Don't fail me now

Book Cover
Average Rating
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 5.7 - AR Pts: 12
Lexile measure:
950L
Description
From the author of Like No Other , the novel Entertainment Weekly calls "One of the most poignant and star-crossed love stories since The Fault in Our Stars ": What if the last hope to save your family is the person who broke it up to begin with?

"Fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Sharon Flake will find much to love in Don't Fail Me Now ]." -- School Library Journal Michelle and her little siblings Cass and Denny are African-American and living on the poverty line in urban Baltimore, struggling to keep it together with their mom in jail and only Michelle's part-time job at the Taco Bell to sustain them.

Leah and her stepbrother Tim are white and middle class from suburban Maryland, with few worries beyond winning lacrosse games and getting college applications in on time.

Michelle and Leah only have one thing in common Buck Devereaux, the biological father who abandoned them when they were little.

After news trickles back to them that Buck is dying, they make the uneasy decision to drive across country to his hospice in California. Leah hopes for closure; Michelle just wants to give him a piece of her mind.

Five people in a failing, old station wagon, living off free samples at food courts across America, and the most pressing question on Michelle's mind is: Who will break down first--herself or the car? All the signs tell her they won't make it. But Michelle has heard that her whole life, and it's never stopped her before....

Una LaMarche triumphs once again with this rare and compassionate look at how racial and social privilege affects one family in crisis in both subtle and astonishing ways.

From the Hardcover edition.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781595148179
9781101926000
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.7, 12 Points
Lexile measure:
950L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID dde90686-a6e6-4a39-3112-c54e3e2c8c69
Grouping Title don t fail me now
Grouping Author lamarche una
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-23 23:04:45PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-24 00:14:59AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 12
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.7
author Una LaMarche
author_display LaMarche, Una
available_at_school Glencliff High, John Early Middle, Litton Middle, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High, Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, John Early Middle - Teen Fiction, Litton Middle - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description Interracial half-siblings come together for the first time and embark on a cross-country road trip to confront their absentee father before he dies.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook
id dde90686-a6e6-4a39-3112-c54e3e2c8c69
isbn 9781101926000, 9781595148179
item_details ils:CARL0000469190|35192047742055|Hadley Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction LaMarch|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HP||, ils:CARL0000469190|35192047742071|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction LaMarch|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000469190|A02128374|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F LAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000469190|A02129581|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F LAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000469190|FF00103625|John Early Middle - Teen Fiction|F LAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||49285||, ils:CARL0000469190|FF00140254|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F LaM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000469190|QQ00223877|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F LAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000469190|TT0010079|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F LAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000469190|TT0010241|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F G LAM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, overdrive:8ba81352-5abd-492a-a0ed-df3fd32d0e12|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-24T05:14:59.287Z
lexile_score 950
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F G LAM, F LAM, F LaM
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Glencliff High, John Early Middle, Litton Middle, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High, Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9781595148179
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000469190|Book|Books||English|Razorbill, an imprint of Penguin Random House,|[2015]|273 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:8ba81352-5abd-492a-a0ed-df3fd32d0e12|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:8ba81352-5abd-492a-a0ed-df3fd32d0e12 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000469190 FF00140254 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469190 A02128374 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469190 QQ00223877 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469190 TT0010079 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469190 35192047742055 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000469190 A02129581 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469190 35192047742071 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000469190 TT0010241 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000469190 FF00103625 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet African Americans -- Fiction, Automobile travel -- Fiction, Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, Families -- Fiction
title_display Don't fail me now
title_full Don't Fail Me Now, Don't fail me now / Una LaMarche
title_short Don't fail me now
title_sub
topic_facet African Americans, Automobile travel, Brothers and sisters, Families, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature