Freedom songs

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Orchard Books,
Pub. Date:
c1991.
Language:
English
Description
"In the tradition of Mildred Taylor, Moore presents an authentic, disturbing slice of black American history."-- Publisher's Weekly During the spring of 1968, Sheryl Williams, 14, confronts harsh realities while visiting relatives in North Carolina. After witnessing--and then experiencing--acts of prejudice, she understands why Uncle Pete and some neighbors have joined the freedom riders, a group of protesters practicing methods taught by Martin Luther King. Once home in Brooklyn, N.Y., Sheryl decides to collect money for the group by holding a benefit concert with her friends. But will it help to change things?
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780531058121
9780531084120
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9210e2a5-edef-d22e-edad-a099eea6dd23
Grouping Title freedom songs
Grouping Author moore yvette
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2017-12-19 00:08:11AM
Last Indexed 2018-09-25 01:14:34AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Moore, Yvette.
author_display Moore, Yvette
available_at_school Wright Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Wright Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description In the sixties, when Sheryl's Uncle Pete joins the Freedom Riders down South, she organizes a gospel concert in Brooklyn to help him.
format_category_school Books
format_school Book
id 9210e2a5-edef-d22e-edad-a099eea6dd23
isbn 9780531058121, 9780531084120
item_details ils:CARL0000519719|A00720820|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|HIST F MOO|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||
itype_school Book
last_indexed 2018-09-25T06:14:34.882Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school HIST F MOO
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Wright Middle
primary_isbn 9780531058121
publishDate 1991
record_details ils:CARL0000519719|Book|Books||English|Orchard Books,|c1991.|168 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000519719 A00720820 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Civil rights. -- Southern States, Concerts -- Fiction, Uncles -- Fiction
title_display Freedom songs
title_full Freedom songs / by Yvette Moore
title_short Freedom songs
topic_facet Civil rights, Concerts, Fiction, Uncles