Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

Finding the worm: Twerp Series, Book 2

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 4.4 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
740L
Description
The New York Post praised Twerp as "reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower ." Finding the Worm is a sequel that stands on its own--an unforgettable coming-of-age story about life, loss, and friendship. Perfect for fans of The Sandlot and readers who love books by Jennifer L. Holm, Andrew Clements, and Rebecca Stead. It's not a test unless you can fail. . . . Trouble always seems to find thirteen-year-old Julian Twerski. First it was a bullying incident, and now he's been accused of vandalizing a painting. The principal doesn't want to suspend him again, so instead, he asks Julian to write a 200-word essay on good citizenship. Julian writes 200 no 's instead, and so begins an epic struggle between Julian and his principal. Being falsely accused is bad enough, but outside of school, Julian's dealing with even bigger issues. His friend Quentin has been really sick. How can life be fair when the nicest guy in your group has cancer? Julian's faith and friendships are put to the test . . . and the stakes have never been higher. Praise for Twerp : A Bank Street Best Book of the Year A Junior Library Guild Selection A Summer Top Ten Kids' Indie Next List Pick "Reminiscent of The Perks of Being a Wallflower . . . . You don't have to be a twerp to read this book." -- New York Post "A vivid, absorbing story about one boy's misadventure, heartache, and hope for himself." -- Rebecca Stead , Newbery Medal-winning author of When You Reach Me "[Fans of] Jeff Kinney's Diary of a Wimpy Kid who have matured beyond the scope and gravity of that series will find a kindred spirit in Julian." -- School Library Journal "Reminiscent of movies like The Sandlot . . . . Well-written and funny." -- The Advocate "Alternately poignant and comical. . . . A thought-provoking exploration of bullying, personal integrity and self-acceptance." -- Kirkus Reviews "Funny, poignant, and an effective commentary on bullying and its consequences." -- The Horn Book Magazine
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780385391092
9780385391085
9780385391108
Reading Level:
MG
Level 4.4, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
740L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e9bbd384-1aa6-0849-4346-de8984e9b2db
Full title finding the worm
Author goldblatt mark
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-23 23:18:59PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-23 13:07:32PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.4
auth_author2 Goldblatt, Mark, 1957-
author Goldblatt, Mark, 1957-
author2-role Goldblatt, Mark,1957-Twerp
author_display Goldblatt, Mark
available_at_school Antioch Middle, Bellevue Middle, Croft Middle, Donelson Middle, Dupont Hadley Middle, Dupont Tyler Middle, East Nashville Magnet Middle, Goodlettsville Middle, Gra-Mar Middle, HG Hill Middle, Head Magnet Middle, IT Creswell Arts Middle, JFK Middle, Jere Baxter Middle, Joelton Middle, John Early Middle, Madison Middle, Margaret Allen Middle, Marshall Middle, Meigs Magnet Middle, Oliver Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction, Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction, Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction, Croft Middle - Teen Fiction, Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction, Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction, Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction, Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction, Gra-Mar Middle - Teen Fiction, Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction, Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction, J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction, Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction, Joelton Middle - Teen Fiction, John Early Middle - Teen Fiction, Madison Middle - Teen Fiction, Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction, Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction, Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction, Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description In 1970 Queens, New York, Julian Twerski, now in seventh grade, struggles to write an essay as punishment for an act he did not commit, worries about Beverly, the girl he likes, prepares for his bar mitzvah, and tries to cope with the serious illness of one of his closest friends, Quentin.
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id e9bbd384-1aa6-0849-4346-de8984e9b2db
isbn 9780385391085, 9780385391092, 9780385391108
item_details ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094341|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Goldbla|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094358|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Goldbla|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094366|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Goldbla|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094374|Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Goldbla|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094390|Inglewood - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Goldbla|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00741986|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00742040|J F Kennedy Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4H498||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00742094|Jere Baxter Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||43120||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00742254|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00742335|East Nashville Magnet Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4A296||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743096|Dupont Tyler Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||48275||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743143|Croft Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||45238||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743194|Oliver Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4S612||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743248|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743483|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743531|Gra-Mar Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4C365||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743591|Creswell Arts Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4W783||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743625|Meigs Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4N555||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743832|Goodlettsville Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4B355||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743891|Antioch Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||41111||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743950|Dupont Hadley Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||47270||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00744894|Marshall Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4M551||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00745016|Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||40100||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00746066|Joelton Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4G470||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00746191|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000456506|FF00095546|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F GOL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, overdrive:a9edeaaa-7022-4d6d-b5fc-8ff27bb0a316|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-23T18:07:32.12Z
lexile_score 740
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F GOL
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch Middle, Bellevue Middle, Croft Middle, Donelson Middle, Dupont Hadley Middle, Dupont Tyler Middle, East Nashville Magnet Middle, Goodlettsville Middle, Gra-Mar Middle, HG Hill Middle, Head Magnet Middle, IT Creswell Arts Middle, JFK Middle, Jere Baxter Middle, Joelton Middle, John Early Middle, Madison Middle, Margaret Allen Middle, Marshall Middle, Meigs Magnet Middle, Oliver Middle
primary_isbn 9780385391092
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000456506|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Random House,|[2015]|345 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:a9edeaaa-7022-4d6d-b5fc-8ff27bb0a316|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094341|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094358|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094366|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094374|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000456506|35192047094390|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00741986|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00742040|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00742094|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00742254|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00742335|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743096|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743143|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743194|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743248|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743483|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743531|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743591|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743625|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743832|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743891|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00743950|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00744894|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00745016|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00746066|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|B00746191|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000456506|FF00095546|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:a9edeaaa-7022-4d6d-b5fc-8ff27bb0a316|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Julian Twerski books
series_with_volume Julian Twerski books|2
subject_facet Bar mitzvah -- Juvenile fiction, Conduct of life -- Juvenile fiction, Friendship -- Juvenile fiction, Jews -- United States -- Juvenile fiction, Queens (New York, N.Y.) -- History -- 20th century -- Juvenile fiction, Schools -- Juvenile fiction, Sick -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Finding the worm
title_full Finding the Worm Twerp Series, Book 2, Finding the worm / Mark Goldblatt
title_short Finding the worm
title_sub Twerp Series, Book 2
topic_facet Bar mitzvah, Conduct of life, Friendship, History, Jews, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Schools, Sick