Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

Monkey wars

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2015.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG+ - BL: 7 - AR Pts: 16
Lexile measure:
920L
Description

"Strikingly original" is how Anthony Horowitz, author of the Alex Rider series, describes Monkey Wars . "Kurti draws from history to deliver a powerful allegory . . . [and] keeps this effective, memorable tale rooted in reality." -- Publishers Weekly, Starred Review Sustain the weak. Destroy the strong. A dark fable in the vein of Animal Farm, Watership Down, and The Wave, this action-packed page-turner is told entirely from the monkeys' points of view and shines a light on the politics of power, the rise of tyrants, and the personal dilemmas that must be faced when your life is on the line. When rhesus monkeys are brutally massacred on the dusty streets of Kolkata by a troop of power-hungry langur monkeys, Mico, a privileged langur, becomes entangled in the secrets at the heart of his troop's leadership and is shocked at what he discovers. He feels compelled to help the few surviving rhesus, especially Papina, a young female he befriends, even though doing so goes against everything he's been taught. As more blood is spilled, Mico realizes that choosing between right and wrong won't be easy. Includes a note from the author, as well as interesting monkey species facts. Additional praise for MONKEY WARS "The allure of power--even for the most conscientious--is portrayed with frightening effectiveness. Powerful."-- Kirkus Reviews "An imaginative fable about the nature of power and the responsibility of the individual. With plenty of action . . . a fascinating epilogue . . . [and] striking cover art." -- Booklist "Following in the tradition of George Orwell's Animal Farm and William Golding's Lord of the Flies, war and politics shape the lives of several monkey troops. An interesting premise that will provide readers with an introduction to fascism and political corruption." -- School Library Journal

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780375991653
9780385744416
9780385388481
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 7, 16 Points
Lexile measure:
920L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID ddd1979e-70af-e727-763d-00b4f0ca9831
Full title monkey wars
Author kurti richard
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-19 23:33:41PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-20 00:18:42AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 16
accelerated_reader_reading_level 7
author Richard Kurti
author_display Kurti, Richard
available_at_school Head Magnet Middle, Maplewood High, Pearl-Cohn High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction, Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction
display_description When rhesus monkeys are brutally massacred on the streets of Kolkata by a troop of power hungry langur monkeys, a young langur soldier's life is changed forever.
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id ddd1979e-70af-e727-763d-00b4f0ca9831
isbn 9780375991653, 9780385388481, 9780385744416
item_details ils:CARL0000452784|35192047004860|Donelson - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Kurti|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000452784|35192047004878|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Kurti|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000452784|35192047004894|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Kurti|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000452784|A02141593|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F KUR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000452784|SE00000015|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F KUR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000452784|TT00007546|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F G KUR|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, overdrive:91724cf9-0fae-40f0-bd1c-814d42fd49ff|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-20T05:18:42.766Z
lexile_score 920
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F G KUR, F KUR
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Head Magnet Middle, Maplewood High, Pearl-Cohn High
primary_isbn 9780375991653
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000452784|Book|Books|First American edition 2015.|English|Delacorte Press,|2015.|409 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:91724cf9-0fae-40f0-bd1c-814d42fd49ff|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000452784|35192047004860|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000452784|35192047004878|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000452784|35192047004894|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000452784|A02141593|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000452784|SE00000015|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000452784|TT00007546|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:91724cf9-0fae-40f0-bd1c-814d42fd49ff|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Langurs -- Fiction, Monkeys -- Fiction, Rhesus monkey -- Fiction, War stories, English, Young adult fiction
title_display Monkey wars
title_full Monkey Wars, Monkey wars / Richard Kurti
title_short Monkey wars
title_sub
topic_facet Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Langurs, Monkeys, Rhesus monkey, War stories, English, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction