Salt to the sea : a novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(13)
4 star
 
(10)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(2)
1 star
 
(0)
Published:
New York, NY : Philomel Books, [2016].
Format:
eBook
Physical Desc:
1 online resource (391 pages) : maps
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 4.5 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 560L
Rating:
4.5.
Status:
MackinVIA
Description
New York Times Bestseller!  "Masterfully crafted" -- The Wall Street Journal For readers of  Between Shades of Gray  and All the Light We Cannot See , bestselling author Ruta Sepetys  returns to WWII in this epic novel that  shines a light on one of the war's most devastating--yet unknown--tragedies. World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning  All the Light We Cannot See , Erik Larson's  Dead Wake , and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book  Code Name Verity , this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the   Wilhelm Gustloff -- the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in  Between Shades of Gray , Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. Praise for  Salt to the Sea : Featured on NPR's Morning Edition  ♦  "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."-- The Wall Street Journal  ♦   "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."-- Entertainment Weekly  ♦   "Riveting...powerful...haunting."-- The Washington Post  ♦  "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."-- New York Times Book Review  ♦  "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."-- Shelf Awareness   ♦  "Historical fiction at its very, very best."-- The Globe and Mail    ♦    "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."-- Salt Lake Tribune   ♦  * "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."-- Booklist   ♦  * "Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."-- School Library Journal  ♦  A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year Praise for Between Shades of Gray : A New York Times  Notable Book  ♦  A  Wall Street Journal  Best Children's Book  ♦  A  PW ,  SLJ , Booklist , and Kirkus  Best Book  ♦  iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel  ♦  A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist  ♦  A  New York Times  and International Bestseller  ♦  "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."-- The Washington Post  ♦   * "[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."-- Booklist From the Hardcover edition.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780698172623, 0698172620
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.5, 10 Points
Lexile code:
HL: High-LowL
Lexile measure:
560
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, R. (2016). Salt to the sea: a novel. New York, NY: Philomel Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta. 2016. Salt to the Sea: A Novel. New York, NY: Philomel Books.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta, Salt to the Sea: A Novel. New York, NY: Philomel Books, 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Sepetys, Ruta. Salt to the Sea: A Novel. New York, NY: Philomel Books, 2016. Web.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
a9b99c96-b224-b291-9522-66fb9a6fee8a
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Dec 21, 2018 11:35:18 PM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Jul 19, 2019 11:04:49 PM

MARC Record

LEADER01960nam a2200493 i 4500
001MLM04074877
003MnBnMLM
00520160226081424.1
006m    do  d        
007cr bnu---unuuu
008160226s2016    nyub   dsb    000 1 eng d
020 |a 9780698172623
020 |a 0698172620
040 |a MnBnMLM |b eng |e rda |c MnBnMLM |d MnBnMLM
05004 |a PZ7.S47957 |b Sal 2016
08204 |a [Fic] |2 23
092 |a F Sep
1001 |a Sepetys, Ruta, |e author.
24510 |a Salt to the sea : |b a novel / |c Ruta Sepetys.
264 1 |a New York, NY : |b Philomel Books, |c [2016]
300 |a 1 online resource (391 pages) : |b maps
336 |a text |2 rdacontent
337 |a computer |2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource |2 rdacarrier
504 |a Includes bibliographical references.
5103 |a Horn Book Guide, |b 10/2016
5103 |a Publishers Weekly Starred, |b 11/9/2015
5103 |a School Library Journal Starred, |b 12/2015
520 |a As World War II draws to a close, four teens meet aboard the "Wilhelm Gustloff" a cruise ship that will give them passage out of Prussia before the Russians overtake the retreating German troops. The cruise ship, built to hold 1,500 passengers, is laden with over 10,000 desperate people. The four band together and try to survive when a Russian torpedo slams into the ship.
5210 |a 4.5.
5212 |a 7-12.
5218 |a HL 560 |b Lexile.
5260 |a Accelerated Reader AR-ATOS |b UG |c 4.5 |d 10.0 |z 179545.
5260 |a Reading Counts RC |c 5.2 |d 17.0 |z 68133.
538 |a Mode of access: World Wide Web.
588 |a Description based on book record.
590 |a eBook.
590 |a MackinVIA eBook.
650 1 |a Electronic books.
650 1 |a World War, 1939-1945 |v Fiction.
650 1 |a Refugees |v Fiction.
655 7 |a War stories. |2 gsafd
85640 |y Click here to open |u http://NASHVILLE.mackinvia.com/4074877
94910 |b MK10162368 |c F Sep |h 4T675 |l YFIC |m EBOOK |p 56.97