The rising: Department 19 Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Department 19 volume 2.
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 7.5 - AR Pts: 33
Lexile measure:
1010L
Description
"Enthralling...From UV grenades to exploding stake bombs to a giant anti-vampire superweapon, the gadgets add a neat modern twist to the traditional stakings. Fans will devour the pages and thirst for the next volume."--Kirkus

"Will keep teens who are undaunted by its 600 pages on the edge of their seats. Interweaving the stories of Jamie, Dracula, Frankenstein, and a mysterious man wandering the American desert, this book is closer to the elaborate works of Stephen King than many vampire novels marketed to teens."--VOYA

James Bond meets Dracula in this epic saga of one boy and a ton of weapons versus the world's oldest evil--vampires as you've never seen them before! Sixteen-year-old Jamie Carpenter's life was violently upended when he was brought into Department 19, a classified government agency of vampire hunters that was formed to deal with a little problem . . . known as Dracula. But being the new recruit at the Department isn't all weapons training and covert missions. Jamie's own mother has been turned into a vampire--and now Jamie will stop at nothing to wreak revenge on her captors. Even if that means facing down Dracula himself. The Rising is a fast, furious, can't-turn-away thrill ride that will suck readers in just like a video game. This riveting second book in the Department Nineteen series is packed with cutting-edge gadgets, international locales, and daredevil action that tumbles ferociously across the page--perfect for fans of Darren Shan and Anthony Horowitz.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781595146298
9781101575505
Reading Level:
UG
Level 7.5, 33 Points
Lexile measure:
1010L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID fe6f3fc4-90a0-2a84-81db-a972e29ffe16
Grouping Title rising
Grouping Author hill will
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-17 22:44:38PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-17 23:55:32PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 33
accelerated_reader_reading_level 7.5
author Hill, Will, 1979-
author_display Hill, Will
available_at_school Glencliff High
Pearl-Cohn High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Glencliff High - Teen Fiction
Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction
display_description When his own mother is turned into a vampire, Jamie, a new recruit to a classified government agency of vampire hunters, swears vengeance against her captors and prepares for a confrontation with Dracula himself.
format_category_school Books
eBook
format_school Book
eBook
id fe6f3fc4-90a0-2a84-81db-a972e29ffe16
isbn 9781101575505
9781595146298
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:f19a39d7-a384-42f7-9aff-70a65d705af4 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000655966 FF00120400 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction Fantasy F HIL 1 false false On Shelf 6G632
ils:CARL0000655966 B00744826 Glencliff High - Teen Fiction F HIL 1 false false On Shelf 64325
itype_school
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-18T04:55:32.449Z
lexile_score 1010
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F HIL
Fantasy F HIL
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Glencliff High
Pearl-Cohn High
primary_isbn 9781595146298
publishDate 2012
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:f19a39d7-a384-42f7-9aff-70a65d705af4 eBook eBook English Penguin Young Readers Group 2012
ils:CARL0000655966 Book Books English Razorbill, c2012. 576 p. ; 22 m.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f19a39d7-a384-42f7-9aff-70a65d705af4 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000655966 FF00120400 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000655966 B00744826 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
series Department 19
series_with_volume Department 19|2
subject_facet Adventure and adventurers -- Fiction
Revenge -- Fiction
Supernatural -- Fiction
Vampires -- Fiction
title_display The rising
title_full The Rising Department 19 Series, Book 1
The rising / Will Hill
title_short The rising
title_sub Department 19 Series, Book 1
topic_facet Adventure and adventurers
Fantasy
Revenge
Supernatural
Vampires
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature