The girl who slept with God: A Novel

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(0)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 5.4 - AR Pts: 20
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 820L
Description
"Fine, carefully wrought . . . reading this novel [is] a heartening experience." --The New York Times Book Review "Brelinski's page-turning debut is full of humor, insight, and imaginative sympathy. Think of it as the annunciation of a new talent." --The Wall Street Journal "A revelation." --Vanity Fair "[Brelinski] had readers hooked from page 1." --Elle For Fans of Celeste Ng's Everything I Never Told You and Meg Wolitzer's The Interestings , an entrancing literary debut about religion, science, secrets, and the power and burden of family from recent Wallace Stegner Fellow Val Brelinski Set in Arco, Idaho, in 1970, Val Brelinski's powerfully affecting first novel tells the story of three sisters: young Frances, gregarious and strong-willed Jory, and moral-minded Grace. Their father, Oren, is a respected member of the community and science professor at the local college. Yet their mother's depression and Grace's religious fervor threaten the seemingly perfect family, whose world is upended when Grace returns from a missionary trip to Mexico and discovers she's pregnant with--she believes--the child of God. Distraught, Oren sends Jory and Grace to an isolated home at the edge of the town. There, they prepare for the much-awaited arrival of the baby while building a makeshift family that includes an elderly eccentric neighbor and a tattooed social outcast who drives an ice cream truck. The Girl Who Slept with God is a literary achievement about a family's desperate need for truth, love, purity, and redemption.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780525427421
9780698171008
Reading Level:
UG
Level 5.4, 20 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 820L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 8ea161fb-a7de-d7ae-8e13-5e7d24c2d446
Grouping Title girl who slept with god
Grouping Author brelinski val
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-12 23:00:03PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-12 00:08:38AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 20
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.4
author Brelinski, Val,
author_display Brelinski, Val
available_at_school McGavock High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school McGavock High - Teen Fiction
display_description "Set in Arco, Idaho, in 1970, Val Brelinski's powerfully affecting first novel tells the story of three sisters: young Frances, gregarious and strong-willed Jory, and moral-minded Grace. Their father, Oren, is a respected member of the community and science professor at the local college. Yet their mother's depression and Grace's religious fervor threaten the seemingly perfect family, whose world is upended when Grace returns from a missionary trip to Mexico and discovers she's pregnant with--she believes--the child of God. Distraught, Oren sends Jory and Grace to an isolated home at the edge of the town. There, they prepare for the much-awaited arrival of the baby while building a makeshift family that includes an elderly eccentric neighbor and a tattooed social outcast who drives an ice cream truck" --
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id 8ea161fb-a7de-d7ae-8e13-5e7d24c2d446
isbn 9780525427421, 9780698171008
item_details ils:CARL0000466684|35192047781186|Goodlettsville - Adult Fiction|Fiction Brelins|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GO||, ils:CARL0000466684|35192047781194|Hermitage - Adult Fiction|Fiction Brelins|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HM||, ils:CARL0000466684|35192047781210|Main Library - Adult Fiction|Fiction Brelins|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000466684|35192047781228|Richland Park - Adult Fiction|Fiction Brelins|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000466684|A02025733|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F BRE|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, overdrive:315c265e-2da2-4ef5-a7b0-1703eca75ada|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-12T06:08:38.231Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 820
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction, Novels
local_callnumber_school F BRE
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school McGavock High
primary_isbn 9780525427421
publishDate 2015
record_details ils:CARL0000466684|Book|Books||English|Viking, an imprint of Penguin Random House LLC,|[2015]|368 pages ; 24 cm., overdrive:315c265e-2da2-4ef5-a7b0-1703eca75ada|eBook|eBook||English|Penguin Publishing Group|2015|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:315c265e-2da2-4ef5-a7b0-1703eca75ada -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000466684 A02025733 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781186 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781228 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781194 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000466684 35192047781210 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
subject_facet Evangelicalism -- Fiction, Idaho -- Fiction, Pregnant teenagers -- Fiction, Sisters -- Fiction
title_display The girl who slept with God
title_full The Girl Who Slept with God A Novel, The girl who slept with God / Val Brelinski
title_short The girl who slept with God
title_sub A Novel
topic_facet Evangelicalism, Fiction, Literature, Pregnant teenagers, Sisters