Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.

Julia Vanishes: Witch's Child Series, Book 1
(Adobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive Read)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Published:
Random House Children's Books 2016
Format:
Adobe EPUB eBook, OverDrive Read
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 5.3 - AR Pts: 14
Status:
Available from OverDrive
Description
"An exciting novel with magic and serial killers.... One of the hottest books coming out."—Hypable.comFans of Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Kristin Cashore will be captivated by this stunning first book in a must-have new fantasy trilogy about a spy who can vanish at will and who discovers that monsters, mystery, and magic are also lurking—just out of sight.Julia has the unusual ability to be . . . unseen. Not invisible, exactly. Just beyond most people's senses. It's a dangerous trait in a city that has banned all forms of magic and drowns witches in public Cleansings. But it's a useful trait for a thief and a spy. And Julia has learned—crime pays.She's being paid very well indeed to infiltrate the grand house of Mrs. Och and report back on the odd characters who live there and the suspicious dealings that take place behind locked doors. But what Julia discovers shakes her to the core. She certainly never imagined that the traitor in the house would turn out to be . . . her. Murder, thievery, witchcraft, betrayal—Catherine Egan builds a dangerous world where her fierce and flawed heroine finds that even a girl who can vanish can't walk away from her own worst deeds.From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
Formats
Adobe EPUB eBook
Works on all eReaders (except Kindles), desktop computers and mobile devices with with reading apps installed.
Need Help?
If you are having problem transferring a title to your device, please fill out this support form or visit the library so we can help you to use our eBooks and eAudio Books.
More Like This
Other Editions and Formats
More Details
Street Date:
06/07/2016
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780553524864
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.3, 14 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Catherine Egan. (2016). Julia Vanishes: Witch's Child Series, Book 1. Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Catherine Egan. 2016. Julia Vanishes: Witch's Child Series, Book 1. Random House Children's Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Catherine Egan, Julia Vanishes: Witch's Child Series, Book 1. Random House Children's Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Catherine Egan. Julia Vanishes: Witch's Child Series, Book 1. Random House Children's Books, 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Copy Details
LibraryOwnedAvailable
Shared Digital Collection11
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
b34e16e6-43c2-b70e-ee37-27b8fcf5f0ba
Go To Grouped Work
Needs Update?:
No
Date Added:
Apr 04, 2016 17:29:53
Date Updated:
Mar 28, 2020 22:54:31
Last Metadata Check:
Mar 29, 2020 08:50:13
Last Metadata Change:
Feb 15, 2020 18:06:16
Last Availability Check:
Mar 29, 2020 08:50:14
Last Availability Change:
Jan 02, 2020 13:04:49
Last Grouped Work Modification Time:
Mar 30, 2020 22:53:24

OverDrive Product Record

images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0111-1/{2CCA8D94-7F88-46BA-BACE-EE9E980ED6AF}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0111-1/{2CCA8D94-7F88-46BA-BACE-EE9E980ED6AF}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0111-1/2CC/A8D/94/{2CCA8D94-7F88-46BA-BACE-EE9E980ED6AF}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0111-1/2CC/A8D/94/{2CCA8D94-7F88-46BA-BACE-EE9E980ED6AF}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
formats
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780553524864
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 249534
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780553524864
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 249534
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
mediaType
eBook
primaryCreator
    • role: Author
    • name: Catherine Egan
title
Julia Vanishes
dateAdded
2016-04-04T12:53:00-04:00
contentDetails
      • href: https://link.overdrive.com/?websiteID=239&titleID=2517472
      • type: text/html
      • account:
          • name: Nashville Public Library (TN)
          • id: 1351
sortTitle
Julia Vanishes Witchs Child Series Book 01
crossRefId
2517472
series
Witch's Child
subtitle
Witch's Child Series, Book 1
id
2cca8d94-7f88-46ba-bace-ee9e980ed6af
starRating
3.6

OverDrive MetaData

interestLevel
UG
isPublicDomain
False
formats
      • fileName: JuliaVanishes9780553524864
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 8222947
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780553524864
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 249534
      • rights:
            • type: Copying
            • value: 0
            • type: Printing
            • value: 0
            • type: Lending
            • value: 0
            • type: ReadAloud
            • value: 0
            • type: ExpirationRights
            • value: 0
      • name: Adobe EPUB eBook
      • id: ebook-epub-adobe
      • onSaleDate: 06/07/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2cca8d94-7f88-46ba-bace-ee9e980ed6af&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
      • fileName: JuliaVanishes9780553524864
      • partCount: 0
      • fileSize: 3811975
      • identifiers:
            • type: ISBN
            • value: 9780553524864
            • type: PublisherCatalogNumber
            • value: 249534
      • name: OverDrive Read
      • id: ebook-overdrive
      • onSaleDate: 06/07/2016
      • samples:
            • source: From the book
            • formatType: ebook-overdrive
            • url: https://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=2cca8d94-7f88-46ba-bace-ee9e980ed6af&.epub-sample.overdrive.com
keywords
      • value: Witches
      • value: romance
      • value: YA
      • value: teen books
      • value: Thrillers
      • value: Young Adult
      • value: Adventure
      • value: fantasy
      • value: books for teens
      • value: fantasy trilogy
      • value: thriller books
      • value: mystery books
      • value: adventure books
      • value: teen girls
      • value: young adult books
      • value: fantasy books
      • value: books for teen girls
      • value: tween books for girls ages 11-14
      • value: fantasy books for teens
      • value: young adult fantasy books
      • value: books for 12 year old boys
      • value: teen fiction books
      • value: teen books for boys
      • value: books for 12 year old girls
      • value: books for 13 year old boys
      • value: books for 13 year old girls
      • value: books for 14 year old girls
      • value: books for 14 year old boys
creators
      • role: Author
      • fileAs: Egan, Catherine
      • bioText: CATHERINE EGAN grew up in Vancouver, Canada. Since then, she has lived on a volcanic island in Japan (which erupted while she was there and sent her hurtling straight into the arms of her now-husband), in Tokyo, Kyoto, and Beijing, on an oil rig in the middle of Bohai Bay, then in New Jersey, and now in New Haven, Connecticut.
        She is currently occupied with writing books and fighting dragon armies with her warrior children. You can read more about her at catherineegan.com.
      • name: Catherine Egan
imprint
Knopf Books for Young Readers
publishDate
2016-06-07T00:00:00-04:00
ATOS
5.3
isOwnedByCollections
True
title
Julia Vanishes
fullDescription
"An exciting novel with magic and serial killers.... One of the hottest books coming out."—Hypable.com
Fans of Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Kristin Cashore will be captivated by this stunning first book in a must-have new fantasy trilogy about a spy who can vanish at will and who discovers that monsters, mystery, and magic are also lurking—just out of sight.

Julia has the unusual ability to be . . . unseen. Not invisible, exactly. Just beyond most people's senses.
It's a dangerous trait in a city that has banned all forms of magic and drowns witches in public Cleansings. But it's a useful trait for a thief and a spy. And Julia has learned—crime pays.
She's being paid very well indeed to infiltrate the grand house of Mrs. Och and report back on the odd characters who live there and the suspicious dealings that take place behind locked doors.
But what Julia discovers shakes her to the core. She certainly never imagined that the traitor in the house would turn out to be . . . her.
Murder, thievery, witchcraft, betrayal—Catherine Egan builds a dangerous world where her fierce and flawed heroine finds that even a girl who can vanish can't walk away from her own worst deeds.

From the Hardcover edition.
gradeLevels
      • value: Grade 4
popularity
286
links
    • self:
        • href: https://api.overdrive.com/v1/collections/L1BFAIAAA2J/products/2cca8d94-7f88-46ba-bace-ee9e980ed6af/metadata
        • type: application/vnd.overdrive.api+json
id
2cca8d94-7f88-46ba-bace-ee9e980ed6af
starRating
3.6
images
    • cover:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-100/0111-1/{2CCA8D94-7F88-46BA-BACE-EE9E980ED6AF}Img100.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • thumbnail:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-200/0111-1/{2CCA8D94-7F88-46BA-BACE-EE9E980ED6AF}Img200.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover150Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-150/0111-1/2CC/A8D/94/{2CCA8D94-7F88-46BA-BACE-EE9E980ED6AF}Img150.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
    • cover300Wide:
        • href: https://img1.od-cdn.com/ImageType-400/0111-1/2CC/A8D/94/{2CCA8D94-7F88-46BA-BACE-EE9E980ED6AF}Img400.jpg
        • type: image/jpeg
isPublicPerformanceAllowed
False
languages
      • code: en
      • name: English
subjects
      • value: Fantasy
      • value: Mystery
      • value: Young Adult Fiction
      • value: Young Adult Literature
publishDateText
06/07/2016
mediaType
eBook
shortDescription
"An exciting novel with magic and serial killers.... One of the hottest books coming out."—Hypable.com
Fans of Marie Lu, Leigh Bardugo, and Kristin Cashore will be captivated by this stunning first book in a must-have new fantasy trilogy about a spy who can vanish at will and who discovers that monsters, mystery, and magic are also lurking—just out of sight.

Julia has the unusual ability to be . . . unseen. Not invisible, exactly. Just beyond most people's senses.
It's a dangerous trait in a city that has banned all forms of magic and drowns witches in public Cleansings. But it's a useful trait for a thief and a spy. And Julia has learned—crime pays.
She's being paid very well indeed to infiltrate the grand house of Mrs. Och and report back on the odd characters who live there and the suspicious dealings that take place behind locked doors.
But what Julia discovers shakes her to the core. She certainly never imagined that the traitor...
sortTitle
Julia Vanishes Witchs Child Series Book 01
crossRefId
2517472
series
Witch's Child
subtitle
Witch's Child Series, Book 1
publisher
Random House Children's Books