The Murderer's Ape
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2017
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 6.4 - AR Pts: 18
Lexile measure:
870L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
"This may be the most charming book I've read all year." —The New York Times"I don't know when I last read a book with such pure and unalloyed pleasure." —Philip Pullman, internationally bestselling author of The Golden Compass and The Book of DustWinner of the Mildred L. Batchelder award, this is a captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories. Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she's an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja's turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking but understanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but the deal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder. For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name. Powerful forces are working against her, and they will do anything to protect their secrets.
Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
01/24/2017
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781524722593
Reading Level:
MG
Level 6.4, 18 Points
Lexile measure:
870
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Jakob Wegelius. (2017). The Murderer's Ape. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Jakob Wegelius. 2017. The Murderer's Ape. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Jakob Wegelius, The Murderer's Ape. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2017.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Jakob Wegelius. The Murderer's Ape. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2017.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
cb2b78a8-978c-8419-d930-8f36b283f8c5
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Dec 12, 2016 21:17:16
Date Updated:
Nov 19, 2017 01:11:36
Last Metadata Check:
Dec 08, 2019 09:16:56
Last Metadata Change:
Oct 05, 2019 14:46:31
Last Availability Check:
Dec 08, 2019 09:16:57
Last Availability Change:
Sep 16, 2019 07:56:38
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Dec 09, 2019 22:44:36

OverDrive Product Record

id
bcce7f88-2bbb-48ba-b58a-e3a5350b5ba2
primaryCreator
    • name: Jakob Wegelius
    • role: Author
starRating
3.2
title
The Murderer's Ape
crossRefId
2697256
sortTitle
Murderers Ape
images
    • cover300Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/BCC/E7F/88/{BCCE7F88-2BBB-48BA-B58A-E3A5350B5BA2}Img400.jpg
    • cover:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{BCCE7F88-2BBB-48BA-B58A-E3A5350B5BA2}Img100.jpg
    • thumbnail:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{BCCE7F88-2BBB-48BA-B58A-E3A5350B5BA2}Img200.jpg
    • cover150Wide:
        • type: image/jpeg
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/BCC/E7F/88/{BCCE7F88-2BBB-48BA-B58A-E3A5350B5BA2}Img150.jpg
dateAdded
2016-12-12T17:11:00-05:00
contentDetails
      • account:
          • id: 1351
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
      • type: text/html
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=2697256
mediaType
Audiobook
formats
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781524722579
            • type: 8
            • value: 9781524722593
            • type: ISBN
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • identifiers:
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781524722579
            • type: 8
            • value: 9781524722593
            • type: ISBN
      • name: OverDrive Listen

OverDrive MetaData

isPublicDomain
False
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{BCCE7F88-2BBB-48BA-B58A-E3A5350B5BA2}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{BCCE7F88-2BBB-48BA-B58A-E3A5350B5BA2}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/BCC/E7F/88/{BCCE7F88-2BBB-48BA-B58A-E3A5350B5BA2}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/BCC/E7F/88/{BCCE7F88-2BBB-48BA-B58A-E3A5350B5BA2}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
formats
      • fileName: MurderersApe-62778
      • partCount: 11
      • fileSize: 396833520
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781524722579
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781524722593
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 01/24/2017
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2697256-TheMurderer'sApe.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=bcce7f88-2bbb-48ba-b58a-e3a5350b5ba2&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: MurderersApe-62778
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 396784321
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781524722579
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781524722593
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 01/24/2017
      • samples:
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1191-1/2697256-TheMurderer'sApe.mp3
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=bcce7f88-2bbb-48ba-b58a-e3a5350b5ba2&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Wegelius, Jakob
      • bioText:

        JAKOB WEGELIUS is a Swedish writer and illustrator who lives and works in the small village of Mörtfors. In Sweden, he was awarded the August Prize for Best Children's Book and the Nordic Council Children and Young People's Literature Prize for The Murderer's Ape, which is also an International Youth Library White Raven selection. Visit Jakob at jakobwegelius.com.
        About the Translator:
        PETER GRAVES is a translator from the Scandinavian languages and has received many Swedish Academy prizes for his translations.

      • name: Jakob Wegelius
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Farr, Kimberly
      • name: Kimberly Farr
imprint
Listening Library (Audio)
subjects
      • value: Mystery
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDate
2017-01-24T00:00:00-05:00
edition
Unabridged
publishDateText
01/24/2017
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription
"This may be the most charming book I've read all year." —The New York Times
"I don't know when I last read a book with such pure and unalloyed pleasure." —Philip Pullman, internationally bestselling author of The Golden Compass
A captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories.


Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she's an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja's turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking but understanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but the deal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder.

For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name....
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Murderer's Ape
fullDescription
"This may be the most charming book I've read all year." —The New York Times
"I don't know when I last read a book with such pure and unalloyed pleasure." —Philip Pullman, internationally bestselling author of The Golden Compass and The Book of Dust
Winner of the Mildred L. Batchelder award, this is a captivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories.


Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she's an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja's turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking but understanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but the deal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder.

For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name. Powerful forces are working against her, and they will do anything to protect their secrets.
sortTitle
Murderers Ape
crossRefId
2697256
awards
      • source: American Library Association
      • value: Mildred L. Batchelder Award
      • source: Association for Library Service to Children
      • value: Notable Children's Books
popularity
143
publisher
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/bcce7f88-2bbb-48ba-b58a-e3a5350b5ba2/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
bcce7f88-2bbb-48ba-b58a-e3a5350b5ba2
starRating
3.4