Holds on physical items have been suspended; while the library is closed we encourage you to check out our electronic resources.

Whale talk

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
1000L
Description

"A truly exceptional book."--Washington Post

There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher's controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school.

"Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide."--Washington Post

T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he's had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp.

"Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"--Publishers Weekly

An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061771316
9780739379813
9780062687753
9780060293697
9780061968532
9780688180195
Lexile measure:
1000L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID efa0439f-a243-e76c-b4aa-9478fda9c9db
Grouping Title whale talk
Grouping Author crutcher chris
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2020-07-11 23:05:15PM
Last Indexed 2020-07-12 00:09:09AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Crutcher, Chris,
author_display Crutcher, Chris
available_at_school Antioch High
Cane Ridge High
Hillsboro High
Hume-Fogg Magnet High
Litton Middle
Overton High
Pearl-Cohn High
Stratford STEM High
Wright Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction
Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction
Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction
Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
Litton Middle - Teen Fiction
Overton High - Teen Fiction
Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction
Stratford High - Teen Fiction
Wright Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description Intellectually and athletically gifted, TJ, a multiracial, adopted teenager, shuns organized sports and the gung-ho athletes at his high school until he agrees to form a swimming team and recruits some of the school's less popular students. Features a new afterword by Chris Crutcher.
format_category_school Audio Books
Books
eBook
format_school Book
eAudiobook
eBook
id efa0439f-a243-e76c-b4aa-9478fda9c9db
isbn 9780060293697
9780061771316
9780061968532
9780062687753
9780688180195
9780739379813
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000724494 QQ00316092 Stratford High - Teen Fiction F Cru 1 false false In Processing 6H705
overdrive:f78c0b9a-6133-42f9-b37d-bba8fcd01a68 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000163796 B00074338 Antioch High - Teen Fiction F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 60110
ils:CARL0000163796 B00414362 Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 61182
ils:CARL0000163796 B00070402 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000163796 V00014426 Wright Middle - Teen Fiction SPRT F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 4X805
ils:CARL0000163796 B00066658 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction SPORTS F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 6G632
ils:CARL0000163796 P00019433 Litton Middle - Teen Fiction F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 4I510
ils:CARL0000163796 P00550516 Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 66435
ils:CARL0000163796 A00857506 Stratford High - Teen Fiction F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 6H705
ils:CARL0000163796 A00586718 Overton High - Teen Fiction F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
ils:CARL0000163796 B00274752 Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction SPORTS F CRU 1 false false On Shelf 6G632
itype_school
Book
last_indexed 2020-07-12T05:09:09.328Z
lexile_score 1000
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F CRU
F Cru
SPORTS F CRU
SPRT F CRU
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High
Cane Ridge High
Hillsboro High
Hume-Fogg Magnet High
Litton Middle
Overton High
Pearl-Cohn High
Stratford STEM High
Wright Middle
primary_isbn 9780061771316
publishDate 2001
2002
2009
2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000724494 Book Books Revised paperback edition. English Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins, 2018. 341 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:f78c0b9a-6133-42f9-b37d-bba8fcd01a68 eAudiobook Audio Books English Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2002
overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3 eBook eBook English HarperCollins 2009
ils:CARL0000163796 Book Books 1st ed. English Greenwillow Books, 2001. 220 p. ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000724494 QQ00316092 On Order In Processing false false false false false true
overdrive:f78c0b9a-6133-42f9-b37d-bba8fcd01a68 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
overdrive:f0eb0cca-27d3-4a1f-b41b-db23d6c995b3 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000163796 B00074338 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 B00414362 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 B00070402 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 V00014426 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 B00066658 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 P00019433 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 P00550516 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 A00857506 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 A00586718 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000163796 B00274752 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
subject_facet Adoption -- Fiction
Bildungsromans
Fiction
High schools -- Fiction
High schools -- Juvenile fiction
Racially mixed people -- Fiction
Schools -- Fiction
Sports -- Fiction
Swimming -- Fiction
Swimming -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Whale talk
title_full Whale Talk
Whale talk / Chris Crutcher
Whale talk / by Chris Crutcher
title_short Whale talk
title_sub
topic_facet Adoption
High schools
Racially mixed people
Schools
Sports
Swimming
Young Adult Fiction
Young Adult Literature