Even the darkest stars

Book Cover
Average Rating
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 5.3 - AR Pts: 16
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 740L
Description

The first in a sweeping and action-packed debut fantasy duology loosely inspired by the early climbers of Mt. Everest--perfect for fans of Cindy Pon and Alison Goodman.

Kamzin has always dreamed of becoming one of the Emperor's royal explorers, the elite climbers tasked with mapping the wintry, mountainous Empire and spying on its enemies. She knows she could be the best in the world, if only someone would give her a chance.

But everything changes when the mysterious and eccentric River Shara, the greatest explorer ever known, arrives in her village and demands to hire Kamzin--not her older sister Lusha, as everyone had expected--for his next expedition. This is Kamzin's chance to prove herself--even though River's mission to retrieve a rare talisman for the emperor means climbing Raksha, the tallest and deadliest mountain in the Aryas. Then Lusha sets off on her own mission to Raksha with a rival explorer who is determined to best River, and Kamzin must decide what's most important to her: protecting her sister from the countless perils of the climb or beating her to the summit.

The challenges of climbing Raksha are unlike anything Kamzin expected--or prepared for--with avalanches, ice chasms, ghosts, and even worse at every turn. And as dark secrets are revealed, Kamzin must unravel the truth of their mission and of her companions--while surviving the deadliest climb she has ever faced.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062463388
9780062463401
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.3, 16 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 740L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e8e29757-6bab-3f13-4f44-32e6380984e4
Grouping Title even the darkest stars
Grouping Author fawcett heather
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-12 23:00:03PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-13 02:46:30AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 16
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.3
author Fawcett, Heather (Heather M.),
author_display Fawcett, Heather
available_at_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Harris Hillman School, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High, Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction, Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description Kamzin has always dreamed of becoming one of the Emperor's royal explorers, the elite climbers tasked with mapping the wintry, mountainous Empire and spying on its enemies. She knows she could be the best in the world, if only someone would give her a chance.
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id e8e29757-6bab-3f13-4f44-32e6380984e4
isbn 9780062463388, 9780062463401
item_details ils:CARL0000687325|35192050036510|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Fawcett|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000687325|35192050036528|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Fawcett|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000687325|35192050036536|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Fawcett|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00279832|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|FAN F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00279972|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|Fantasy F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00280111|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00280249|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00280386|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00280523|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00280660|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00280796|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00280932|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00281068|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00281203|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00281337|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00281469|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00281599|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000687325|QQ00295587|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, ils:CARL0000687325|TT00011973|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Faw|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, overdrive:9109c17c-3b5a-4e20-9c35-258de803404b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-13T08:46:30.991Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 740
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F Faw, FAN F Faw, Fantasy F Faw
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Harris Hillman School, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High, Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9780062463388
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000687325|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Balzer + Bray,|©2017.|427 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:9109c17c-3b5a-4e20-9c35-258de803404b|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00281068 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00280111 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 35192050036528 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00280660 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 35192050036510 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00281599 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00279972 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00280796 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00281469 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00280249 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00281337 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00280523 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00295587 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00279832 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00280932 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00281203 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 35192050036536 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000687325 TT00011973 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000687325 QQ00280386 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:9109c17c-3b5a-4e20-9c35-258de803404b -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Even the darkest stars
series_with_volume Even the darkest stars|1
subject_facet Fantasy fiction, Imaginary places -- Fiction, Magic -- Fiction, Mountaineering -- Fiction
title_display Even the darkest stars
title_full Even the Darkest Stars, Even the darkest stars / Heather Fawcett
title_short Even the darkest stars
title_sub
topic_facet Fantasy, Imaginary places, Magic, Mountaineering, Mythology, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature