You were here

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(0)
4 star
 
(1)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: UG - BL: 4.5 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 630L
Description

Cori McCarthy delivers an emotionally taut page-turner from multiple points of view - combined with stunning illustrations.

Jaycee is about to accomplish what her older brother Jake couldn't: live past graduation.

Jaycee is dealing with her brother's death the only way she can - by re-creating Jake's daredevil stunts. The ones that got him killed. She's not crazy, okay? She just doesn't have a whole lot of respect for staying alive.

Jaycee doesn't expect to have help on her insane quest to remember Jake. But she's joined by a group of unlikely friends - all with their own reasons for completing the dares and their own brand of dysfunction: the uptight, ex-best friend, the heartbroken poet, the slacker with Peter Pan syndrome, and... Mik. He doesn't talk, but somehow still challenges Jayce to do the unthinkable-reveal the parts of herself that she buried with her brother.

Cori McCarthy's gripping narrative defies expectation, moving seamlessly from prose to graphic novel panels and word art poetry, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart, Jennier Niven, and Jandy Nelson. From the petrifying ruins of an insane asylum to the skeletal remains of the world's largest amusement park, You Were Here takes you on an unforgettable journey of friendship, heartbreak and inevitable change.

"You Were Here is wrenchingly beautiful in its honest and achingly accurate portrayal of grief and how it breaks us-and the way unconditional friendship puts us back together."-Jo Knowles, award-winning author of See You At Harry's and Read Between the Lines

"The urban explorers of You Were Here dive deep into the forgotten man-made spaces all around them-and their own feelings of loss, love, and fear. McCarthy deftly intertwines the characters' stories, filling them with authentic pain and heartache as well as soaring moments of grace and humor. I dare you to read it!" -Maggie Lehrman, author of The Cost of All Things

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781492617044
9781492617051
Reading Level:
UG
Level 4.5, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
HL: High-Low 630L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7fce6971-f831-66b0-edd3-a085e4b55978
Grouping Title you were here
Grouping Author mccarthy cori
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-11-11 22:54:21PM
Last Indexed 2018-11-12 00:26:18AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level UG
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.5
author Cori McCarthy
author_display McCarthy, Cori
available_at_school Cane Ridge High, Hillwood High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Whites Creek High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Hillwood High - Teen Fiction, Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction, MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction, Maplewood High - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction, Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction
display_description On the anniversary of her daredevil brother's death, Jaycee breals into Jake's favorite hideout, an abandoned insane asylum, where her eccentric friends challenge her to rediscover buried parts of herself.
format_category_school Books, eBook
format_school Book, eBook
id 7fce6971-f831-66b0-edd3-a085e4b55978
isbn 9781492617044, 9781492617051
item_details ils:CARL0000481969|35192048401974|Donelson - Teen Fiction|YA Fiction McCarth|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||DO||, ils:CARL0000481969|FF00121159|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00218774|Cane Ridge High - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||61182||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00219348|Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6A452||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00219701|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||64325||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00220923|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00221614|MLK Jr. Magnet - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6C497||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00221699|Maplewood High - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6E550||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00221778|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00222716|Hillwood High - Teen Fiction|REAL F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||67440||, ils:CARL0000481969|QQ00222905|Nashville School of the Arts - Teen Fiction|F MCC|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||62242||, overdrive:3c92b207-3ff7-454b-8ab7-8cca9d59a8e6|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-11-12T06:26:18.967Z
lexile_code HL: High-Low
lexile_score 630
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F MCC, REAL F MCC
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Cane Ridge High, Glencliff High, Hillwood High, Hunter's Lane High, MLK Jr. Magnet, Maplewood High, McGavock High, Nashville School of the Arts, Whites Creek High
primary_isbn 9781492617044
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000481969|Book|Books||English|Sourcebooks Fire,|[2016]|384 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm., overdrive:3c92b207-3ff7-454b-8ab7-8cca9d59a8e6|eBook|eBook||English|Sourcebooks|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:3c92b207-3ff7-454b-8ab7-8cca9d59a8e6 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000481969 35192048401974 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00219701 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00220923 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00222905 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00221614 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00221778 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 FF00121159 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00221699 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00219348 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00222716 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000481969 QQ00218774 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
subject_facet Brothers and sisters -- Fiction, Friendship -- Fiction, Grief -- Fiction, Psychiatric hospitals -- Fiction
title_display You were here
title_full You Were Here, You were here / Cori McCarthy
title_short You were here
title_sub
topic_facet Brothers and sisters, Friendship, Grief, Psychiatric hospitals, Young Adult Fiction, Young Adult Literature