The lake effect

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
Fans of Nick Hornby, Huntley Fitzpatrick, and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl will love this smart, funny, poignant YA romance and coming-of-age story-from the boy?s perspective lake effect | n. The effect of any lake, especially the Great Lakes, in modifying the weather in nearby areas It?s the summer after his senior year, and driven, focused Briggs Henry is ready to leave behind his ex-girlfriend, his comically aggressive grandmother, and his parents? money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches. He?s lined up a summer job working as a personal assistant and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the water-exactly the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents once he?s a multi-millionaire. But when he arrives, his boss, the eccentric Mrs. Bosic, tells him to get dressed for her funeral. Uh . . . It?s the first of many funerals they?ll attend this summer-to hilarious and eye-opening effect. Add to this a new set of friends-cum-enemies-cum-friends-again, and Abigail, the mysterious girl next door on whom Briggs?s charms repeatedly fail, and "the lake effect" is beginning to take on a whole new meaning.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780803740525
9781101625989
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID db39ce7e-d9eb-53a4-d6ff-804e16df4913
Grouping Title lake effect
Grouping Author mccahan erin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-16 23:10:10PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-17 03:16:51AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author McCahan, Erin,
author_display Erin McCahan
available_at_school Cane Ridge High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction
display_description "The summer after senior year of high school, Briggs Henry works as a personal assistant to an eccentric elderly woman in a house on the shores of Lake Michigan, and finds himself distracted by the mysterious girl next door"--
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id db39ce7e-d9eb-53a4-d6ff-804e16df4913
isbn 9780803740525, 9781101625989
item_details ils:CARL0000511355|35192049570496|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McCahan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000511355|35192049570504|Thompson Lane - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McCahan|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000511355|FF00143811|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F McC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, overdrive:0b351a79-5b3c-4c0c-b743-a2f10e2c3911|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-17T09:16:51.945Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F McC
local_time_since_added_school Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Cane Ridge High
primary_isbn 9780803740525
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000511355|Book|Books||English|Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC,|[2017]|391 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:0b351a79-5b3c-4c0c-b743-a2f10e2c3911|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Young Readers Group|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000511355 35192049570496 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000511355 35192049570504 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000511355 FF00143811 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:0b351a79-5b3c-4c0c-b743-a2f10e2c3911 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet Bildungsromans, Dating (Social customs) -- Fiction, Family problems -- Fiction, Michigan, Lake -- Fiction, Old age -- Fiction, Serbian Americans -- Fiction, Summer employment -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display The lake effect
title_full The Lake Effect, The lake effect / Erin McCahan
title_short The lake effect
title_sub
topic_facet Bildungsromans, Dating (Social customs), Family problems, Old age, Romance, Serbian Americans, Summer employment, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction