The paradox of vertical flight

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,
Pub. Date:
2013.
Edition:
First edition.
Language:
English
Description

Hilarious, deeply moving, mind-bending, original, romantic, and surprising, this debut teen novel by Emil Ostrovski will appeal to fans of John Green, Chris Crutcher, and Andrew Smith. Gary Shteyngart, author of the New York Times bestseller Super Sad True Love Story, says: "Do yourself a favor and get inside a car with Emil Ostrovski immediately! The Paradox of Vertical Flight is an amazing road trip. You're in for one heck of a ride." An Indie Next Pick!

On the morning of his eighteenth birthday, Jack Polovsky kidnaps his own baby, names him Socrates, stocks up on baby supplies at Walmart, and hits the road with his best friend, Tommy, and with the baby's mother, Jess. As they head to Grandma's house (eluding the police at every turn), Jack tells baby Socrates the Greek myths--because all stories spring from those stories, really. Even this one. By turns funny, heart wrenching, and wholly original, this debut novel by Emil Ostrovski explores the nature of family, love, friendship, fatherhood, and myth.

"Shares a sense of humor and philosophical bent with such YA authors as John Green and Chris Crutcher. But the story and likable characters are Ostrovsky's own, a delightful mix of quirky, intelligent, naive, well-intentioned, and just plain dumb teens. A delightful success."--ALA Booklist

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062238528
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID f7cbb2fb-6f16-8aa4-b0be-7e45b7fb3758
Grouping Title paradox of vertical flight
Grouping Author ostrovski emil
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-01 23:10:40PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-20 02:12:55AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Ostrovski, Emil.
author_display Ostrovski, Emil
available_at_school Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction
display_description When, on his eighteenth birthday, Jack Polovsky's almost-suicide is interrupted by his ex-girlfriend Jess's call saying she is in labor, he impulsively snatches the baby and hits the road with his best friend Tommy and Jess to introduce baby Socrates to Jack's aging grandmother.
format_category_school Books
format_school Book
id f7cbb2fb-6f16-8aa4-b0be-7e45b7fb3758
isbn 9780062238528
item_details ils:CARL0000421325|B00530952|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F OST|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000421325|B00540666|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F OST|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000421325|FF00088649|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F OST|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||61182||
itype_school Book
last_indexed 2018-11-20T08:12:55.263Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F OST
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Cane Ridge High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet
primary_isbn 9780062238528
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000421325|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|2013.|256 pages ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000421325 B00530952 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000421325 FF00088649 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000421325 B00540666 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Automobile travel -- Fiction, Fathers and sons -- Fiction, Infants -- Fiction, Parental kidnapping -- Fiction, Philosophers -- Fiction
title_display The paradox of vertical flight
title_full The paradox of vertical flight / Emil Ostrovski
title_short The paradox of vertical flight
topic_facet Automobile travel, Fathers and sons, Infants, Parental kidnapping, Philosophers