Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

Otherworld: Otherworld Series, Book 1

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Series:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 4.8 - AR Pts: 14
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 700L
Description
"Full of high stakes, thrillers, and fantastic twists and turns, fans of Ready Player One are sure to love this addictive read." --Buzzfeed.com "A fantastic journey from start to finish." --Hypable.com "A potent commentary on how much we're willing to give up to the lure of technology." --EW.com New York Times bestselling authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller imagine a world in which you can leave your body behind and give into your greatest desires in the first book in a new trilogy perfect for fans of Ready Player One and James Dashner's The Eye of Minds . The future is now. And the future is terrifying. That's how Otherworld traps you. It introduces you to sensations you'd never be able to feel in real life. You discover what's been missing--because it's taboo or illegal or because you lack the guts to do it for real. And when you find out what's missing it's almost impossible to let it go again. There are no screens. There are no controls. You don't just see and hear it--you taste, smell, and touch it too. In this new reality, there are no laws to break or rules to obey. You can live your best life. Indulge every desire. It's a game so addictive you'll never want it to end. Until you realize that you're the one being played. Welcome to Otherworld, where reality is dead. Step into the future. Leave your body behind. The frightening future that Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller have imagined is not far away. Otherworld asks the question we'll all soon be asking: if technology can deliver everything we want, how much are we willing to pay? "An engaging VR cautionary tale." --The A.V. Club "[A] fast-paced adventure." -- Publishers Weekly "Authors Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller keep the action nonstop. " -- Shelf Awareness
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781101939338
9781101939321
110193932
9780525492672
9781101939345
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.8, 14 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 700L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID baf46363-2c85-5f7e-39f9-fef9cce977a7
Grouping Title otherworld
Grouping Author segel jason
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-15 23:02:48PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-16 02:19:14AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 14
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.8
auth_author2 Miller, Kirsten, 1973-
author Jason Segel
author2-role Miller, Kirsten,1973-author.
author_display Segel, Jason
available_at_school Antioch High, Cameron College Prep, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Harris Hillman School, Hillsboro High, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High, LEAD Academy High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High, Stratford STEM High, Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Fiction, Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction, Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction, Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction, Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction, Overton High - Teen Fiction, Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction, Stratford High - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description "After the newest set of virtual reality gear hits the market, Simon can't wait to test it out. But, when his friend Katherine suddenly disappears after being seen with men from the same gaming company, Simon must decide how far in the game he's willing to go to save her"--
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id baf46363-2c85-5f7e-39f9-fef9cce977a7
isbn 110193932, 9780525492672, 9781101939321, 9781101939338, 9781101939345
item_details ils:CARL0000694984|35192050218456|Green Hills - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Segel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000694984|35192050218464|Hermitage - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Segel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000694984|35192050218472|Main Library - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction Segel|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273709|Antioch High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273712|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273715|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273718|East Nashville Magnet High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||63290||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273721|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273724|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273729|Hillsboro High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||66435||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273732|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|SCI F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273735|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273738|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273741|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273744|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273747|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273750|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273753|Pearl-Cohn High - Teen Fiction|F F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6G632||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273757|Stratford High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6H705||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273763|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273868|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00273878|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, ils:CARL0000694984|QQ00300961|Cameron College Prep - Teen Fiction|F Seg|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||71181||, overdrive:12fdb6d4-f767-4e2e-bdb8-0c2fddcdc220|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|3|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||, overdrive:29589bf3-43fa-4038-bf1a-c6276d427662|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Checked Out||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-16T07:19:14.908Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 700
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F F Seg, F Seg, SCI F Seg
local_time_since_added_school Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High, Cameron College Prep, Cane Ridge High, East Nashville Magnet High, Glencliff High, Harris Hillman School, Hillsboro High, Hillwood High, Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High, LEAD Academy High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Overton High, Pearl-Cohn High, Stratford STEM High, Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9781101939338
publishDate 2017
record_details ils:CARL0000694984|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Delacorte Press,|[2017]|355 pages ; 22 cm, overdrive:12fdb6d4-f767-4e2e-bdb8-0c2fddcdc220|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2017|, overdrive:29589bf3-43fa-4038-bf1a-c6276d427662|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2017|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273757 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273712 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00300961 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 35192050218472 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273729 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273732 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 35192050218456 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273735 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273715 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273718 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273868 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273724 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273738 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273741 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273750 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273709 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273744 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273747 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 35192050218464 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273721 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273753 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273763 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000694984 QQ00273878 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:29589bf3-43fa-4038-bf1a-c6276d427662 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:12fdb6d4-f767-4e2e-bdb8-0c2fddcdc220 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
series Otherworld
series_with_volume Otherworld|1
subject_facet Best friends -- Fiction, Conduct of life -- Fiction, Friendship -- Fiction, Internet games -- Fiction, Science fiction, Virtual reality -- Fiction, Young adult fiction
title_display Otherworld
title_full Otherworld, Otherworld / Jason Segel, Kirsten Miller, Otherworld Otherworld Series, Book 1
title_short Otherworld
title_sub Otherworld Series, Book 1
topic_facet Best friends, Conduct of life, Friendship, Internet games, Science Fiction, Science fiction, Virtual reality, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature, Young adult fiction