Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

The secret ingredient

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jay Asher's 13 Reasons Why comes a journey of family, food, romance, and self-discovery as Olivia, a teen chef living in L.A., finds a vintage cookbook and begins a search for her birthmother that will change her life forever. Olivia doesn't believe in psychics. But the summer before her senior year of high school, she meets one in an elevator. nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;This summer will be pivotal , the psychic warns. Please remember--all your choices are connected . nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;Olivia loves her life in Silverlake, Los Angeles, but lately, something's been missing. And after getting this strange advice, her world begins to change. A new job leads Olivia to a gorgeous, mysterious boy named Theo. And as Olivia cooks the recipes from a vintage cookbook she stumbles upon, she begins to wonder if the mother she's never known might be the secret ingredient she's been lacking.nbsp; nbsp;nbsp;nbsp;But sometimes the things we search for are the things we've had all along. "Kissed with hope and possibility . . . the sort of book that makes you believe in the magic of everyday life and love."-- Daisy Whitney , author of The Mockingbirds nbsp; "A delicious story. You'll devour it."-- Melissa Kantor , author of The Darlings in Love nbsp; "It doesn't get any better than this--a touching tale of first love, family, and finding out who we really are."-- Alissa Grosso , author of Popular and Ferocity Summer "Lewis offers a thoughtful story about food and family."-- Publisher's Weekly "Nuanced characters, including the talented protagonist and her loving but realistically flawed family, are the stars of this introspective and poignant coming-of-age tale."-- Kirkus Reviews "Olivia is a sympathetic protagonist and her struggles to find her place will resonate with many readers. Enjoyable chick lit."-- School Library Journal
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780375991066
9780449810019
9780385743310
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c94fff2f-b5be-742b-0c7a-f2b9b7f92a5a
Grouping Title secret ingredient
Grouping Author lewis stewart
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-18 22:57:00PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-17 23:32:19PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Lewis, Stewart.
author_display Lewis, Stewart
available_at_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hunter's Lane High, McGavock High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction
display_description "After a chance meeting with a psychic, Olivia, a teen cook living in Los Angeles with her two dads and misfit brother, finds a vintage cookbook with handwritten notes inside and pieces together a story that turns a normal summer into a search for her birth mother"--
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id c94fff2f-b5be-742b-0c7a-f2b9b7f92a5a
isbn 9780375991066, 9780385743310, 9780449810019
item_details ils:CARL0000417427|35192042883649|Southeast - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Lewis|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000417427|35192044291825|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Lewis|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000417427|35192044291841|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Lewis|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000417427|35192044291858|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Lewis|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000417427|B00530748|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F LEW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000417427|B00725042|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F LEW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000417427|B00730052|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F LEW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000417427|QQ00168423|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F LEW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000417427|QQ00223785|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F LEW|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, overdrive:1d4c5f27-5069-4858-817c-79235dcd15be|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-18T04:32:19.063Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F LEW
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hunter's Lane High, McGavock High
primary_isbn 9780375991066
publishDate 2013
record_details ils:CARL0000417427|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Delacorte Press,|[2013]|243 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:1d4c5f27-5069-4858-817c-79235dcd15be|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2013|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:1d4c5f27-5069-4858-817c-79235dcd15be -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417427 35192042883649 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417427 35192044291858 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417427 B00530748 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417427 35192044291825 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417427 B00730052 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417427 QQ00168423 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417427 B00725042 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000417427 35192044291841 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000417427 QQ00223785 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Cooking -- Fiction, Los Angeles (Calif.) -- Fiction, Mothers -- Fiction, Self-realization -- Fiction
title_display The secret ingredient
title_full The Secret Ingredient, The secret ingredient / Stewart Lewis
title_short The secret ingredient
title_sub
topic_facet Cooking, Mothers, Romance, Self-realization, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature