Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

A garden of marvels: how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab.

In Paradise Under Glass, Ruth Kassinger recounted with grace and humor her journey from brown thumb to green, sharing lessons she learned from building a home conservatory in the wake of a devastating personal crisis.

In A Garden of Marvels, she extends the story. Frustrated by plants that fail to thrive, she sets out to understand the basics of botany in order to become a better gardener. She retraces the progress of the first botanists who banished myths and misunderstandings and discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, roots choose their food, and hormones make morning glories climb fence posts. She also visits modern gardens, farms, and labs to discover the science behind extraordinary plants like one-ton pumpkins, a truly black petunia, a biofuel grass that grows twelve feet tall, and the world's only photosynthesizing animal. Transferring her insights to her own garden, she nurtures a "cocktail" tree that bears five kinds of fruit, cures a Buddha's Hand plant with beneficial fungi, and gets a tree to text her when it's thirsty.

Intertwining personal anecdote, accessible science, and untold history, the ever-engaging author takes us on an eye-opening journey into her garden--and yours.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062049018
9780062049032
9780062048998
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c28ad1a2-36d9-ceab-5bc5-2434497234ff
Full title garden of marvels how we discovered that flowers have sex leaves eat air and other secrets of plants
Author kassinger ruth
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-20 22:58:42PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-20 23:49:19PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Kassinger, Ruth, 1954-
author_display Kassinger, Ruth
available_at_school Overton High
collection_school Non-Fiction
detailed_location_school Overton High - Teen Non-Fiction
display_description "In the tradition of The Botany of Desire and Wicked Plants, the author of Paradise Under Glass gives us a witty and engaging history of the first botanists interwoven with stories of today's extraordinary plants found in the garden and the lab"--
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id c28ad1a2-36d9-ceab-5bc5-2434497234ff
isbn 9780062048998, 9780062049018, 9780062049032
item_details ils:CARL0000427319|35192045211897|Bordeaux - Adult Non-Fiction|580 K1937g|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000427319|FF00105668|Overton High - Teen Non-Fiction|580 KAS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, overdrive:f655a572-4604-4e69-9a81-a29ff1e91ecb|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-21T04:49:19.129Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction, Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school 580 KAS
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Overton High
primary_isbn 9780062049018
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000427319|Book|Books|First edition.|English|William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,|[2014]|xviii, 395 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm., overdrive:f655a572-4604-4e69-9a81-a29ff1e91ecb|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000427319|35192045211897|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000427319|FF00105668|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:f655a572-4604-4e69-9a81-a29ff1e91ecb|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Botanists -- United States -- Anecdotes, Botany -- Humor, Kassinger, Ruth, -- 1954- -- Anecdotes, Women gardeners -- United States -- Anecdotes
title_display A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
title_full A Garden of Marvels How We Discovered that Flowers Have Sex, Leaves Eat Air, and Other Secrets of Plants, A garden of marvels : how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants / Ruth Kassinger
title_short A garden of marvels :
title_sub how we discovered that flowers have sex, leaves eat air, and other secrets of plants
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography, Botanists, Botany, Kassinger, Ruth, Nature, Nonfiction, Women gardeners