Between shades of gray
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(25)
4 star
 
(6)
3 star
 
(4)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York : Speak, [2014].
Format:
eBook
Physical Desc:
1 online resource (352 pages) : maps
Reading Level:
IL: MG+ - BL: 3.6 - AR Pts: 9
Rating:
3.6.
Status:
MackinVIA
Description
The inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow ! "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both." -- The Washington Post From New York Times and international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea , comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival. A New York Times notable book An international bestseller A Carnegie Medal nominee A William C. Morris Award finalist A Golden Kite Award winner Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive? A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief . Praise for Between Shades of Gray : "Superlative. A hefty emotional punch." -- The New York Times Book Review "Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart." -- The Los Angeles Times "At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction." -- The Wall Street Journal * "Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership." -- Booklist , starred review "A superlative first novel. A hefty emotional punch."-- The New York Times Book Review "A brilliant story of love and survival."--Laurie Halse Anderson, bestselling author of Speak and Wintergirls * "Beautifully written and deeply felt...an important book that deserves the widest possible readership."-- Booklist , Starred Review
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9781101476154, 110147615X
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 3.6, 9 Points
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, R. (2014). Between shades of gray. New York: Speak.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta. 2014. Between Shades of Gray. New York: Speak.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta, Between Shades of Gray. New York: Speak, 2014.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta. Between Shades of Gray. New York: Speak, 2014. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
0b82e38a-9863-4f09-11bb-5c168ba18c59
Go To GroupedWork
Last File Modification TimeDec 21, 2018 11:35:15 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification TimeFeb 18, 2020 11:18:51 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02332nam a2200589 i 4500
001MLM04080581
003MnBnMLM
00520140313162841.9
006m    do  d        
007cr bnu---unuuu
008140313r20142012nyub   ds     000 1 eng d
020 |a 9781101476154
020 |a 110147615X
040 |a MnBnMLM|b eng|c MnBnMLM|e rda|d MnBnMLM
043 |a e-li---|a e-ur---
05004|a PZ7.S47957|b Be 2014
08204|a [Fic]|2 23
092 |a F Sep
1001 |a Sepetys, Ruta,|e author.
24510|a Between shades of gray /|c Ruta Sepetys.
264 1|a New York :|b Speak,|c [2014]
264 4|c Ã2012
300 |a 1 online resource (352 pages) :|b maps
336 |a text|2 rdacontent
337 |a computer|2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource|2 rdacarrier
5103 |a Booklist,|b 2/1/2011
5103 |a Horn Book Guide,|b 10/2011
5103 |a Kirkus Review,|b 1/15/2011
5103 |a Library Media Connection,|b 8/2011
5103 |a Publishers Weekly Starred,|b 1/3/2011
5103 |a School Library Journal Starred,|b 3/2011
520 |a In 1941, fifteen-year-old Lina, her mother, and brother are pulled from their Lithuanian home by Soviet guards and sent to Siberia, where her father is sentenced to death in a prison camp while she fights for her life, vowing to honor her family and the thousands like hers by burying her story in a jar on Lithuanian soil. Based on the author's family, includes a historical note.
5210 |a 3.6.
5212 |a 7-12.
5218 |a HL 490|b Lexile.
5260 |a Accelerated Reader AR-ATOS|b MG+|c 3.6|d 9.0|z 142569.
5260 |a Reading Counts RC|c 3.6|d 16.0|z 52906.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
586 |a ALA-Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2012
588 |a Description based on book record.
590 |a eBook.
590 |a MackinVIA eBook.
650 1|a Labor camps|v Fiction.
650 1|a Survival|v Fiction.
650 1|a Electronic books.
651 1|a Lithuania|x History|y Soviet occupation, 1940-1941|v Fiction.
651 1|a Siberia (Russia)|x History|y 20th century|v Fiction.
651 1|a Soviet Union|x History|y 1925-1953|v Fiction.
655 7|a Historical fiction.|2 gsafd
85640|y Click here to open|u http://NASHVILLE.mackinvia.com/4080581
94910|b MK10162306|c F Sep|h 4T675|l YFIC|m EBOOK|p 29.97