Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

The American way of eating: undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, farm fields and the dinner table

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2012.
Language:
English
Description
In the tradition of Barbara Ehrenreich's Nickel and Dimed, an ambitious and accessible work of undercover journalism that fully investigates our food system to explain what keeps Americans from eating well--and what we can do about it. Getting Americans to eat well is one of today's hottest social issues; it's at the forefront of Michelle Obama's agenda and widely covered in the media--from childhood obesity to store brands trying to make their food healthier. Yet most Americans still eat poorly, and award-winning journalist Tracie McMillan wanted to know why. So, in 2009 McMillan went to work undercover in our nation's food system alongside America's working poor, living and eating off her wages, to examine how we eat. McMillan worked on industrial farms in California, in a Walmart produce section outside Detroit, and at an Applebee's kitchen in New York City. Her vivid narrative brings readers along to grueling work places, introduces them to her coworkers, and takes them home to her kitchen, to see what kind of food she (and her coworkers) can afford to buy and prepare. With striking precision, McMillan also weaves in the story of how we got here, digging deep into labor, economics, politics, and social science to reveal new and surprising truths about how America's food is grown, sold, and prepared--and what it would take to change the system. Fascinating and timely, this groundbreaking work examines why eating well in America--despite the expansion of farmer's markets and eat local movements--is limited to the privileged minority.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781439171950
9781452627533
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID baca6a81-dca6-40c8-77f2-c8fb658e4a49
Grouping Title american way of eating undercover at walmart applebees farm fields and the dinner table
Grouping Author mcmillan tracie
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-19 23:26:08PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 00:27:31AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author McMillan, Tracie.
author_display McMillan, Tracie
available_at_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High
collection_school Non-Fiction
detailed_location_school Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Non-Fiction
display_description "In 2009 McMillan embarked on a groundbreaking undercover journey to see what it takes to eat well in America. For nearly a year, she worked, ate, and lived alongside the working poor to examine how Americans eat when price matters."--Jacket.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook
id baca6a81-dca6-40c8-77f2-c8fb658e4a49
isbn 9781439171950, 9781452627533
item_details ils:CARL0000385880|35192042429534|Green Hills - Adult Non-Fiction|394.120973 M4789a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000385880|35192042429542|Main Library - Adult Non-Fiction|394.120973 M4789a|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000385880|QQ00132049|Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Non-Fiction|338.19 MCM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||69450||, ils:CARL0000385880|QQ00132288|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Non-Fiction|338.19 MCM|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, overdrive:833ab4a8-312a-4733-811e-ec28f5147e1d|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-20T05:27:31.992Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school 338.19 MCM
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High, Hunter's Lane High
primary_isbn 9781439171950
publishDate 2012
record_details ils:CARL0000385880|Book|Books|1st Scribner hardcover ed.|English|Scribner,|2012.|x, 319 p. ; 24 cm., overdrive:833ab4a8-312a-4733-811e-ec28f5147e1d|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Tantor Media, Inc.|2012|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000385880 35192042429542 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000385880 35192042429534 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000385880 QQ00132288 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000385880 QQ00132049 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:833ab4a8-312a-4733-811e-ec28f5147e1d -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Cooking, American, Food habits -- Economic aspects -- United States, Food habits -- United States -- History, Food industry and trade -- United States
title_display The American way of eating : undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, farm fields and the dinner table
title_full The American Way of Eating Undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, Farm Fields and the Dinner Table, The American way of eating : undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, farm fields and the dinner table / Tracie McMillan
title_short The American way of eating :
title_sub undercover at Walmart, Applebee's, farm fields and the dinner table
topic_facet Business, Cooking, American, Economic aspects, Food habits, Food industry and trade, History, Nonfiction