A garden of marvels: how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.

In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from brown thumb to green, sharing lessons she learned from building a home conservatory in the wake of a devastating personal crisis.

In A Garden of Marvels, she extends the story. Frustrated by plants that fail to thrive, she sets out to understand the basics of botany in order to become a better gardener. She retraces the progress of the first botanists who banished myths and misunderstandings and discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, roots choose their food, and hormones make morning glories climb fence posts. She also visits modern gardens, farms, and labs to discover the science behind extraordinary plants like one-ton pumpkins, a truly black petunia, a biofuel grass that grows twelve feet tall, and the world's only photosynthesizing animal. Transferring her insights to her own garden, she nurtures a "cocktail" tree that bears five kinds of fruit, cures a Buddha's Hand plant with beneficial fungi, and gets a tree to text her when it's thirsty.

Intertwining personal anecdote, accessible science, and untold history, the ever-engaging author takes us on an eye-opening journey into her garden--and yours.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062049018
9780062048998
9780062049032
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c28ad1a2-36d9-ceab-5bc5-2434497234ff
Grouping Title garden of marvels how we discovered that flowers have sex leaves eat air and other secrets of plants
Grouping Author kassinger ruth
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-22 22:53:45PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-22 00:01:44AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Ruth Kassinger
author_display Kassinger, Ruth
available_at_school Overton High
collection_school Non-Fiction
detailed_location_school Overton High - Teen Non-Fiction
display_description "In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"--
format_category_school Books
eBook
format_school Book
eBook
id c28ad1a2-36d9-ceab-5bc5-2434497234ff
isbn 9780062048998
9780062049018
9780062049032
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:f655a572-4604-4e69-9a81-a29ff1e91ecb -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 1 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000427319 35192045211897 Bordeaux - Adult Non-Fiction 580 K1937g 1 false false On Shelf BX
ils:CARL0000427319 FF00105668 Overton High - Teen Non-Fiction 580 KAS 1 false false On Shelf 6F615
itype_school
Book
last_indexed 2019-10-22T05:01:44.975Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school 580 KAS
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Overton High
primary_isbn 9780062049018
publishDate 2014
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:f655a572-4604-4e69-9a81-a29ff1e91ecb eBook eBook English HarperCollins 2014
ils:CARL0000427319 Book Books First edition. English William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2014] xviii, 395 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:f655a572-4604-4e69-9a81-a29ff1e91ecb -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000427319 35192045211897 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000427319 FF00105668 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
subject_facet Botanists -- United States -- Anecdotes
Botany -- Humor
Kassinger, Ruth, -- 1954- -- Anecdotes
Women gardeners -- United States -- Anecdotes
title_display A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
title_full A Garden of Marvels How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants
A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants / Ruth Kassinger
title_short A garden of marvels :
title_sub how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography
Botanists
Botany
Kassinger, Ruth
Nature
Nonfiction
Women gardeners