Speak no evil

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(1)
2 star
 
(1)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Lexile measure:
960L
Description

"A lovely slender volume that packs in entire worlds with complete mastery. Speak No Evil explains so much about our times and yet is never anything less than a scintillating, page-turning read."--Gary Shteyngart

"A wrenching, tightly woven story about many kinds of love and many kinds of violence. Speak No Evil probes deeply but also with compassion the cruelties of a loving home. Iweala's characters confront you in close-up, as viscerally, bodily alive as any in contemporary fiction."--Larissa MacFarquhar

In the long-anticipated novel from the author of the critically acclaimed Beasts of No Nation, a revelation shared between two privileged teenagers from very different backgrounds sets off a chain of events with devastating consequences.

On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer--an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders--and the one person who seems not to judge him.

When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.

In the tradition of Junot Diaz's The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah, Speak No Evil explores what it means to be different in a fundamentally conformist society and how that difference plays out in our inner and outer struggles. It is a novel about the power of words and self-identification, about who gets to speak and who has the power to speak for other people. As heart-wrenching and timely as his breakout debut, Beasts of No Nation, Uzodinma Iweala's second novel cuts to the core of our humanity and leaves us reeling in its wake.

A 2018 Indie Next Pick | One of The Millions' Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of Bustle's 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 | One of Paste's 25 Most Anticipated Books of 2018 | One of The Boston Globe's 25 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780061284922
9780062798961
9780062199096
Lexile measure:
960L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9f3a6128-c4a8-a625-0c97-35757c4f72e6
Grouping Title speak no evil
Grouping Author iweala uzodinma
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-20 00:44:57AM
Last Indexed 2018-11-20 04:29:05AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Uzodinma Iweala
author_display Uzodinma Iweala
available_at_school Overton High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Overton High - Teen Fiction
display_description On the surface, Niru leads a charmed life. Raised by two attentive parents in Washington, D.C., he's a top student and a track star at his prestigious private high school. Bound for Harvard in the fall, his prospects are bright. But Niru has a painful secret: he is queer--an abominable sin to his conservative Nigerian parents. No one knows except Meredith, his best friend, the daughter of prominent Washington insiders--and the one person who seems not to judge him. When his father accidentally discovers Niru is gay, the fallout is brutal and swift. Coping with troubles of her own, however, Meredith finds that she has little left emotionally to offer him. As the two friends struggle to reconcile their desires against the expectations and institutions that seek to define them, they find themselves speeding toward a future more violent and senseless than they can imagine. Neither will escape unscathed.--from dust jacket.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 9f3a6128-c4a8-a625-0c97-35757c4f72e6
isbn 9780061284922, 9780062199096, 9780062798961
item_details ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457278|Bordeaux - Adult Fiction|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BX||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457286|Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457294|Green Hills - Adult Fiction|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457302|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||MN||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457310|Richland Park - Adult Fiction|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000708557|35192050457328|Southeast - Adult Fiction|Fiction Iweala|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000708557|TT00013744|Overton High - Teen Fiction|F Iwe|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6F615||, overdrive:018c005c-ca18-4b95-a62c-f886f6bef183|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Checked Out||||, overdrive:d5a74e75-b6f2-46a4-8828-d478829287d1|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|2|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-20T10:29:05.857Z
lexile_score 960
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F Iwe
local_time_since_added_school Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Overton High
primary_isbn 9780061284922
publishDate 2018
record_details ils:CARL0000708557|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers,|[2018]|214 pages ; 24 cm, overdrive:018c005c-ca18-4b95-a62c-f886f6bef183|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2018|, overdrive:d5a74e75-b6f2-46a4-8828-d478829287d1|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2018|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000708557 35192050457302 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000708557 35192050457286 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000708557 35192050457278 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000708557 35192050457294 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000708557 35192050457310 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000708557 TT00013744 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000708557 35192050457328 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:018c005c-ca18-4b95-a62c-f886f6bef183 -1 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:d5a74e75-b6f2-46a4-8828-d478829287d1 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Gay teenagers -- Fiction, Nigerian Americans -- Fiction, Sexual orientation -- Fiction, Washington (D.C.) -- Fiction
title_display Speak no evil : a novel
title_full Speak No Evil, Speak No Evil A Novel, Speak no evil : a novel / Uzodinma Iweala
title_short Speak no evil :
title_sub
topic_facet African American Fiction, Fiction, Gay teenagers, Literature, Nigerian Americans, Sexual orientation