The other Einstein: a novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(2)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

One of PopSugar's "25 Books You're Going to Curl Up with this Fall."

"The Other Einsteintakes you into Mileva's heart, mind, and study as she tries to forge a place for herself in a scientific world dominated by men."-Bustle

In the tradition of The Paris WifeandMrs. Poe, The Other Einsteinoffers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight.

Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studyingphysics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781492637257
9780735209237
9780735209268
9781492637264
9781410493699
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID f9e8eb8e-6035-0bc8-24a6-f4700085e598
Grouping Title other einstein
Grouping Author benedict marie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-06-15 23:02:38PM
Last Indexed 2019-06-15 15:06:14PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Marno, Mozhan,
author Benedict, Marie,
author2-role Marno, Mozhan,narrator.
author_display Benedict, Marie
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
display_description The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight. Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, CD audio book, Large Print, eAudiobook, eBook
id f9e8eb8e-6035-0bc8-24a6-f4700085e598
isbn 9780735209237, 9780735209268, 9781410493699, 9781492637257, 9781492637264
item_details ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003563|Bellevue - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003571|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003589|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003597|Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003605|Inglewood - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||IN||, ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003613|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||On Hold Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003621|Old Hickory - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||OH||, ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003639|Richland Park - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000493922|35192049003647|Southeast - Adult Fiction|Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000493922|A02168090|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Ben|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||69450||, ils:CARL0000494417|35192049051885|Green Hills - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000494417|35192049051893|Old Hickory - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000494417|35192049051901|Old Hickory - Adult Audiobook|CD AUDIO Fiction Benedic|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||OH||, ils:CARL0000498183|35192049226933|Hermitage - Adult Large Print|Fiction Benedic Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000498183|35192049279569|Green Hills - Adult Large Print|Fiction Benedic Large Type|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000498183|35192049279577|Main Library - Adult Large Print|Fiction Benedic Large Type|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, overdrive:0560a981-4568-405d-8805-2bcedcd76eab|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|8|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:c8059040-e457-418e-911a-8fdd880fc3f8|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|5|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book, CD audio book, Large Print Book
last_indexed 2019-06-15T20:06:14.495Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F Ben
local_time_since_added_school 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
primary_isbn 9781492637257
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000493922|Book|Books||English|Sourcebooks Landmark,|[2016]|296 pages ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000494417|CD audio book|Audio Books|Unabridged.|English|Random House Audio,|[2016]|7 audio discs (8 1/2 hr.) : CD audio, digital ; 4 3/4 in., ils:CARL0000498183|Large Print|Books|Large print edition.|English|Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning,|2016.|443 pages (large print) ; 23 cm., overdrive:0560a981-4568-405d-8805-2bcedcd76eab|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2016|, overdrive:c8059040-e457-418e-911a-8fdd880fc3f8|eBook|eBook||English|Sourcebooks|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:0560a981-4568-405d-8805-2bcedcd76eab -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003597 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003621 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003639 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 A02168090 Checked Out Checked Out false false false false false true
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003613 Checked Out On Hold Shelf false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003589 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003605 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003571 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003647 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000493922 35192049003563 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051885 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051901 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000494417 35192049051893 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049279569 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049279577 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000498183 35192049226933 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:c8059040-e457-418e-911a-8fdd880fc3f8 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Thorndike Press large print core
series_with_volume Thorndike Press large print core|
subject_facet Audiobooks, Biographical fiction, Einstein, Albert, -- 1879-1955 -- Marriage -- Fiction, Einstein-Marić, Mileva, -- 1875-1948 -- Fiction, Historical fiction, Large type books, Women physicists -- Germany -- Fiction
title_display The other Einstein : a novel
title_full The Other Einstein, The Other Einstein A Novel, The other Einstein : a novel / Marie Benedict, The other Einstein [text (large print)] / Marie Benedict
title_short The other Einstein :
title_sub a novel
topic_facet Einstein, Albert, Einstein-Marić, Mileva, Fiction, Historical Fiction, Large type books, Literature, Marriage, Women physicists