The nine lives of Jacob Tibbs

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Author:
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2016.
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 6.1 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
1020L
Description
For fans of Katherine Applegate's The One and Only Ivan comes the swashbuckling story of a little cat's adventures on the high seas Captain Natick does not want to take a kitten on board his ship when it sets sail in 1837, but his daughter convinces him that the scrawny yellow cat will bring good luck. Onto the ship the kitten goes, and so begins the adventurous, cliff-hanging, lucky life of Jacob Tibbs. At first, Jacob's entire world is the ship's hold, where the sailors heave their heavy loads and long-tailed rats scurry in the darkness. But before long, Jacob's voyage takes him above deck and onward to adventure. Along the way, Jacob will encounter loss and despair, brave thunderous storms at sea, face down a mutiny, survive on a desert island, and above all, navigate the tricky waters of shipboard life and loyalties. Praise for The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs "Original, surprisingly intense. . . . A beautiful piece of writing ." --Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times -bestselling author of Counting by 7s "Rarely does a book come along that I finish and think, ' This is going to be a classic .' This is that book." --Jo Knowles, author of See You at Harry's "Emotional resonance and chockablock seafaring adventures combined with coming-of-age themes takes this over the top. . . An outstanding choice for fans of middle grade nautical adventure and animal narrator novels." -- School Library Journal , starred review "With engrossing action and great character description and development, Busby has created a story that will enthrall fans of animal fantasy . Kelley's full-page drawings add to this well-crafted tale, which many readers may come to treasure." -- Booklist , starred review "In addition to giving Jacob an engaging narrative voice, Busby fills the novel with nautical lore and lingo, making Jacob's journey one to savor ." -- Publishers Weekly "An absorbing historical coming-of-age adventure supported by deeper themes of grief, despair, and determination." -- Kirkus Reviews
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553511246
9780553511239
9780553511253
Reading Level:
MG
Level 6.1, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
1020L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID a3e83b7b-4a2b-ac80-58df-2c2f9f6314ed
Grouping Title nine lives of jacob tibbs
Grouping Author busby cylin
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-16 23:10:10PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-15 23:45:14PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 6.1
auth_author2 Kelley, Gerald,
author Cylin Busby
author2-role Kelley, Gerald,illustrator.
author_display Busby, Cylin
available_at_school Head Magnet Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction
display_description "The story of cat Jacob Tibbs, runt of the litter, and his exploits on the high seas as a ship's mouser"--
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id a3e83b7b-4a2b-ac80-58df-2c2f9f6314ed
isbn 9780553511239, 9780553511246, 9780553511253
item_details ils:CARL0000479966|35192048236909|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Busby|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000479966|35192048236917|Goodlettsville - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Busby|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000479966|35192048236925|Hermitage - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Busby|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000479966|35192048236933|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Busby|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000479966|BB00009297|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F BUS|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, overdrive:5a94b681-ecbf-4dee-bc61-fb6f199849ae|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-16T05:45:14.62Z
lexile_score 1020
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F BUS
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Head Magnet Middle
primary_isbn 9780553511246
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000479966|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Alfred A. Knopf,|2016.|263 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm., overdrive:5a94b681-ecbf-4dee-bc61-fb6f199849ae|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000479966 35192048236909 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000479966 35192048236925 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000479966 35192048236933 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000479966 35192048236917 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000479966 BB00009297 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
overdrive:5a94b681-ecbf-4dee-bc61-fb6f199849ae -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Adventure stories, Juvenile, Cats -- Juvenile fiction, Seafaring life -- Juvenile fiction
title_display The nine lives of Jacob Tibbs
title_full The Nine Lives of Jacob Tibbs, The nine lives of Jacob Tibbs / Cylin Busby ; illustrated by Gerald Kelley
title_short The nine lives of Jacob Tibbs
title_sub
topic_facet Adventure stories, Juvenile, Cats, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Seafaring life