Get curbside service details on our blog.

Book drops are open at all locations except Edmondson Pike.

Friday black

Book Cover
Average Rating
5 star
 
(1)
4 star
 
(2)
3 star
 
(0)
2 star
 
(0)
1 star
 
(0)
Publisher:
Varies, see individual formats and editions
Pub. Date:
2018.
Language:
English
Description

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER "An unbelievable debut, one that announces a new and necessary American voice." -- Tommy Orange, New York Times Book Review "An excitement and a wonder: strange, crazed, urgent and funny." -- George Saunders "Dark and captivating and essential . . . A call to arms and a condemnation . . . Read this book." -- Roxane Gay A National Book Foundation "5 Under 35" honoree, chosen by Colson Whitehead Winner of the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle's John Leonard Award for Best First Book A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.

Also in This Series
More Like This
More Details
ISBN:
9781328911247
9781328915139
9781980002819
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
Tagging
Tags:

No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!


Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 7a3dfc35-8ee1-47b0-23dd-185da4654b67
Grouping Title friday black
Grouping Author adjei brenyah nana kwame
Grouping Category book
Last Grouping Update 2020-10-22 23:03:14PM
Last Indexed 2020-10-23 03:39:18AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level
accelerated_reader_point_value 0
accelerated_reader_reading_level 0
author Adjei-Brenyah, Nana Kwame,
author_display Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
available_at_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
Hunter's Lane High
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction
Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction
display_description A piercingly raw debut story collection from a young writer with an explosive voice; a treacherously surreal, and, at times, heartbreakingly satirical look at what it's like to be young and black in America. From the start of this extraordinary debut, Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah's writing will grab you, haunt you, enrage and invigorate you. By placing ordinary characters in extraordinary situations, Adjei-Brenyah reveals the violence, injustice, and painful absurdities that black men and women contend with every day in this country. These stories tackle urgent instances of racism and cultural unrest, and explore the many ways we fight for humanity in an unforgiving world. In "The Finkelstein Five," Adjei-Brenyah gives us an unforgettable reckoning of the brutal prejudice of our justice system. In "Zimmer Land," we see a far-too-easy-to-believe imagining of racism as sport. And "Friday Black" and "How to Sell a Jacket as Told by Ice King" show the horrors of consumerism and the toll it takes on us all. Entirely fresh in its style and perspective, and sure to appeal to fans of Colson Whitehead, Marlon James, and George Saunders, Friday Black confronts readers with a complicated, insistent, wrenching chorus of emotions, the final note of which, remarkably, is hope.
format_category_school Audio Books
Books
eBook
format_school Book
eAudiobook
eBook
id 7a3dfc35-8ee1-47b0-23dd-185da4654b67
isbn 9781328911247
9781328915139
9781980002819
item_details
Bib IdItem IdShelf LocCall NumFormatFormat CategoryNum CopiesIs Order ItemIs eContenteContent SourceeContent FileeContent URLsubformatDetailed StatusLast CheckinLocationSub-location
overdrive:1e0fc018-87c2-4385-9934-473fb5d4e51d -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eAudiobook Audio Books 2 false true OverDrive OverDrive MP3 Audiobook, OverDrive Listen Available Online
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020794 Richland Park - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false Checked Out RP
ils:CARL0000740506 QQ00335065 Hume-Fogg High Magnet - Teen Fiction F ADJ 1 false false On Shelf 69450
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020802 Southeast - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf SE
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020778 Inglewood - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf IN
ils:CARL0000740506 QQ00366054 Hunter's Lane High - Teen Fiction F ADJ 1 false false On Shelf 6A452
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020729 East - Adult Fiction Fiction Adjei-B 1 false false On Shelf EA
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07 -1 Online OverDrive Collection Online OverDrive eBook eBook 4 false true OverDrive Adobe EPUB eBook, Kindle Book, OverDrive Read Available Online
itype_school
Book
last_indexed 2020-10-23T08:39:18.246Z
lexile_score -1
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
Short Stories
local_callnumber_school F ADJ
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Hume-Fogg Magnet High
Hunter's Lane High
primary_isbn 9781328911247
publishDate 2018
record_details
Bib IdFormatFormat CategoryEditionLanguagePublisherPublication DatePhysical Description
overdrive:1e0fc018-87c2-4385-9934-473fb5d4e51d eAudiobook Audio Books English Recorded Books, Inc. 2018
ils:CARL0000740506 Book Books English Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2018. 194 pages ; 21 cm
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07 eBook eBook English HMH Books 2018
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school
Bib IdItem IdGrouped StatusStatusLocally OwnedAvailableHoldableBookableIn Library Use OnlyLibrary OwnedHoldable PTypesBookable PTypesLocal Url
overdrive:1e0fc018-87c2-4385-9934-473fb5d4e51d -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020794 Checked Out Checked Out false false true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 QQ00335065 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020802 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020778 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
ils:CARL0000740506 QQ00366054 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false true
ils:CARL0000740506 35192051020729 On Shelf On Shelf false true true false false false
overdrive:c778388d-18c9-48bf-adc8-019e589a9c07 -1 Available Online Available Online false true true false false false
subject_facet Racism -- Fiction
Short stories
Short stories, American
title_display Friday black
title_full Friday Black
Friday black / Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah
title_short Friday black
title_sub
topic_facet African American Fiction
Fiction
Racism
Short Stories
Short stories, American