audiobook
jCD AUDIO Fiction Taylor
On Shelf
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
1400099064, 1400099080, 9781400099085

Notes

General Note
Unabridged.
General Note
Sequel: Timothy of the cay.
Participants/Performers
Read by Michael Boatman.
Description
When the freighter on which they are traveling is torpedoed by a German submarine during World War II, an adolescent white boy, blinded by a blow on the head, and an old black man are stranded on a tiny Caribbean island where the boy acquires a new kind of vision, courage, and love from his old companion.
System Details
Compact disc.
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Taylor, T., & Boatman, M. (2005). The cay. New York: Random House/Listening Library.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Taylor, Theodore, 1921-2006 and Michael Boatman. 2005. The Cay. New York: Random House/Listening Library.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Taylor, Theodore, 1921-2006 and Michael Boatman, The Cay. New York: Random House/Listening Library, 2005.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Taylor, Theodore, and Michael Boatman. The Cay. New York: Random House/Listening Library, 2005.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
26c63e90-d4f2-89d0-b0d4-e1a9f385a6a1
Go To GroupedWorkView in Staff Client
Last File Modification TimeMar 06, 2020 02:54:41 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeApr 06, 2020 10:44:10 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01898cim a2200457 a 4500
001ocm57490379
003OCoLC
00520050412143843.0
007sd fungnn|||uu        
008050125s2005    nyunnn c       f    eng d
020 |a 1400099064
020 |a 1400099080
020 |a 9781400099085
02842|a YA629CD
037 |b Books on Tape|n http://library.booksontape.com
040 |a TEFBT|c TEFBT|d TEF|d JPK|d TNN
049 |a TNNA
099 |a jCD AUDIO|a Fiction|a Taylor
1001 |a Taylor, Theodore,|d 1921-2006.
24514|a The cay|h [sound recording] /|c Theodore Taylor.
260 |a New York :|b Random House/Listening Library,|c p2005.
300 |a 3 sound discs (ca. 72 min. each) :|b digital ;|c 4 3/4 in.
5110 |a Read by Michael Boatman.
500 |a Unabridged.
538 |a Compact disc.
500 |a Sequel: Timothy of the cay.
520 |a When the freighter on which they are traveling is torpedoed by a German submarine during World War II, an adolescent white boy, blinded by a blow on the head, and an old black man are stranded on a tiny Caribbean island where the boy acquires a new kind of vision, courage, and love from his old companion.
650 0|a Survival|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Friendship|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Prejudices|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Blacks|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Shipwrecks|v Juvenile fiction.
650 0|a Audiobooks.
7001 |a Boatman, Michael,|d 1964-|4 nrt.
898 |a qBookOnCD
898 |a qEnglish
907 |a .b17211347|b 08-10-16|c 02-14-05
910 |a CARL0000240697
991 |a (3)child|a (2)ep|a mn|b 04-12-05|c m|d 3|e @|f eng|g nyu|h 4|i 27
998 4|a LDR0905 20170610130131 NPUB |b LDR0905 20170610130131 NPUB
949 |b 35192043933245|c jCD AUDIO Fiction Taylor|h MN|j MN|l JAUBK|m CDA|s S|p 25.00|w 58|x 20050520|t 20190821|q CNV|r CNV|v 0|y 20190626|z 2