The other Einstein: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

One of PopSugar's "25 Books You're Going to Curl Up with this Fall."

"The Other Einsteintakes you into Mileva's heart, mind, and study as she tries to forge a place for herself in a scientific world dominated by men."-Bustle

In the tradition of The Paris WifeandMrs. Poe, The Other Einsteinoffers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studyingphysics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781492637257
9780735209237
9780735209268
9781492637264
9781410493699
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID f9e8eb8e-6035-0bc8-24a6-f4700085e598
Grouping Title other einstein
Grouping Author benedict marie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-21 23:17:45PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-21 16:59:11PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Marno, Mozhan,
author Benedict, Marie,
author2-role Marno, Mozhan,narrator.
author_display Benedict, Marie
available_at_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
display_description The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight. Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.
format_category_school Audio Books
Books
eBook
format_school Book
CD audio book
Large Print
eAudiobook
eBook
id f9e8eb8e-6035-0bc8-24a6-f4700085e598
isbn 9780735209237
9780735209268
9781410493699
9781492637257
9781492637264
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:0560a981-4568-405d-8805-2bcedcd76eab -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 8 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
ils:CARL0000493922 A02168090 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction F Ben 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003597 Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false Checked Out GO
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003589 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003605 Inglewood - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf IN
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003613 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003621 Old Hickory - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf OH
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003571 Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003647 Southeast - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf SE
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003563 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false Checked Out BL
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003639 Richland Park - Adult Fiction Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf RP
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051901 Old Hickory - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Benedic 1 false false Checked Out OH
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051893 Old Hickory - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf OH
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051885 Green Hills - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Benedic 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049279577 Main Library - Adult Large Print Fiction Benedic Large Type 1 false false On Shelf MN
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049279569 Green Hills - Adult Large Print Fiction Benedic Large Type 1 false false Checked Out GH
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049226933 Hermitage - Adult Large Print Fiction Benedic Large Type 1 false false On Shelf HM
overdrive:c8059040-e457-418e-911a-8fdd880fc3f8 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 5 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_school
Book
CD audio book
Large Print Book
last_indexed 2019-10-21T21:59:11.407Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F Ben
local_time_since_added_school Six Months
Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
primary_isbn 9781492637257
publishDate 2016
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:0560a981-4568-405d-8805-2bcedcd76eab eAudiobook Audio Books English Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2016
ils:CARL0000493922 Book Books English Sourcebooks Landmark, [2016] 296 pages ; 24 cm.
ils:CARL0000494417 CD audio book Audio Books Unabridged. English Random House Audio, [2016] 7 audio discs (8 1/2 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ils:CARL0000498183 Large Print Books Large print edition. English Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016. 443 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
overdrive:c8059040-e457-418e-911a-8fdd880fc3f8 eBook eBook English Sourcebooks 2016
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0560a981-4568-405d-8805-2bcedcd76eab -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 A02168090 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003597 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003589 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003605 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003613 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003621 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003571 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003647 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003563 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003639 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051901 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051893 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051885 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049279577 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049279569 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049226933 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:c8059040-e457-418e-911a-8fdd880fc3f8 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Thorndike Press large print core
series_with_volume Thorndike Press large print core|
subject_facet Audiobooks
Biographical fiction
Einstein, Albert, -- 1879-1955 -- Marriage -- Fiction
Einstein-Mari?, Mileva, -- 1875-1948 -- Fiction
Einstein-Marić, Mileva, -- 1875-1948 -- Fiction
Historical fiction
Large type books
Women physicists -- Germany -- Fiction
title_display The other Einstein : a novel
title_full The Other Einstein
The Other Einstein A Novel
The other Einstein : a novel / Marie Benedict
The other Einstein [text (large print)] / Marie Benedict
title_short The other Einstein :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Einstein, Albert
Einstein-Mari?, Mileva
Einstein-Marić, Mileva
Fiction
Historical Fiction
Large type books
Literature
Marriage
Women physicists