Running out of night

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 5.3 - AR Pts: 9
Lexile measure:
830L
Description
Fans of Elijah of Buxton, Trouble Don't Last, and Stealing Freedom will be drawn to this tale of the incredible journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom. Every day is a misery for a nameless, motherless Southern girl who is treated cruelly by her pa and brothers. Her life changes forever when a runaway slave named Zenobia turns to her for help and shelter. Longing for her own freedom, the girl decides to run away, and she and Zenobia set off on a harrowing journey. Along the way, Zenobia names the girl Lark, after the bird, for her ability to mimic its song. Running by night, hiding by day, the girls are pursued by Lark's pa and brothers and by ruthless slave catchers. Brightwell, another runaway slave, joins them, and the three follow secret signs to a stop on the Underground Railroad. When the hideout is raided and Zenobia and Brightwell are captured, Lark sets out alone to rescue her friends.
Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780375991479
9780385744096
9780385378468
Reading Level:
MG
Level 5.3, 9 Points
Lexile measure:
830L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 85314114-33f0-0d0d-7b1c-fa0c96fd31ea
Grouping Title running out of night
Grouping Author lovejoy sharon
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-09-18 23:20:17PM
Last Indexed 2018-09-18 00:07:57AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 9
accelerated_reader_reading_level 5.3
author Sharon Lovejoy
author_display Lovejoy, Sharon
available_at_school Bellevue Middle, HG Hill Middle, Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary, Madison Middle, Smith Springs Elementary, Waverly-Belmont Elementary
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction, Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction, Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary - Kids Fiction, Madison Middle - Teen Fiction, Smith Springs Elementary - Kids Fiction, Waverly-Belmont Elementary - Kids Fiction
display_description "Journey of an abused twelve-year-old white girl and an escaped slave girl who run away together and form a bond of friendship while seeking freedom"--
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id 85314114-33f0-0d0d-7b1c-fa0c96fd31ea
isbn 9780375991479, 9780385378468, 9780385744096
item_details ils:CARL0000448900|35192046846592|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Lovejoy|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||EP||, ils:CARL0000448900|35192046846600|Green Hills - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Lovejoy|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||GH||, ils:CARL0000448900|35192046846618|Hadley Park - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Lovejoy|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||HP||, ils:CARL0000448900|35192046846634|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Lovejoy|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000448900|FF00097322|Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary - Kids Fiction|F LOV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||23485||, ils:CARL0000448900|FF00137300|Bellevue Middle - Teen Fiction|F LOV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||44130||, ils:CARL0000448900|MK10082723|Hill, H. G. Middle - Teen Fiction|F LOV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4F434||, ils:CARL0000448900|MK10106040|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F LOV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||, ils:CARL0000448900|MK10113033|Waverly-Belmont Elementary - Kids Fiction|F LOV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2X765||, ils:CARL0000448900|MK10118158|Smith Springs Elementary - Kids Fiction|F LOV|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||2P686||, overdrive:d08b5e00-3e81-4bf0-88c8-697dd5433929|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-09-18T05:07:57.71Z
lexile_score 830
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F LOV
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Bellevue Middle, HG Hill Middle, Jones Paideia Magnet Elementary, Madison Middle, Smith Springs Elementary, Waverly-Belmont Elementary
primary_isbn 9780375991479
publishDate 2014
record_details ils:CARL0000448900|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Delacorte Press,|[2014]|287 pages : illustrations, maps ; 22 cm., overdrive:d08b5e00-3e81-4bf0-88c8-697dd5433929|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2014|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:d08b5e00-3e81-4bf0-88c8-697dd5433929 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000448900 FF00137300 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000448900 35192046846600 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000448900 MK10118158 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000448900 35192046846618 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000448900 MK10106040 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000448900 MK10082723 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000448900 35192046846592 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000448900 MK10113033 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000448900 35192046846634 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000448900 FF00097322 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet African Americans -- Juvenile fiction, Friendship in children -- Juvenile fiction, Fugitive slaves -- Juvenile fiction, Race relations -- Juvenile fiction, Runaway children -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Running out of night
title_full Running Out of Night, Running out of night / Sharon Lovejoy
title_short Running out of night
title_sub
topic_facet African Americans, Friendship in children, Fugitive slaves, Historical Fiction, Juvenile Fiction, Race relations, Runaway children