The wild kid

Book Cover
Average Rating
Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,
Pub. Date:
1st ed.
Reading Level:
IL: MG - BL: 3.1 - AR Pts: 2
Lexile measure:
Twelve-year-old Sammy gets lost in the woods, where he meets the "wild kid", Kevin, who is on the run from a local reform school. At first he terrorizes Sammy, a mildly retarded child with Down's syndrome. Then the two become friends, as together they work to survive in the unforgiving wilderness. A middle-grade novel that even reluctant readers will enjoy, this is real adventure in the tradition of Hatchet and My Side of the Mountain.
Also in this Series
More Like This
More Details
Reading Level:
Level 3.1, 2 Points
Lexile measure:
Reviews from GoodReads
Loading GoodReads Reviews.
No Tags, Be the first to tag this record!
Staff View

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID 6f9306b1-ab5e-fffa-90b0-cf273d0c6e69
full_title wild kid
author mazer harry
grouping_category book
lastUpdate 2017-12-19 00:08:39AM

Solr Details

accelerated_reader_interest_level MG
accelerated_reader_point_value 2
accelerated_reader_reading_level 3.1
author Mazer, Harry.
author_display Mazer, Harry
available_at_school Alex Green Elementary, Madison Middle
collection_school Fiction
detailed_location_school Alex Green Elementary - Kids Fiction, Madison Middle - Teen Fiction
display_description Twelve-year-old Sammy, who is mildly retarded, runs away from home and becomes a prisoner of Kevin, a wild kid living in the woods.
format_category_school Books
format_school Book
id 6f9306b1-ab5e-fffa-90b0-cf273d0c6e69
isbn 043914633, 9780689807510, 9780689822896
item_details ils:CARL0000528606|A01196005|Alex Green Elementary - Kids Fiction|F MAZ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||1T375||, ils:CARL0000528606|P00662263|Madison Middle - Teen Fiction|F MAZ|||1|false|false|||||On Shelf||4L545||
itype_school Book
lexile_score 450
literary_form Fiction
literary_form_full Fiction
local_callnumber_school F MAZ
owning_library_school Schools
owning_location_school Alex Green Elementary, Madison Middle
primary_isbn 9780689807510
publishDate 2000
record_details ils:CARL0000528606|Book|Books|1st ed.|English|Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers,|2000,c1998.|103 p. ; 22 cm.
recordtype grouped_work
scoping_details_school ils:CARL0000528606|A01196005|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||, ils:CARL0000528606|P00662263|On Shelf|On Shelf|false|true|true|false|false|true||||
subject_facet Feral children. -- Fiction, Mentally handicapped. -- Fiction, Runaways -- Fiction
title_display The wild kid
title_full The wild kid / Harry Mazer
title_short The wild kid
topic_facet Feral children, Fiction, Mentally handicapped, Runaways