Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

Whale talk

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
1000L
Description

"A truly exceptional book."--Washington Post

There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher's controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school.

"Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide."--Washington Post

T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he's had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp.

"Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"--Publishers Weekly

An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780786277872
9780061968532
9780060293697
9780062687753
9780688180195
9780739379813
9780061771316
Lexile measure:
1000L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID efa0439f-a243-e76c-b4aa-9478fda9c9db
Full title whale talk
Author crutcher chris
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-21 23:05:26PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-21 23:34:28PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Chris Crutcher
author_display Crutcher, Chris
available_at_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, Hillsboro High, Litton Middle, Madison Middle, McGavock High, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High, Stratford STEM High, Wright Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction, Litton Middle - Teen Fiction, Madison Middle - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction, Stratford High - Teen Fiction, Wright Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description Intellectually and athletically gifted, TJ, a multiracial, adopted teenager, shuns organized sports and the gung-ho athletes at his high school until he agrees to form a swimming team and recruits some of the school's less popular students. Features a new afterword by Chris Crutcher.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id efa0439f-a243-e76c-b4aa-9478fda9c9db
isbn 9780060293697, 9780061771316, 9780061968532, 9780062687753, 9780688180195, 9780739379813, 9780786277872
item_details ils:CARL0000163796|35192024271888|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Crutche|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000163796|A00586718|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000163796|A00857506|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00066658|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|SPORTS F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00073493|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00073494|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00074338|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00274752|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|SPORTS F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00414362|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000163796|P00019433|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000163796|P00550516|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, ils:CARL0000163796|V00014426|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|SPRT F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000573109|V00011739|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F CRU|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000724494|QQ00316092|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F Cru|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||6H705||, overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Checked Out||||, overdrive:f78c0b9a-6133-42f9-b37d-bba8fcd01a68|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-22T04:34:28.657Z
lexile_score 1000
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F CRU, F Cru, SPORTS F CRU, SPRT F CRU
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, Hillsboro High, Litton Middle, Madison Middle, McGavock High, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High, Stratford STEM High, Wright Middle
primary_isbn 9780786277872
publishDate 2001, 2002, 2005, 2009, 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000163796|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Greenwillow Books,|2001.|220 p. ; 24 cm., ils:CARL0000573109|Book|Books||English|Thorndike Press,|2005.|317 p. ; 23 cm., ils:CARL0000724494|Book|Books|Revised paperback edition.|English|Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins,|2018.|341 pages ; 21 cm, overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2009|, overdrive:f78c0b9a-6133-42f9-b37d-bba8fcd01a68|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2002|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000163796|35192024271888|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000163796|A00586718|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|A00857506|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00066658|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00073493|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00073494|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00074338|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00274752|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|B00414362|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|P00019433|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|P00550516|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000163796|V00014426|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000573109|V00011739|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000724494|QQ00316092|Currently Unavailable|In Processing|false|false|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3|-1|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:f78c0b9a-6133-42f9-b37d-bba8fcd01a68|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Adoption -- Fiction, Bildungsromans, Fiction, High schools -- Fiction, High schools -- Juvenile fiction, Large type books, Racially mixed people -- Fiction, Schools -- Fiction, Sports -- Fiction, Swimming -- Fiction, Swimming -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Whale talk
title_full Whale Talk, Whale talk / Chris Crutcher, Whale talk / by Chris Crutcher
title_short Whale talk
title_sub
topic_facet Adoption, High schools, Large type books, Racially mixed people, Schools, Sports, Swimming, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature