Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

Playlist for the dead

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(1)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 5.3 - AR Pts: 10
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Description

"A page-turner that combines genuine intrigue with heartbreak and desire." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s

Part mystery, part love story, and part coming-of-age tale in the vein of Thirteen Reasons Why, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and The Spectacular Now, Michelle Falkoff's debut is an honest and gut-wrenching novel about loss, rage, what if feels like to outgrow a friendship that's always defined you--and the struggle to redefine yourself.

There was a party. There was a fight. The next morning, Sam's best friend, Hayden, was dead. And all he left Sam was a playlist of songs and a suicide note: For Sam--listen and you'll understand.

To figure out what happened, Sam has to rely on the playlist and his own memory. But the more he listens, the more he realizes that his memory isn't as reliable as he thought. And it might only be by taking out his earbuds and opening his eyes to the people around him that he'll finally be able to piece together his best friend's story. And maybe have a chance to change his own.

"An absorbing and sensitive read." --Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "Falkoff lightens the substantial topics of grief, bullying, and suicide with Sam's engaging investigation." --ALA Booklist "Realistic and well-written. The strong characters, dialogue and the use of the playlist to structure the book make this a good pick for struggling readers." --School Library Journal

"Falkoff treats a difficult topic with delicacy and care." --Publishers Weekly "Truly powerful moments." --Kirkus Reviews

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780062310507
006231050
9780062310521
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.3, 10 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 800L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID c082b0ce-0dc4-5f97-5bf1-9495f0755d15
Grouping Title playlist for the dead
Grouping Author falkoff michelle
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-22 23:11:40PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-23 00:01:33AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 10
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.3
author Michelle Falkoff
author_display Falkoff, Michelle
available_at_school Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction
display_description After his best friend, Hayden, commits, suicide, fifteen-year-old Sam is determined to find out why--using the clues in the playlist Hayden left for him.
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id c082b0ce-0dc4-5f97-5bf1-9495f0755d15
isbn 006231050, 9780062310507, 9780062310521
item_details ils:CARL0000452819|35192047080951|Bellevue - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Falkoff|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000452819|35192047080969|Bordeaux - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Falkoff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||BX||, ils:CARL0000452819|35192047080977|Edmondson Pike - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Falkoff|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000452819|35192047080985|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Falkoff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000452819|35192047080993|Hadley Park - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Falkoff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HP||, ils:CARL0000452819|35192047081009|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Falkoff|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000452819|B00745315|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F G FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000452819|B00746308|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000452819|B00746480|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000452819|DB0000914|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000452819|FF00092610|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000452819|FF00106168|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|REAL F FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000452819|FF00129376|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000452819|QQ00190573|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000452819|QQ00191350|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F FAL|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, overdrive:731cdde5-f3e7-4e33-8195-99d9cf2677f7|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-23T05:01:33.185Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 800
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F FAL, F G FAL, REAL F FAL
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High
primary_isbn 9780062310507
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000452819|Book|Books|First edition.|English|HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2015]|281 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:731cdde5-f3e7-4e33-8195-99d9cf2677f7|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:731cdde5-f3e7-4e33-8195-99d9cf2677f7 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000452819 QQ00191350 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000452819 FF00092610 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000452819 35192047080993 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000452819 35192047080977 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000452819 FF00106168 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000452819 B00745315 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000452819 B00746480 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000452819 FF00129376 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000452819 35192047080985 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000452819 35192047080969 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000452819 DB0000914 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000452819 35192047080951 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000452819 B00746308 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000452819 35192047081009 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000452819 QQ00190573 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Bildungsromans, Friendship -- Fiction, Loss (Psychology) -- Fiction, Suicide -- Fiction
title_display Playlist for the dead
title_full Playlist for the Dead, Playlist for the dead / Michelle Falkoff
title_short Playlist for the dead
title_sub
topic_facet Bildungsromans, Friendship, Loss (Psychology), Suicide, Suspense, Thriller, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature