Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

Busted: a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

In the vein of Erin Brockovich, The Departed, and T. J. English's Savage City comes Busted, the shocking true story of the biggest police corruption scandal in Philadelphia history, a tale of drugs, power, and abuse involving a rogue narcotics squad, a confidential informant, and two veteran journalists whose reporting drove a full-scale FBI probe, rocked the City of Brotherly Love, and earned a Pulitzer Prize .

In 2003, Benny Martinez became a Confidential Informant for a member of the Philadelphia Police Department's narcotics squad, helping arrest nearly 200 drug and gun dealers over seven years. But that success masked a dark and dangerous reality: the cops were as corrupt as the criminals they targeted.

In addition to fabricating busts, the squad systematically looted mom-and-pop stores, terrorizing hardworking immigrant owners. One squad member also sexually assaulted three women during raids. Frightened for his life, Martinez turned to Philadelphia Daily News reporters Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker.

Busted chronicles how these two journalists--both middle-class working mothers--formed an unlikely bond with a convicted street dealer to uncover the secrets of ruthless kingpins and dirty cops. Professionals in an industry shrinking from severe financial cutbacks, Ruderman and Laker had few resources--besides their own grit and tenacity--to break a dangerous, complex story that would expose the rotten underbelly of a modern American city and earn them a Pulitzer Prize. A page-turning thriller based on superb reportage, illustrated with eight pages of photos, Busted is modern true crime at its finest.

Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Contributors:
ISBN:
9780062085443
006208545
9780062383495
9780062085467
9780062085450
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 9070f72b-29e3-e435-a114-fa311a61ea12
Full title busted a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
Author ruderman wendy
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-05-20 22:58:42PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-20 23:54:54PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Laker, Barbara.
author Wendy Ruderman
author2-role Laker, Barbara.
author_display Ruderman, Wendy
available_at_school Hunter's Lane High
collection_school Non-Fiction
detailed_location_school Hunter's Lane High - Teen Non-Fiction
display_description The shocking true story of the biggest police corruption scandal in Philadelphia history, a tale of drugs, power, and abuse involving a rogue narcotics squad, a confidential informant, and two veteran journalists whose reporting drove a full-scale FBI probe, rocked the City of Brotherly Love, and earned a Pulitzer Prize.
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 9070f72b-29e3-e435-a114-fa311a61ea12
isbn 006208545, 9780062085443, 9780062085450, 9780062085467, 9780062383495
item_details ils:CARL0000428943|35192045267584|Thompson Lane - Adult Non-Fiction|364.1323 R915b|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||TL||, ils:CARL0000428943|35192045267592|Hermitage - Adult Non-Fiction|364.1323 R915b|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||HM||, ils:CARL0000428943|35192045267600|Richland Park - Adult Non-Fiction|364.1323 R915b|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000428943|P00560446|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Non-Fiction|364.1 RUD|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daa|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,OverDrive Read,Kindle Book|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-05-21T04:54:54.301Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school 364.1 RUD
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hunter's Lane High
primary_isbn 9780062085443
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000428943|Book|Books|First edition.|English|HarperCollins Publishers,|[2014]|242 pages ; 24 cm., overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|HarperCollins|2014|, overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daa|eBook|eBook||English|HarperCollins|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000428943|35192045267584|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000428943|35192045267592|Checked Out|Checked Out|false|false|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000428943|35192045267600|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000428943|P00560446|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, overdrive:203bfd47-4348-48bc-a149-0281c62c3723|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, overdrive:46cc9385-7a34-441d-8a28-7794f8174daa|-1|Available Online|Available Online|false|true|true|false|false|false||||
subject_facet Investigative reporting -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia -- Case studies, Laker, Barbara, Police corruption -- Press coverage -- Pennsylvania -- Philadelphia -- Case studies, Ruderman, Wendy
title_display Busted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
title_full Busted : a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love / Wendy Ruderman and Barbara Laker, Busted A Tale of Corruption and Betrayal in the City of Brotherly Love
title_short Busted :
title_sub a tale of corruption and betrayal in the city of brotherly love
topic_facet Biography & Autobiography, Investigative reporting, Laker, Barbara, Nonfiction, Police corruption, Press coverage, Ruderman, Wendy, Sociology, True Crime