The happiness project: or, why I spent a year trying to sing in the morning, clean my closets, fight right, read Aristotle, and generally have more fun

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
1050L
Description

"This book made me happy in the first five pages." --AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible

Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is "a cross between the Dalai Lama's The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert's Eat, Pray, Love." (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person's year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062888747
9780061996924
9780061962066
Lexile measure:
1050L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e3ee0179-3f9e-be4c-cca2-ac3d9fadd580
Grouping Title happiness project or why i spent a year trying to sing in the morning clean my closets fight right r
Grouping Author rubin gretchen
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-18 23:28:41PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-18 16:36:01PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Rubin, Gretchen,
author_display Rubin, Gretchen
display_description Gretchen Rubin had an epiphany one rainy afternoon in the unlikeliest of places: a city bus. "The days are long, but the years are short," she realized. "Time is passing, and I'm not focusing enough on the things that really matter." In that moment, she decided to dedicate a year to her happiness project. In this lively and compelling account --- now updated with new material by the author --- Rubin chronicles her adventures during the twelve months she spent test-driving the wisdom of the ages, current scientific research, and lessons from popular culture about how to be happier. Among other things, she found that novelty and challenge are powerful sources of happiness; that money can help buy happiness, when spent wisely; that outer order contributes to inner calm; and that the very smallest of changes can make the biggest difference.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id e3ee0179-3f9e-be4c-cca2-ac3d9fadd580
isbn 9780061962066, 9780061996924, 9780062888747
item_details ils:CARL0000740924|35192051060030|Bellevue - Adult Non-Fiction|158.1 R8962h 2018|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BL||, ils:CARL0000740924|35192051060048|Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction|158.1 R8962h 2018|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000740924|35192051060055|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|158.1 R8962h 2018|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000740924|35192051060063|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|158.1 R8962h 2018|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000740924|35192051060071|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|158.1 R8962h 2018|||1|false|false|||||Not on Shelf||MN||, overdrive:8f8330d1-a5ab-4cd0-bd34-05f7e0adf111|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|5|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||, overdrive:b602e8c3-6387-4677-9cf5-2d1c6227ff38|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-18T22:36:01.764Z
lexile_score 1050
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
primary_isbn 9780062888747
publishDate 2009, 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000740924|Book|Books|Tenth Anniversary Edition-- Updated with New Material.|English|Harpercollins,|2018|xviii, 345 pages ; 21 cm, overdrive:8f8330d1-a5ab-4cd0-bd34-05f7e0adf111|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2009|, overdrive:b602e8c3-6387-4677-9cf5-2d1c6227ff38|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2009|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:b602e8c3-6387-4677-9cf5-2d1c6227ff38 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:8f8330d1-a5ab-4cd0-bd34-05f7e0adf111 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000740924 35192051060048 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740924 35192051060063 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000740924 35192051060055 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740924 35192051060030 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740924 35192051060071 Currently Unavailable Not on Shelf false false true false false false
subject_facet Happiness, Self-actualization (Psychology)
title_display The happiness project : or, why I spent a year trying to sing in the morning, clean my closets, fight right, read Aristotle, and generally have more fun
title_full The Happiness Project Or, Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun, The happiness project : or, why I spent a year trying to sing in the morning, clean my closets, fight right, read Aristotle, and generally have more fun / Gretchen Rubin
title_short The happiness project :
title_sub or, why I spent a year trying to sing in the morning, clean my closets, fight right, read Aristotle, and generally have more fun
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography, Happiness, Nonfiction, Self-actualization (Psychology), Sociology