Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

The burning sky: The Elemental Trilogy, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(3)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 6.1 - AR Pts: 16
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 770L
Description

Magic, romance, and intrigue combine in this extraordinary novel--the first in the Elemental Trilogy--for fans of Cinda Williams Chima and Kristin Cashore. Publishers Weekly called it "a wonderfully satisfying magical saga" in a starred review, and Kirkus Reviews said it "bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success."

Iolanthe Seabourne is the greatest elemental mage of her generation--or so she's been told. The one prophesied for years to be the savior of the Realm. It is her duty and destiny to face and defeat the Bane, the most powerful tyrant and mage the world has ever known. This would be a suicide task for anyone, let alone a reluctant sixteen-year-old girl with no training.

Guided by his mother's visions and committed to avenging his family, Prince Titus has sworn to protect Iolanthe even as he prepares her for their battle with the Bane. But he makes the terrifying mistake of falling in love with the girl who should have been only a means to an end. Now, with the servants of the tyrant closing in, Titus must choose between his mission--and her life.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062207296
9780062207319
9780062379566
9780062295385
Reading Level:
UG
Level 6.1, 16 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 770L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID e1d4ea1b-8308-e4de-12f2-05434f99d32c
Full title burning sky
Author thomas sherry
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-24 23:14:15PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-24 23:37:53PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 16
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.1
author Thomas, Sherry (Sherry M.).
author_display Thomas, Sherry
available_at_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Hillwood High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Two Rivers Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description "A young elemental mage named Iaolanthe Seabourne discovers her shocking power and destiny when she is thrown together with a deposed prince to lead a rebellion against a tyrant"--
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id e1d4ea1b-8308-e4de-12f2-05434f99d32c
isbn 9780062207296, 9780062207319, 9780062295385, 9780062379566
item_details ils:CARL0000419591|35192042892566|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Thomas|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000419591|35192044586992|Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Thomas|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000419591|35192044587008|Goodlettsville - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Thomas|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000419591|35192044587016|Richland Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Thomas|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000419591|35192044587024|Inglewood - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Thomas|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000419591|A02091352|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F THO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000419591|B00530939|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F THO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000419591|B00540626|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F THO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000419591|B00741043|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F THO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000419591|FF00066160|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F THO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000419591|FF00106009|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|FAN F THO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000419591|QQ00164221|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F THO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000419591|V00071312|Two Rivers Middle - Teen Fiction|F THO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4U730||, overdrive:047d5fc4-39cc-4a99-b44a-5609f9e2b79b|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||, overdrive:4f7efbda-b3f8-4666-a463-3ef68b8e3131|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||, overdrive:b59919cd-34f5-49dc-8d36-c7060941c49d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-25T04:37:53.728Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 770
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F THO, FAN F THO
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Hillwood High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Two Rivers Middle
primary_isbn 9780062207296
publishDate 2013, 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000419591|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2013]|449 pages, 19 unumbered pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:047d5fc4-39cc-4a99-b44a-5609f9e2b79b|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2014|, overdrive:4f7efbda-b3f8-4666-a463-3ef68b8e3131|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2013|, overdrive:b59919cd-34f5-49dc-8d36-c7060941c49d|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000419591|35192042892566|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000419591|35192044586992|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000419591|35192044587008|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000419591|35192044587016|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000419591|35192044587024|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000419591|A02091352|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000419591|B00530939|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000419591|B00540626|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000419591|B00741043|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000419591|FF00066160|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000419591|FF00106009|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000419591|QQ00164221|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000419591|V00071312|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:047d5fc4-39cc-4a99-b44a-5609f9e2b79b|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:4f7efbda-b3f8-4666-a463-3ef68b8e3131|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:b59919cd-34f5-49dc-8d36-c7060941c49d|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
series Elemental trilogy
series_with_volume Elemental trilogy|1
subject_facet Fantasy fiction, Chinese, Insurgency -- Fiction, Kings, queens, rulers, etc. -- Fiction, Princes -- Fiction, Wizards -- Fiction
title_display The burning sky
title_full The Burning Sky The Elemental Trilogy, Book 1, The burning sky / Sherry Thomas
title_short The burning sky
title_sub The Elemental Trilogy, Book 1
topic_facet Fantasy, Fantasy fiction, Chinese, Insurgency, Kings, queens, rulers, etc, Princes, Romance, Wizards, Young Adult Fiction