We cast a shadow: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(2)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is at once a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition ofRalph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525509066
9780525637370
9780525509080
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID d07aecb9-8426-6be2-637b-36759f949da8
Grouping Title we cast a shadow
Grouping Author ruffin maurice carlos
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-16 22:54:53PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-17 03:30:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Maurice Carlos Ruffin
author_display Maurice Carlos Ruffin
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
display_description "In a near-future Southern city, everyone is talking about a new experimental medical procedure that boasts unprecedented success rates. In a society plagued by racism, segregation, and private prisons, this operation saves lives with a controversial method--by turning people white. Like any father, our unnamed narrator just wants the best for his son Nigel, a biracial boy whose black birthmark is getting bigger by the day. But in order to afford Nigel's whiteness operation, our narrator must make partner as one of the few black associates at his law firm, jumping through a series of increasingly absurd hoops--from diversity committees to plantation tours to equality activist groups--in a tragicomic quest to protect his son. This electrifying, suspenseful novel is, at once, a razor-sharp satire of surviving racism in America and a profoundly moving family story. In the tradition of Ralph Ellison's Invisible Man, We Cast a Shadow fearlessly shines a light on the violence we inherit, and on the desperate things we do for the ones we love"--
format_category_school Audio Books
Books
eBook
format_school Book
eAudiobook
eBook
id d07aecb9-8426-6be2-637b-36759f949da8
isbn 9780525509066
9780525509080
9780525637370
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 3 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Checked Out
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 2 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230740 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230815 Inglewood - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf IN
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230765 East - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf EA
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230823 Madison - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf MA
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230831 Main Library - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false Checked Out MN
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230773 Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230849 Richland Park - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf RP
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230807 Hermitage - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000758299 QQ00363257 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction F RUF 1 false false In Processing 69450
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230781 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230856 Southeast - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf SE
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230757 Bordeaux - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf BX
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230799 Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction Fiction Ruffin 1 false false On Shelf GO
itype_school
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-17T08:30:14.826Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F RUF
local_time_since_added_school Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
primary_isbn 9780525509066
publishDate 2019
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e eAudiobook Audio Books English Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group 2019
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140 eBook eBook English Random House Publishing Group 2019
ils:CARL0000758299 Book Books First edition. English One World, [2019] 324 pages ; 25 cm
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:a08be40c-b407-45e9-9769-d2b2af50fa6e -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:8e11208f-4698-45f5-9589-418631711140 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230740 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230815 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230765 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230823 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230831 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230773 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230849 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230807 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 QQ00363257 On Order In Processing false false false false false true
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230781 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230856 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230757 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000758299 35192051230799 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
subject_facet African Americans -- Southern States -- Fiction
Dystopian fiction
Dystopias -- Fiction
Fathers and sons -- Southern States -- Fiction
Racism -- Southern States -- Fiction
Surgery, Plastic -- Southern States -- Fiction
title_display We cast a shadow : a novel
title_full We Cast a Shadow A Novel
We cast a shadow : a novel / Maurice Carlos Ruffin
title_short We cast a shadow :
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet African American Fiction
African Americans
Dystopias
Fathers and sons
Fiction
Literature
Racism
Surgery, Plastic