We cast a shadow: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(2)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is at once a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition ofRalph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525509066
9780525637370
9780525509080
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d07aecb9-8426-6be2-637b-36759f949da8
Grouping Title we cast a shadow
Grouping Author ruffin maurice carlos
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-05-23 23:11:30PM
Last Indexed 2019-05-24 03:48:34AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Maurice Carlos Ruffin
author_display Maurice Carlos Ruffin
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
display_description "In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id d07aecb9-8426-6be2-637b-36759f949da8
isbn 9780525509066, 9780525509080, 9780525637370
item_details ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230740|Bellevue - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230757|Bordeaux - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230765|East - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EA||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230773|Edmondson Pike - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230781|Green Hills - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GH||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230799|Goodlettsville - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||GO||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230807|Hermitage - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230815|Inglewood - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||IN||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230823|Madison - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MA||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230831|Main Library - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230849|Richland Park - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000758299|35192051230856|Southeast - Adult New|Fiction Ruffin|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||SE||, ils:CARL0000758299|QQ00363257|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F RUF|||1|false|false|||||In Processing||69450||, overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|2|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|3|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2019-05-24T08:48:34.806Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F RUF
local_time_since_added_school 2 Months, Quarter, Six Months, Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
primary_isbn 9780525509066
publishDate 2019
record_details ils:CARL0000758299|Book|Books|First edition.|English|One World,|[2019]|324 pages ; 25 cm, overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Publishing Group|2019|, overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2019|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230799 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230765 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230807 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230849 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230773 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230831 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230781 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230823 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230757 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230856 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 QQ00363257 On Order In Processing false false false false false true
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230815 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230740 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
subject_facet African Americans -- Southern States -- Fiction, Dystopian fiction, Dystopias -- Fiction, Fathers and sons -- Southern States -- Fiction, Racism -- Southern States -- Fiction, Surgery, Plastic -- Southern States -- Fiction
title_display We cast a shadow : a novel
title_full We Cast a Shadow A Novel, We cast a shadow : a novel / Maurice Carlos Ruffin
title_short We cast a shadow :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet African American Fiction, African Americans, Dystopias, Fathers and sons, Fiction, Literature, Racism, Surgery, Plastic