Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

While the city slept: a love lost to violence and a young man's descent into madness

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Viking,
Pub. Date:
[2016]
Language:
English
Description
"Binged Making a Murderer ? Try . . . [this] riveting portrait of a tragic, preventable crime." -- Entertainment Weekly Finalist for the Edgar Award for Best Fact Crime Finalist for the Dayton Literary Peace Prize A Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's gripping account of one young man's path to murder--and a wake-up call for mental health care in America On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood. Two people newly in love--Teresa Butz and Jennifer Hopper, who spent many years trying to find themselves and who eventually found each other--and a young man on a dangerous psychological descent: Isaiah Kalebu, age twenty-three, the son of a distant, authoritarian father and a mother with a family history of mental illness. All three paths forever altered by a violent crime, all three stories a wake-up call to the system that failed to see the signs. In this riveting, probing, compassionate account of a murder in Seattle, Eli Sanders, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his newspaper coverage of the crime, offers a deeply reported portrait in microcosm of the state of mental health care in this country--as well as an inspiring story of love and forgiveness. Culminating in Kalebu's dangerous slide toward violence--observed by family members, police, mental health workers, lawyers, and judges, but stopped by no one-- While the City Slept is the story of a crime of opportunity and of the string of missed opportunities that made it possible. It shows what can happen when a disturbed member of society repeatedly falls through the cracks, and in the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, is an indelible, human-level story, brilliantly told, with the potential to inspire social change.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780670015719
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 882130d1-1bf3-7c64-e1a7-6a9b52963821
Full title while the city slept a love lost to violence and a young mans descent into madness
Author sanders eli
Grouping Category book
Last Update 2018-04-12 23:21:30PM
Last Indexed 2018-05-27 00:30:34AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Sanders, Eli,
author_display Sanders, Eli
available_at_school Antioch High
collection_school Non-Fiction
detailed_location_school Antioch High - Teen Non-Fiction
display_description "A Pulitzer Prize-winning reporter's gripping account of one young man's path to murder--and a wake-up call for mental health care in America. On a summer night in 2009, three lives intersected in one American neighborhood. Two people newly in love--Teresa Butz and Jennifer Hopper, who spent many years trying to find themselves and who eventually found each other--and a young man on a dangerous psychological descent: Isaiah Kalebu, age twenty-three, the son of a distant, authoritarian father and a mother with a family history of mental illness. All three paths forever altered by a violent crime, all three stories a wake-up call to the system that failed to see the signs. In this riveting, probing, compassionate account of a murder in Seattle, Eli Sanders, who won a Pulitzer Prize for his newspaper coverage of the crime, offers a deeply reported portrait in microcosm of the state of mental health care in this country--as well as an inspiring story of love and forgiveness. Culminating in Kalebu's dangerous slide toward violence--observed by family members, police, mental health workers, lawyers, and judges, but stopped by no one--While the City Slept is the story of a crime of opportunity and of the string of missed opportunities that made it possible. It shows what can happen when a disturbed member of society repeatedly falls through the cracks, and in the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace, is an indelible, human-level story, brilliantly told, with the potential to inspire social change"--
format_category_school Books
format_school Book
id 882130d1-1bf3-7c64-e1a7-6a9b52963821
isbn 9780670015719
item_details ils:CARL0000480416|35192048295871|Donelson - Adult Non-Fiction|364.1523 S2153w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000480416|35192048295897|Richland Park - Adult Non-Fiction|364.1523 S2153w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||RP||, ils:CARL0000480416|35192048295905|Southeast - Adult Non-Fiction|364.1523 S2153w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||SE||, ils:CARL0000480416|35192048537876|Edmondson Pike - Adult Non-Fiction|364.1523 S2153w|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000480416|QQ00226845|Antioch High - Teen Non-Fiction|364.15 SAN|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||60110||
itype_school Book
last_indexed 2018-05-27T05:30:34.43Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Non Fiction
literary_form_full Non Fiction
local_callnumber_school 364.15 SAN
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Antioch High
primary_isbn 9780670015719
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000480416|Book|Books||English|Viking,|[2016]|316 pages : map ; 24 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000480416|35192048295871|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000480416|35192048295897|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000480416|35192048295905|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000480416|35192048537876|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|false||||, ils:CARL0000480416|QQ00226845|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||
subject_facet Kalebu, Isaiah, Lesbians -- Crimes against -- Washington (State) -- Seattle -- Case studies, Mentally ill offenders -- Washington (State) -- Seattle -- Case studies, Murder -- Washington (State) -- Seattle -- Case studies, Rape -- Washington (State) -- Seattle -- Case studies
title_display While the city slept : a love lost to violence and a young man's descent into madness
title_full While the city slept : a love lost to violence and a young man's descent into madness / Eli Sanders
title_short While the city slept :
title_sub a love lost to violence and a young man's descent into madness
topic_facet Crimes against, Kalebu, Isaiah, Lesbians, Mentally ill offenders, Murder, Rape