Graduating Seniors! Keep your Public Library account past July 2018 and get a new Library Card delivered to your home. Go to My Account > Account Settings and update your contact information and holds pickup branch.

Lily and Dunkin

Book Cover
Average Rating
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Reading Level:
IL: MG+ - BL: 4.3 - AR Pts: 11
Lexile measure:
680L
Description
"Gephart has written a story that will speak not just to one specific community, but to humanity as a whole." -- VOYA For readers who enjoyed Wonder and Counting by 7's , award-winning author Donna Gephart crafts a compelling dual narrative about two remarkable young people: Lily, a transgender girl, and Dunkin, a boy dealing with bipolar disorder. Their powerful story will shred your heart, then stitch it back together with kindness, humor, bravery, and love. Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth grade. Dunkin Dorfman, birth name Norbert Dorfman, is dealing with bipolar disorder and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change. * 2017 Southern Book Award Winner--Juvenile Category * Voice Award from the Palm Beach County Action Alliance for Mental Health * NPR's Best Kids' Books of 2016 * Chicago Public Library Best Fiction for Older Readers 2016 * New York Public Library Best Books for Kids 2016 * Amazon's Top 20 Children's Books of 2016 * Top 10 Audiobooks of 2016, School Library Journal * YALSA 2017 Best Fiction for Young Adults * YALSA 2017 Quick Picks for Reluctant Young Adult Readers * ALA 2017 Rainbow Book List -- GLBTQ Books for Children & Teens * Georgia Book Award, 2017-2018 Nominee * Rhode Island Middle School Book Award Nominee, 2018 * Wisconsin State Reading Association's Just One More Page Selection, 2017 * Indie Next Pick Summer 2016 * Junior Library Guild Selection * Goodreads Choice Awards 2016 -- Best Middle Grade & Children's * 2016 Nerdy Book Club Award * 2016 Rainbow Awards -- Best Transgender Book * 2016 Spring Okra Pick -- the Best in Southern Literature "Gephart clearly has a lot of heart , and she tells their stories with compassion."-- Kirkus "A thoughtfully and sensitively written work of character-driven fiction that dramatically addresses two important subjects that deserve more widespread attention."-- Booklist, starred "Gephart sympathetically contrasts the physical awkwardness, uncertainty, and longings of these two outsiders during a few tightly-plotted months, building to a crescendo of revelation...[A] valuable portrait of two teenagers whose journeys are just beginning ."--PW "This would be a fantastic addition to any middle grade library collection, and is highly recommended for all ages."-- VOYA " Lily and Dunkin is a delight. Here's a book for anyone who's ever struggled with being different--or anyone who's ever loved someone who bears the burden of difference. . . . Crucial, heart-breaking, and inspiring ." --Jennifer Finney Boylan, author of She's Not There and Stuck in the Middle with You
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9780553536751
9780451481979
9780553536768
9780553536744
Reading Level:
MG+
Level 4.3, 11 Points
Lexile measure:
680L
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7f012303-cf59-4508-b911-eda69940d944
Grouping Title lily and dunkin
Grouping Author gephart donna
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2018-07-20 22:45:09PM
Last Indexed 2018-07-20 23:47:11PM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG+
accelerated_reader_point_value 11
accelerated_reader_reading_level 4.3
author Donna Gephart
author_display Gephart, Donna
available_at_school Donelson Middle, Glencliff High, Harris Hillman School, Head Magnet Middle, Litton Middle, Margaret Allen Middle, McGavock High, Whites Creek High, Wright Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction, Glencliff High - Teen Fiction, Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction, Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction, Litton Middle - Teen Fiction, Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction, McGavock High - Teen Fiction, Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction, Wright Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description "Lily Jo McGrother, born Timothy McGrother, is a girl. But being a girl is not so easy when you look like a boy. Especially when you're in the eighth-grade. Norbert Dorfman, nicknamed Dunkin Dorfman, is bipolar and has just moved from the New Jersey town he's called home for the past thirteen years. This would be hard enough, but the fact that he is also hiding from a painful secret makes it even worse. One summer morning, Lily Jo McGrother meets Dunkin Dorfman, and their lives forever change"--
format_category_school Audio Books, Books, eBook
format_school Book, eAudiobook, eBook
id 7f012303-cf59-4508-b911-eda69940d944
isbn 9780451481979, 9780553536744, 9780553536751, 9780553536768
item_details ils:CARL0000486370|35192048500239|Bellevue - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Gephart|||1|false|false|||||Checked Out||BL||, ils:CARL0000486370|35192048500247|Edmondson Pike - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Gephart|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||EP||, ils:CARL0000486370|35192048500262|Main Library - Kids Fiction|JUV Fiction Gephart|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||MN||, ils:CARL0000486370|A02085774|Glencliff High - Teen Fiction|F GEP|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||64325||, ils:CARL0000486370|A02099918|Margaret Allen Middle - Teen Fiction|F GEP|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||40100||, ils:CARL0000486370|A02106146|Head Middle Magnet - Teen Fiction|F GEP|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4E410||, ils:CARL0000486370|A02146588|Donelson Middle - Teen Fiction|F GEP|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||46260||, ils:CARL0000486370|FF00117837|Litton Middle - Teen Fiction|F GEP|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4I510||, ils:CARL0000486370|FF00127137|Harris Hillman - Teen Fiction|F GEP|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||65397||, ils:CARL0000486370|FF00145295|Wright Middle - Teen Fiction|F Gep|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4X805||, ils:CARL0000486370|QQ00232076|McGavock High - Teen Fiction|F GEP|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6D532||, ils:CARL0000486370|TT0010174|Whites Creek High - Teen Fiction|F GEP|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||6I787||, overdrive:e99927f4-3f3e-4efa-9cbf-887e9dc5b8a2|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eAudiobook|Audio Books|1|false|true|OverDrive|||OverDrive MP3 Audiobook,OverDrive Listen|Available Online||||, overdrive:fb715b9d-4312-4639-be9d-6acb8bf653cd|-1|Online OverDrive Collection|Online OverDrive|eBook|eBook|1|false|true|OverDrive|||Adobe EPUB eBook,Kindle Book,OverDrive Read|Available Online||||
itype_school , Book
last_indexed 2018-07-21T04:47:11.634Z
lexile_score 680
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F GEP, F Gep
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Donelson Middle, Glencliff High, Harris Hillman School, Head Magnet Middle, Litton Middle, Margaret Allen Middle, McGavock High, Whites Creek High, Wright Middle
primary_isbn 9780553536751
publishDate 2016
record_details ils:CARL0000486370|Book|Books|First edition.|English|Delacorte Press,|[2016]|340 pages ; 22 cm., overdrive:e99927f4-3f3e-4efa-9cbf-887e9dc5b8a2|eAudiobook|Audio Books||English|Penguin Random House Audio Publishing Group|2016|, overdrive:fb715b9d-4312-4639-be9d-6acb8bf653cd|eBook|eBook||English|Random House Children's Books|2016|
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:fb715b9d-4312-4639-be9d-6acb8bf653cd -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486370 A02085774 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 TT0010174 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 35192048500247 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486370 A02099918 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 A02146588 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 QQ00232076 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 A02106146 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 FF00117837 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 FF00145295 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 35192048500262 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000486370 FF00127137 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000486370 35192048500239 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:e99927f4-3f3e-4efa-9cbf-887e9dc5b8a2 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Florida -- Juvenile fiction, Friendship -- Juvenile fiction, Manic-depressive illness -- Juvenile fiction, Mental illness -- Juvenile fiction, Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction, Schools -- Juvenile fiction, Transgender people -- Juvenile fiction
title_display Lily and Dunkin
title_full Lily and Dunkin, Lily and Dunkin / Donna Gephart
title_short Lily and Dunkin
title_sub
topic_facet Friendship, Juvenile Fiction, Juvenile Literature, Manic-depressive illness, Mental illness, Middle schools, Schools, Transgender people