Friday Black
(Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
HMH Books 2018
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER"An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review"An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny."George Saunders"Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." Roxane GayA National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First BookA piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Kindle Book
Works on Kindles and devices with a Kindle app installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
10/23/2018
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781328915139
ASIN:
B07897SFZF
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah. (2018). Friday Black. HMH Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah. 2018. Friday Black. HMH Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah, Friday Black. HMH Books, 2018.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah. Friday Black. HMH Books, 2018. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection44
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
7a3dfc35-8ee1-47b0-23dd-185da4654b67
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Sep 25, 2018 16:23:28
Date Updated:
Sep 25, 2018 16:23:28
Last Metadata Check:
Nov 14, 2019 16:38:57
Last Metadata Change:
Nov 10, 2019 11:58:31
Last Availability Check:
Nov 14, 2019 16:38:57
Last Availability Change:
Nov 14, 2019 16:10:27
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Nov 14, 2019 22:44:46

OverDrive Product Record

sortTitle
Friday Black
crossRefId
3707216
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0874-1/{C778388D-18C9-48BF-ADC8-019E589A9C07}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0874-1/{C778388D-18C9-48BF-ADC8-019E589A9C07}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0874-1/C77/838/8D/{C778388D-18C9-48BF-ADC8-019E589A9C07}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0874-1/C77/838/8D/{C778388D-18C9-48BF-ADC8-019E589A9C07}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781328915139
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
id
c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07
title
Friday Black
starRating
0
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=3707216
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
          • id: 1351

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0874-1/{C778388D-18C9-48BF-ADC8-019E589A9C07}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0874-1/{C778388D-18C9-48BF-ADC8-019E589A9C07}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0874-1/C77/838/8D/{C778388D-18C9-48BF-ADC8-019E589A9C07}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0874-1/C77/838/8D/{C778388D-18C9-48BF-ADC8-019E589A9C07}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: FridayBlack9781328915139
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 2787167
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781328915139
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 1
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 10/23/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: FridayBlack9781328915139
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ASIN
            • value: B07897SFZF
      • name: Kindle Book
      • id: ebook-kindle
      • onSaleDate: 10/23/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: FridayBlack9781328915139
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 0
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781328915139
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 10/23/2018
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame
      • bioText:

        NANA KWAME ADJEI-BRENYAH has an MFA from Syracuse University. His work has appeared or is forthcoming in numerous publications, including Guernica, Printer's Row, and Breakwater Review, where ZZ Packer awarded him the Breakwater Review Fiction Prize.

      • name: Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
imprint
Mariner Books
subjects
      • value: Fiction
      • value: African American Fiction
      • value: Short Stories
publishDate
2018-10-23T00:00:00-04:00
publishDateText
10/23/2018
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead
"An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice."
Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review
"An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny."George Saunders
"Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." Roxane Gay
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First Book
A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America.
From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By...

isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Friday Black
fullDescription

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
"An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review
"An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny."George Saunders
"Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." Roxane Gay
A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead
Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First Book

A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America.
From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country.
These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all.
Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

sortTitle
Friday Black
crossRefId
3707216
awards
      • source: Notable Books Council
      • value: Notable Books for Adults
popularity
1528
publisher
HMH Books
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07
starRating
4.1