Friday black

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Language:
English
Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." -- Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review "An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny." -- George Saunders "Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." -- Roxane Gay A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First Book A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781328911247
9781980002635
9781328915139
9781980002819
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7a3dfc35-8ee1-47b0-23dd-185da4654b67
Grouping Title friday black
Grouping Author adjei brenyah nana kwame
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2019-10-17 22:44:38PM
Last Indexed 2019-10-18 03:36:25AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
auth_author2 Allen, Corey,
Allen, Corey.
Patterson, Carra,
Patterson, Carra.
author Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame,
author2-role Allen, Corey,narrator.
Allen, Corey.|Narrator
Patterson, Carra,narrator.
Patterson, Carra.|Narrator
Recorded Books, Inc.
author_display Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame
available_at_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
Hunter's Lane High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction
display_description A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.
format_category_school Audio Books
Books
eBook
format_school Book
CD audio book
eAudiobook
eBook
id 7a3dfc35-8ee1-47b0-23dd-185da4654b67
isbn 9781328911247
9781328915139
9781980002635
9781980002819
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118366 Hermitage - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118358 Edmondson Pike - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf EP
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118341 Green Hills - Adult Audiobook CD AUDIO Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false Checked Out GH
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 4 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020802 Southeast - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Display SE
ils:CARL0000740506 QQ00366054 Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction F ADJ 1 false false On Shelf 6A452
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020711 Bellevue - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf BL
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020778 Inglewood - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false Checked Out IN
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020729 East - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false Checked Out EA
ils:CARL0000740506 QQ00335065 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction F ADJ 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020745 Green Hills - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf GH
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020794 Richland Park - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false Checked Out RP
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020760 Hermitage - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf HM
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020737 Edmondson Pike - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf EP
RBdigital eAudiobooks:rbdZ14439 rbdZ14439 RBdigital eAudiobooks Online RBdigital eAudiobooks eAudiobook Audio Books 1 false true RBdigital eAudiobooks https://nashvilletn.rbdigital.com/#titles/9781980002819 Available Online RBdigital eAudiobooks
itype_school
Book
CD audio book
last_indexed 2019-10-18T08:36:25.136Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
Short Stories
local_callnumber_school F ADJ
local_time_since_added_school Year
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
Hunter's Lane High
primary_isbn 9781328911247
publishDate 2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
ils:CARL0000741198 CD audio book Audio Books Unabridged. English Recorded Books, [2018] 6 audio discs (7 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07 eBook eBook English HMH Books 2018
ils:CARL0000740506 Book Books English Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2018. 194 pages ; 21 cm
RBdigital eAudiobooks:rbdZ14439 eAudiobook Audio Books Unabridged. English Recorded Books ; 2018, p2018. 1 online resource (7 hr., 8 min.)
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118366 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118358 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000741198 35192051118341 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020802 On Shelf On Display false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 QQ00366054 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020711 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020778 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020729 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 QQ00335065 On Shelf On Shelf false true false false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020745 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020794 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020760 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020737 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
RBdigital eAudiobooks:rbdZ14439 rbdZ14439 Available Online Available Online false true false false false false
subject_facet African Americans -- Fiction
Audiobooks
Downloadable audio books
FICTION / African American / General
Racism -- Fiction
Short stories
Short stories, American
title_display Friday black
title_full Friday Black
Friday black / Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Friday black : stories / Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
Friday black [electronic resource] / Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
title_short Friday black
title_sub
topic_facet African American Fiction
African Americans
FICTION / African American / General
Fiction
Racism
Short Stories
Short stories, American