Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.

The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere Series, Book 1
(OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Published:
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2010
Format:
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen
Edition:
Unabridged
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 5.1 - AR Pts: 7
Lexile measure:
770L
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.This house is keeping secrets . . .When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn't until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there's something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house's spooky paintings to a world that's strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it's up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
Also in This Series
Formats
OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
Works on MP3 Players, PCs, and Macs. Some mobile devices may require an application to be installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
6/15/2010
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101977446
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.1, 7 Points
Lexile measure:
770
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Jacqueline West. (2010). The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere Series, Book 1. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Jacqueline West. 2010. The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere Series, Book 1. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Jacqueline West, The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere Series, Book 1. Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2010.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Jacqueline West. The Shadows: The Books of Elsewhere Series, Book 1. Unabridged Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group, 2010.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
c8c0a397-a173-3bc1-417b-9786b38896ce
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Jul 27, 2015 16:21:30
Date Updated:
May 23, 2020 22:55:24
Last Metadata Check:
May 24, 2020 08:17:53
Last Metadata Change:
May 04, 2020 20:17:26
Last Availability Check:
May 24, 2020 08:17:53
Last Availability Change:
Apr 22, 2020 06:56:48
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
May 28, 2020 22:43:22

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/B77/68F/64/{B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/B77/68F/64/{B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781101223130
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101977446
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • identifiers:
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781101223130
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101977446
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9780143145714
mediaType
Audiobook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Jacqueline West
title
The Shadows
dateAdded
2015-07-27T11:05:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=337925
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
          • id: 1351
sortTitle
Shadows The Books of Elsewhere Series Book 01
crossRefId
337925
series
The Books of Elsewhere
subtitle
The Books of Elsewhere Series, Book 1
id
b7768f64-4845-44eb-858f-5c06db4f62af
starRating
4

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
MG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: Shadows
      • partCount: 5
      • fileSize: 156286966
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781101223130
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101977446
      • rights:
            • type: PlayOnPC
            • value: 1
            • type: PlayOnPCCount
            • value: -1
            • type: BurnToCD
            • value: 1
            • type: BurnToCDCount
            • value: -1
            • type: PlayOnPM
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferToNonSDMI
            • value: 1
            • type: TransferCount
            • value: -1
            • type: CollaborativePlay
            • value: 0
            • type: PublicPerformance
            • value: 0
            • type: TranscodeToAAC
            • value: 1
      • name: OverDrive MP3 Audiobook
      • id: audiobook-mp3
      • onSaleDate: 06/15/2010
      • samples:
            • source: Chapter 1
            • formatType: audiobook-wma
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-25/1523-1/337925-TheShadows.wma
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1523-1/337925-TheShadows.mp3
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: Shadows
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 156260725
      • identifiers:
            • audience: retailer
            • type: 8
            • value: penguinrandomhouse_audio#9781101223130
            • audience: library
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9781101977446
      • name: OverDrive Listen
      • id: audiobook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/15/2010
      • samples:
            • source: Chapter 1
            • formatType: audiobook-wma
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-25/1523-1/337925-TheShadows.wma
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-mp3
            • url: https://excerpts.cdn.overdrive.com/FormatType-425/1523-1/337925-TheShadows.mp3
            • source: Part 1
            • formatType: audiobook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: West, Jacqueline
      • bioText: A two-time Pushcart nominee for poetry, Jacqueline West lives in Chilton, Wisconsin. This is her first novel.
      • name: Jacqueline West
      • role: Narrator
      • fileAs: Fridell, Lexy
      • name: Lexy Fridell
imprint
Listening Library (Audio)
publishDate
2010-06-15T00:00:00-04:00
edition
Unabridged
ATOS
5.1
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
The Shadows
fullDescription
For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.
This house is keeping secrets . . .
When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn't until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there's something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house's spooky paintings to a world that's strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on her side, it's up to Olive to save the house from the shadows, before the lights go out for good.
popularity
706
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/b7768f64-4845-44eb-858f-5c06db4f62af/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
b7768f64-4845-44eb-858f-5c06db4f62af
starRating
4
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/1191-1/{B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/1191-1/{B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/1191-1/B77/68F/64/{B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/1191-1/B77/68F/64/{B7768F64-4845-44EB-858F-5C06DB4F62AF}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fantasy
      • value: Juvenile Fiction
publishDateText
6/15/2010
otherFormatIdentifiers
      • type: ISBN
      • value: 9780143145714
mediaType
Audiobook
shortDescription
For fans of Pseudonymous Bosch, Coraline, and Septimus Heap comes the first book in the award-winning, New York Times bestselling Books of Elsewhere series.
This house is keeping secrets . . .
When eleven-year-old Olive and her parents move into the crumbling mansion on Linden Street and find it filled with mysterious paintings, Olive knows the place is creepy—but it isn't until she encounters its three talking cats that she realizes there's something darkly magical afoot. Then Olive finds a pair of antique spectacles in a dusty drawer and discovers the most peculiar thing yet: She can travel inside the house's spooky paintings to a world that's strangely quiet . . . and eerily sinister. But in entering Elsewhere, Olive has been ensnared in a mystery darker and more dangerous than she could have imagined, confronting a power that wants to be rid of her by any means necessary. With only the cats and an unusual boy she meets in Elsewhere on...
sortTitle
Shadows The Books of Elsewhere Series Book 01
lexileScore
770
crossRefId
337925
series
The Books of Elsewhere
subtitle
The Books of Elsewhere Series, Book 1
publisher
Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group